11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Too good! It's really difficult to stop eat them!
Also the dough was delicious, he, he!
To the recipe I added 1 tablespoon fresh grated ginger and I replaced the mollasses half with caramel and halg with apple jelly.
I'm really glad I prepared the double amount.
Thanks a lot for this winner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde December 19, 2011

Mine didn't flatten out but that sure didn't hurt the final outcome of the taste. Really good ginger cookies. The inside is soft with a firm outside. As awalde says, it's hard to stop eating them! I used Splenda for the sugar in the cookies and sparkling sugar a the decoration. Photo may be seen here (in Savor): http://feastyoureyes.smugmug.com/

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia November 30, 2012

Yummy ginger cookies! Nice and spicy and a great texture. The dough seemed like it was going to be hard to roll into a ball but although it was soft it wasn't sticky so it worked out fine. Love these - thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof September 09, 2012

Lovely taste and perfect texture! Not too spicy at all.
made it a few times now - I think it could use extra ginger. Maybe 4 tsp.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Jenny December 12, 2011

What an awesome cookie recipe Rickoholic. Everyone that tasted these gems loved them. They all said the same thing. (Wow! these cookies are excellent). We all really enjoyed the bold spicy flavor. I ground all the spices fresh, for a lovely mellow flavor. The cookies are crispy and crunchy on the outside but soft and chewy on the inside. The sugar ratio is perfect. Thanks for sharing a recipe that is going into my best of 2011 cookbook. Made for Pac - Fall -2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato October 10, 2011

My four year old DD and I had great fun making these...they are so simple...perfect for the children to lend a hand with.
I also decided against rolling them in sugar, as I decided that they would be just fine without it ( and the kids could definitely do without the extra!!).
The smell wafting through the kitchen when they emerged from the oven was just wonderful, and it soon brought DD running for a sample!
Lovely warm, gingery taste, great texture...the kids are loving them!!
Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo March 21, 2011

I didn't roll the cookies in sugar. I omitted the nutmeg. I used margarine instead of butter. The first batch, I cooked it 9 minutes. It was not enough. So the other batches were in the oven 12-14 minutes. Great cookies :) Thanks rickoholic83 :) Made for PRMR tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette December 30, 2010

Wow, these are spicy! Very nice combination and the taste of the spices stays long after the cookie(s) have been eaten. Nice! I got 38 cookies and they baked in 11 minutes. They all crackled and spread nicely and of course (with all the spices) they smelled heavenly. As another reviewer I also opted not to roll them in sugar, they are sweet and good as it is. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dudo June 10, 2010

Wow!!! Ginger cookies my Grandfather would LOVE! I remember when he used to say, "add a little more ginger in for me"... and this recipe, you don't need to - the combination of spices is perfect as is!! I got 45 cookies, and they baked in 12 minutes perfectly. Thanks, rickoholic, for sharing this wonderful recipe! Made for PRMR Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen February 23, 2010

I made exactly as posted. Mine didn't really crack on top, but I took them out when they looked brown. They tasted like a chewy gingersnap when warm....still waiting on them to cool! Love the flavor of these. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom January 14, 2010
Ginger Cookies