9 Reviews

Mmmmmmm, mmmm, mmmm! This is a lovely combination of flavors for this stir-fry! We made some minor changes- but only b/c it's what we had on hand.... broccoli and snow peas instead of the asparagus and green onion and we sort of tweaked the garlic and ginger amounts (we added more) with a dollop of honey to the mix. So, so good- really fresh tasting with the lemon and fresh ginger. A definite keeper! Thanks for a delicious winner, Kitten! **Update.. we use this recipe a LOT and often switch up the veggies. I particularly love to use Meyer lemons with it- because they are not quite so tart. Still LOVE this recipe and it is definitely a family fav. Thanks again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hollyfrolly January 19, 2010

This is a very simple and flavorful dish that we both loved. Added a teaspoon of Chili garlic sauce for some kick. It was very good and will be made again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
velveteenrabbit February 13, 2012

Made it exactly as stated, since asparagus season has just begun. Delicious! Love the combination of asparagus, 'shrooms, and scallions!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l'ecole March 26, 2010

I'm not going to give any stars because I altered the recipe so significantly, that I don't think my stars would be an accurate reflection of what Kittencal posted. I do want to share my comments so if others plan to alter it they can see what I did and how it turned out. I basically followed the recipe for the sauce exactly, but doubling it and adding 2 T honey. Of the other ingredients (chicken, mushrooms, green onions, asparagus, sesame seeds) I only used asparagus. Then I added sprouts, water chestnuts, onions, and baby corns. The sauce was too lemony for our liking, and the ginger was a little strong too. I wonder if normally the chicken would absorb some of this strength? Anyway, we will definitely use it again, just cut back on the lemon and ginger......and maybe add chicken :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ramartin42 February 08, 2009

Delicious! I added another teaspoon of ginger and a tablespoon of honey! YUM! I am sure that a little chilli would not go astray. I cut the oil in half and applied the Weight Watchers point system to it; it is only 4 points per serve - a new favourite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zoe October 05, 2007

Fresh and flavorful, loved it! I sent my husband to the store who came back without asparagus... so I ended up using a bag of frozen brocolli and cauliflower instead and it came out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kats' Meow August 23, 2007

yummy... I have kind of gotten in a rut when it comes to stir-fries and my family was very excited to have something new! My husband said it needed a little more mushrooms... and asparagus.. and chicken. Basically we decided the proportions were about right, we just needed more! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Al Al May 08, 2007

I really enjoyed this one; quick and flavorful with dinner on the table in less than 30 minutes. I reduced the oil by a third (who needs those extra calories) without a problem and used half canola and half sesame oil for extra flavor. Unlike the earlier chef, I felt the original recipe did not have enough ginger and an extra teaspoon. Thanks Kitten.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni April 18, 2006

Made for Zaar Tag. This was really easy to make, but it had too much ginger in it for my taste. I would make it again, but I would just use less ginger. Thanks Kittencal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mariposa13 January 25, 2006
Ginger Chicken Asparagus Stir Fry