Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ginger Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ginger Chicken

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on August 12, 2002

      I cooked this recipe for dinner last night and my family loved the taste. This complemented the rice so well. It was very easy to make and I would recommend it to anybody.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2002

      I made this for supper last night. It was great!! There was only one problem; I should've doubled the recipe!! ;)I didn't get very much; everyone else gobbled it down! I served it with the jasmine rice & a veggie stirfry. I'll definitely be making this dish often!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2002

      This is one of the best recipes that I have ever made. Everyone Loves it and always asks for a copy of the recipe. Even friends who don't eat rice can't get enough of it with this ginger chicken. It is definitly worth trying - I promise you will be pleasantly surprised and keep this one around as a staple recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2002

      very simple to make. The taste was perfect and the bitesize portions prevented any waste. This was the first time we tried Jasmine rice. The rice complimented the chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      We love this ginger chicken recipe (with the minor changes listed below). We tend to have all of these ingredients in our pantry/freezer…so it’s a quick-fix for dinner. We pair it with Pineapple Fried Rice from Cooked (Leftover) Rice and Chicken Pineapple fried rice (see our revisions on that recipe review) and some steamed green beans or broccoli. Suggested modifications: (1) Do not dice your chicken. Cut it into smaller/fairly uniform bite-sized pieces for even cooking…but do not dice. Chicken cubes=weird & unnatural. (2) Use less flour or better yet, use no flour. There is enough sugar in the sauce that it should reduce/thicken on its own…or you can help it along with a little bit of arrowroot or a little bit of a cornstarch slurry (drip in slowly…a little goes a long way). Using flour, the clarity of your sauce will come out more like gravy, & is not as eye-friendly. It still tastes good…just murky/muddy looking. (3)We use the full 1 t of ground ginger the recipe calls for, but we also add 0.5-1.5 tablespoons [depending on mood & the ginger] of fresh grated/crushed ginger. We love the zing, bite, & subtle heat of fresh ginger paired with the qualities of the ground ginger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      Wow this reminded me a lot of ginger chicken I've had at some Chinese restaurants. I was worried it would be too sweet with the pineapple juice and honey but the flavor turned out very nice and the chicken tender and juicy. I used unsweetened pineapple juice drained from a can of diced pineapple and served sprinkled with toasted sesame seeds. The one thing I wish this dish had was more sauce but aside from that this was a fantastic dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2005

      ZOWIE that was good!!! I think this was DELICIOUS. I used fresh ginger instead of powdered and 16 ounces of boneles/skinless chicken breast. The sauce thickened very nicely. It had a rich flavor and a wonderful kick. Many thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2003

      Easy to make, and tasted great. Just one little thing though: I made at least twice as much sauce as the recipe calls for, and still came up a little short, so you may want to make a bunch of sauce when you use this one. Definately on of my favorites, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2011

      Easy Quick And Delicious. What's not to love. Use fresh ginger!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      Very yummy. I made the sauce in a pan and then poured it over baked chicken(not coated in flour) and white rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      This is an excellent, easy recipe and takes almost no time at all to prepare. I don't normally have pineapple juice in my pantry but I'm guessing orange juice would work well too. Travomatic is right about the sauce - with the amounts shown you end up with more of a glaze than a sauce, but that worked just fine for me. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2005

      LOVED this recipe. Tweeked it just a bit because I'm not a fan of pineapple. I used lemon juice instead and added lots of crushed red pepper flakes because I like it spicy. For the ginger and garlic, I used the pastes commonly used in Indian cooking. Makes preparation SUPER FAST! Delicious! I just got done eating it, but I think I'm already gonna make myself another batch. Can't get enough!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2005

      I had this exact same chicken in college and have longed for it ever since. This is the recipe!! I egged them floured other than that no change and had more than enough sauce to coat. Thanks for the recipe that I have been searching for, for so long!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2005

      This resulted in a tasty chicken that the entire family enjoyed, even my picky ten year old who turns his nose up at the majority of chicken dishes I make. Simple and quick to put together, with items likely to already be in the pantry. Except for the pineapple juice which I FORGOT to buy. No problem - had a bunch of canned pineapple that I drained instead. Loved this chicken and will be adding it to my list of regular recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2004

      This was a really nice flavored chicken dish that is so quick and easy to prepare. I was afraid it would be too sweet with both honey and pineapple juice but it was perfect. I served it over Basmati rice. Thanks for a tasty recipe Julie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2003

      An easy recipe and very tasty. Next time round, I might just fry the ginger and garlic in a little oil so that the raw taste of ginger is subdued a bit. Had this with carrot rice. Will definitely be making this often. Thanks Julie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2003

      This is wonderful! Easy, too - My husband cooked this and served it like "stir fry" on a bed of fried rice and vegetables. Great!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2003

      Had this for a family get together, and loved it! I added a little cilantro to the sauce, but it would be just as good without.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2003

      My husband & I loved this recipe. It was very easy to make & perfect for a family of three.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Chicken Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ginger Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (66 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 125.1
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    25%
    Total Fat 3.5 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 504.4 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 11.9 g
    47%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chicken breast fillets

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites