30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Nice variation for fresh broccoli! I would thicken up the sauce a bit next time, and maybe reduce the ginger a bit because it overpowered the other flavors. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noway September 27, 2010

The major change here was to replace powdered ginger with fresh. I cooked the florets in a wok for about 2 minutes, added the sauce and cooked another 2 minutes on med-high heat until the sauce thickened and was slightly syrupy. Our daughter loved this! Reviewed for ZWT 2010.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl May 27, 2010

I'm sorry, I didn't really like this dish :(. It was way too salty for me. Maybe next time I will try using low sodium soy sauce or change the soy sauce-water ratio. Served over Jasmine rice and sprinkled with sesame seeds as garnish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ophiael May 04, 2013

This was yummy! I was going to complain though that my broccoli burned and so did the sauce, but then I read the recipe and saw that it the heat needed to be at medium, so what do you know?? Now I'm happy cause it'll be even better next time!! thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Pollo January 23, 2013

This was a delicious way to cook fresh broccoli. We loved the ginger/sesame oil flavor combination. I did have to cook my broccoli a little longer to reach the desired doneness, but I think it was because I had some rather thick stems. Also, I added a little cornstarch to the sauce just to thicken it some. Thank you for sharing this quick, easy, and delicious recipe. *Made for ZWT6 Xtra Hot Dishes*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill June 28, 2010

Tasty broccoli! I used fresh ginger too. I liked the way the sesame oil browned the florets. It gave it a smoky taste. My only problem with this recipe is that I felt it needed more cooking time. I cooked it for at least 15 minutes total, and it was still a bit hard to chew for our standards.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend June 23, 2010

I gave this a 5, DS gave it a 3, and the younger kids wouldn't touch it! But DS has a very testy palate, so I stuck with my rating:). Quick and easy to prepare, and uses one of my favorite veggies. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom May 26, 2010

This was a very nice side dish. My DH (the broccoli and ginger lover among us) Rated this a 4 1/2. I think that is the highest he has rated a recipe so far. Made for ZWT6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elaniemay May 26, 2010

Very quick, easy and delicious dish. Made for ZWT 6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susie cooks May 25, 2010

This recipe tastes great! My bf and he liked a lot. It is a great idea for people who do not like to eat veggies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grossen's Girl Chef April 28, 2010
Ginger Broccoli