9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made this at the cottage this past weekend, using fresh blueberries, and two frozen bananas. It made a healthy and delicious start to the day. I forgot to bring the hempseed along, so look forward to trying it with that next time. The ginger gives a delicious zip, too! Thanks, Syd! Made for veggie swap 24.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen August 02, 2010

Wow a tasty drink with antioxidants and omegas. The ginger does give a nice zing that is mellowed by the banana. DH said he liked and was surprised that strawberries and ginger went so well together. Thanks for the post.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl May 20, 2010

This smoothie really does have a zing! I really liked the ginger in this recipe! Very fresh tasting. I did not have hemp seeds so left that out. I added a tablespoon of soy protein powder. This really gave me some energy. I will make this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susie cooks January 07, 2009

Three stars for health benefits of ginger, flax seed and fruit, but just not so much my taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
glitteryfrosting October 27, 2010

Such a nutrient-dense and healthy drink! I kind of fudged the amounts. Didn't have quite enough ginger, so I make kind of roughly 2/3 of the recipe as a tall smoothie for one. I only used a TBSP each of the seeds. Especially loved the hemp here- such a satisfying crunchiness! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
White Rose Child March 15, 2009

I'm giving this 4 stars only because of my personal taste. Because of all the yummy seeds blended up in this delicious fruity smoothie, the texture for me personally was a little too viscous for my liking. I always put a TBSP of flax in my smoothies, but I think 1/8 cup flax was a little too much for me. Made this with balckberries, and I LOVED the fresh ginger!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kozmic Blues December 27, 2008

I like this smoothie for the benefits that come from ginger and flax. But, the taste of ginger really came thru too strong for my liking. I ended up adding one packet of splenda to sweeten things up a bit. Now, this is just me, and so if you have a yen for ginger, this would be the recipe. I used 1 cup of frozen raspberries and 1 frozen banana. One cup of water was enough to make this the right consistency. All in all I"m glad I tagged as this made a great lunch along with some yogurt/granola. Made for 123Hits.~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB December 23, 2008

A very nice and healthy drink, great for a nutritious start to your day! I didn't have hemp seeds so used extra flax seed. Thanks Syd!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 November 18, 2008

Loved this. . .had it for breakfast. I regularly use ginger in my veggie juices, but never in my fruit juices/smoothies. I used strawberries which worked great. Thanks for a healthy drink! Made for Veg*n tag #4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride November 07, 2008
Ginger Berry Zing (Raw Food)