19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

An excellent, quick dinner. I sliced the beef and put it in the marinade, then prepared the other ingredients. By that time the 30 min marinade time was up, and voila! delicious dinner! This is definitely gingery, but that is a great compliment to the other ingredients. I used Splenda in place of the sugar in the marinade to cut carbs, and used a green pepper instead of the red since that is what I had on hand. I added a handfull of slivered almonds with the vegetables for some added crunch. I believe next time I will julienne the carrots instead of grating so they will hold their shape and give a bit more texture. Great recipe. Thanks for sharing.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leta April 15, 2003

I put this into marinate last night and cooked it for dinner tonight. Very tasty!! I had a medium size beef sirloin steak that streached far enough for 2, cut everything else in half, except the garlic and ginger. Very easy and quick to make, served it over brown rice and with a green salad. Very nice easy Sunday dinner!! Thanks for sharing.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf April 13, 2003

Try this recipe! I followed the recipe listed, except that I took Leta's suggestion and I julienned the carrots. What a great meal! It did take me a little longer to make than is listed, but well worth it. My husband thought it was one of the best I've made. After comments like that, I'll be making this again and again. Thanks for the recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
starrynight May 09, 2003

Outstanding recipe!! Thanks for including specific cooking times to keep me from overdoing the vegetables. With the carrots julienned and the peppers cut into very thin strips, they were just perfect.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lucy k. August 29, 2003

No, not almost as good as take-out! Far, far better! I substitued broccoli for the carrots and red pepper since I had stir-fried vegetables as well. I cut down the sesame oil (I use the pure stuff, not the kind that's blended with other oil) and it had plenty of sesame flavour for us. I added a little orange juice because I wanted a bit more sauce. I sprinkled the dish with toasted sesame seeds. Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paja April 17, 2006

Loved it! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama July 14, 2012

Excellent dish! My boyfriend really loved this. It has quite a bite to it (I did use hot sesame oil). I actually made two batches of this - one as written and the other with broccoli, celery and sugar snap peas instead of the red pepper. Both were delicious. I used some of the marinade when cooking the beef, this provided lots of sauce. And so easy! Great recipe, I will be making this often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katie Lou Who April 03, 2011

Very easy to make (and freezes well in the marinade). Hubby loved it. :) Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dicentra May 21, 2008

I've never had Ginger Beef before so I don't have anything to compare it to except other stir fry recipes. The flavor is excellent. You get a strong ginger flavor that blended nicely with the carrots and red pepper. I prefer to have a stir fry that has a lot of sauce so that there is extra to accompany the rice. With this recipe, there is no extra sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Northern Cook February 11, 2008

Great dinner! I actually used some leftover beef loin roast that I had made several nights ago. I just marinated and skipped the step of cooking before veggies. After cooking the veggies I threw it in. It came out great! Thanks, Pamela!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetsLady December 15, 2007
Ginger Beef