19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was so looking forward to making this highly rated roast as any crockpot dishes I have tried have always been mediocre. I so wanted this one to be great but sadly, not - another mediocre dish after following the recipe to a T. Suggest to anyone trying this, more seasoning is needed to make this dish even close to 5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gemgemini1 February 27, 2014

Have made many roasts in the crockpot. This one turned out well, although I think I prefer cooking beef in cola vs ginger ale. We sliced the roast thin and served as an open-faced sandwich with the gravy spooned on top. Made for Football Pool Week 2 win.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' September 23, 2012

My DS hates roasts, so I haven't made one in a long time. Craving one horribly, and saw this last night and just had to try it out. Delicious and easy....usually I brown my roast before putting in the crock pot, but didn't notice a difference with this. Very similar to another crock-pot roast that I make and love! I am smiling ear-to-ear. I had some comfort food today! Delicious! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom May 28, 2012

I made this last week and it was delicious. I used a dutch oven and cooked this on the stove top and when it was done it was so tender and just fell apart so easily. I thickened the gravy and served this as open roast beef sandwiches with french fries with gravy over all of it! Absolutely wonderful and it got rave reviews from everyone! Thanks for sharing this gem!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom April 24, 2012

Made this last night and you can't get any easier and the end result was a tender roast beef with a wonderful gravy. I did sear the roast before putting it in the crock pot and thicken the gravy at the end but that was the only minor changes I made. I was worried the ginger ale would make it overly sweet but I didn't need to, it was perfect. What a great recipe for those busy days when you just don't have much time. I served with baked potatoe and Roasted Green Beans for a wonderful dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 January 03, 2012

This was enjoyed by all. The roast was moist, tender, and flavorful. The only changes I made were to add some garlic, potatoes, and onions with a sprinkle of pepper.(14)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPsBarbie April 20, 2011

Simply succulent describes this recipe best. 5 easy ingredients = 1 delicious roast with gravy. The only change was I used my dutch oven in the oven at 275F. for 4 hours. Fabulous recipe, thanks for sharing. Will definitely make again. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu April 14, 2011

Such an easy and delicious recipe. I used diet ginger ale as I never have regular pop in the house. I also did not have brown gravy mix in the house but I had pork gravy mix so I used it instead. The beef was very tender and the gravy was rich. Sometimes these little accidental subs turn out VERY good! Served with mashed potatoes to spoon the gravy over. YUM! Thanks for posting a keeper weekend cooker. Made for I Recommend Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn November 07, 2010

Wonderful meal to make when you are gone for the day!! What I really liked about this recipe for the crockpot, was that there was no pre-browning, therefore no other pans to clean. Then to only take 1-2 minutes to get it cooking and your done, 5 stars just for that lol!!! I did use a diet ginger ale but otherwise made as written. I served it with mashed potatoes and corn on the cob for a great dinner. I will have the leftovers for lunch this week over some egg noodles!! Thanks for sharing another great recipe. Made for Stars Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 October 31, 2010

This recipe has a lot going for it. It is very tasty, easy to put together, and wonderfully done when you come home to have dinner. I also added carrots to the crockpot. Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn October 27, 2010
Ginger Ale Roast Beef