Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ginger Ale Baked Ham Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ginger Ale Baked Ham

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on January 08, 2004

      Every once in a blue moon I cook a small ham, and I'm never satisifed with the results. Now I have a fallback recipe! My ham (one of those ready-to-serve hams wrapped in plastic) was just over 2-1/2 lbs, so I used half a can of ginger ale and just 1/4 cup brown sugar (with some honey mustard mixed in, to make it pasty). I lined a casserole dish with foil, put in the ham (after scoring the top), then poured the ginger ale over. Baked it for 30 mins, then took the pan out of the oven, basted the ham with the hot ginger ale in the pan, then covered it with the sugar/mustard paste, then baked it for another 30 minutes. The ham didn't have a taste of ginger ale at all, but was incredibly moist and juicy. This easy recipe is definitely the way to do a small ham!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2002

      I used a small ham and we had it with garlic pasta. The ham was nice and moist and tasted good. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      I made this recipe for an Easter brunch that I hosted...sorry for the delay in rating! I mixed the brown sugar with an equal part of Dijon mustard and covered the ham with this mixture before pouring the ginger ale over it. Fabulous! It got rave reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      if you add "stud with whole cloves" this was the "secret recipe" that a deli i once to work at used. i still bake hams at home using this technique/recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      I used a 10-pound boneless ham. Used honey instead of brown sugar and didn't score ham. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      I have used ginger ale on my ham for years but I also add pinapple slices and the juice along with the brown sugar and ginger ale. Ummmm good!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2014

      Very moist and flavorful

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      This is "no fail" for those of us who are moist ham challenged as my ham turned out perfectly. I had a 10 pound bone in smoked ham. The package directions said to bake it at 350 for 20 minutes for every pound and I figured I would use my crock pot. Turns out my crock pot was too small, so I went with the oven method. Worked like a charm. I tightly wrapped the top of the pan with heavy duty foil and popped it in the oven at 7am..it made the whole house smell wonderful. It was perfect for our lunch, it was faling off the bone. Best ham I have ever eaten, much less prepared myself. I added some spicy mustard to the brown sugar. Since my ham was so large, I guestimated at the amount of ginger ale to use, I probablly used closer to 3 cups. I also increased the sugar to 1 cup. This was really flavorful and juicy, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      Like other reviewers, I made a paste of Dijon mustard and brown sugar to rub on the ham, but everything else remained the same, and it was delicious! The ham was moist and sweet. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      Not sure if it was a combination of the ham, cooking in a slow cooker or the Ginergerale - but this was the BEST holiday ham we have ever had! Cooked in slowcooker for 4 hrs on Low, then 4 hrs on Medium, glazing with a combination of maple syrup, dijon mustard and a bit of garlic powder 6 hrs into baking. This is definately the only way I will be doing my ham from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

    • on April 14, 2009

      We loved our ham shoulder cooked with the gingerale and brown sugar! I loved the glaze it made!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      Yum yum yum! This was our Easter ham and it was a big hit. I loved the simplicity of it and it was sooooo good. Thank you for posting, I will certainly make this again. I'm thinking the brown sugar and ginger ale would be great with ham steaks.....yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      I finally found the perfect ham recipe. I made it with 1/2 ham shank; you will see by the picture;I took a few.I followed your recipe,but I made a paste with honey, mustard and brown sugar that I smeared 1/2 way time of cooking. It came out so moist and so good, we couldn't stop picking at it while I was clearing the table. This recipe goes in my Zaar's Best! Thanks so much for posting this easy and tasty recipe. Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      Had to give this a try with all the good reviews. I didn't have any honey mustard so substituted maple syrup. Consequently I had a hard time making a brown sugar pastry to stick to the ham. It was good but not the best ham recipe I have found here on Zaar. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      This was a big hit! I used Sprite instead of Ginger Ale because I happened to have it on hand and I mixed some orange juice concentrate with the Sprite. Then followed the rest of the recipe to a tee. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2008

      Another 5-star review for this recipe! We had this for Easter dinner. I cooked the ham the day before. Based on another reviewer, I just baked it with the ginger ale at first. I saved the juices left in the bottom of the pan. The next day I was able to scrape the fat off the top and was left with a nice gelatin of ham juices and gingerale. I sliced up the ham and put some of the above-mentioned gelatin on top, and sprinkled with brown sugar. Covered and heated. I tossed the ham slices occasionally. It was so tender and sweet! I will make this again. As a matter of fact, I already have! Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      I mixed the brown sugar with spicy mustard and tried to coat the ham. Basically the mixture just fell into the bottom of the pan. I covered the ham with foil for half of the cooking time and then for the last half, basted the ham with the ginger ale/juices. Nice and moist

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      My friend Jane told me to try this and I did but used the crock pot which made it even easier. We went out for a walk on the waterfront while it cooked itself. Thanks for the great post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      What a simple way to make a really good ham great. I basted the ham several times during it's baking time. We could taste a hint of ginger and loved how moist the meat stayed. Will definitely do this one again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ginger Ale Baked Ham

    Serving Size: 1 (266 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 378.3
     
    Calories from Fat 116
    30%
    Total Fat 12.9 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 4.3 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 117.9 mg
    39%
    Sodium 3444.0 mg
    143%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 11.4 g
    45%
    Protein 50.6 g
    101%

    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes