35 Reviews

Every once in a blue moon I cook a small ham, and I'm never satisifed with the results. Now I have a fallback recipe! My ham (one of those ready-to-serve hams wrapped in plastic) was just over 2-1/2 lbs, so I used half a can of ginger ale and just 1/4 cup brown sugar (with some honey mustard mixed in, to make it pasty). I lined a casserole dish with foil, put in the ham (after scoring the top), then poured the ginger ale over. Baked it for 30 mins, then took the pan out of the oven, basted the ham with the hot ginger ale in the pan, then covered it with the sugar/mustard paste, then baked it for another 30 minutes. The ham didn't have a taste of ginger ale at all, but was incredibly moist and juicy. This easy recipe is definitely the way to do a small ham!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lennie January 08, 2004

I used a small ham and we had it with garlic pasta. The ham was nice and moist and tasted good. Thanks!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sommers October 01, 2002

I made this recipe for an Easter brunch that I hosted...sorry for the delay in rating! I mixed the brown sugar with an equal part of Dijon mustard and covered the ham with this mixture before pouring the ginger ale over it. Fabulous! It got rave reviews.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Green.Chef May 27, 2010

if you add "stud with whole cloves" this was the "secret recipe" that a deli i once to work at used. i still bake hams at home using this technique/recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tiny kitchen, big chef January 25, 2010

I used a 10-pound boneless ham. Used honey instead of brown sugar and didn't score ham. Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sybrsuzy August 17, 2009

I have used ginger ale on my ham for years but I also add pinapple slices and the juice along with the brown sugar and ginger ale. Ummmm good!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
genepattyweslock March 19, 2008

Very moist and flavorful

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kfreese December 18, 2014

This is "no fail" for those of us who are moist ham challenged as my ham turned out perfectly. I had a 10 pound bone in smoked ham. The package directions said to bake it at 350 for 20 minutes for every pound and I figured I would use my crock pot. Turns out my crock pot was too small, so I went with the oven method. Worked like a charm. I tightly wrapped the top of the pan with heavy duty foil and popped it in the oven at 7am..it made the whole house smell wonderful. It was perfect for our lunch, it was faling off the bone. Best ham I have ever eaten, much less prepared myself. I added some spicy mustard to the brown sugar. Since my ham was so large, I guestimated at the amount of ginger ale to use, I probablly used closer to 3 cups. I also increased the sugar to 1 cup. This was really flavorful and juicy, thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura123 April 05, 2010

Like other reviewers, I made a paste of Dijon mustard and brown sugar to rub on the ham, but everything else remained the same, and it was delicious! The ham was moist and sweet. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mistydisa January 06, 2010

Not sure if it was a combination of the ham, cooking in a slow cooker or the Ginergerale - but this was the BEST holiday ham we have ever had! Cooked in slowcooker for 4 hrs on Low, then 4 hrs on Medium, glazing with a combination of maple syrup, dijon mustard and a bit of garlic powder 6 hrs into baking. This is definately the only way I will be doing my ham from now on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ukichix December 26, 2009
Ginger Ale Baked Ham