Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gin-Soaked Raisins (Purported Arthritis Remedy) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gin-Soaked Raisins (Purported Arthritis Remedy)

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on August 20, 2009

      This really does work. After only 3 weeks I have no pain or throbbing, even on the dampest of days. It's just wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2011

      Dr. Oz featured this recipe on a show in November 2010. The color of the raisins doesn't matter; his example used the dark ones commonly purchased at your local grocer's. He said they could reduce the ill effects of rheumatoid arthritis by as much as 50%. Juniper berries contain turpens and raisins contain oleanolic acid and phenols; all of which are known to have anti-inflamatory properties. Thanks for posting Akikobay! UPDATED after finally making this for the All You Can Cook Buffet special event: I used Bombay Sapphire gin and have started my nine a day regimen. Delicious and very do-able!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      This recipe really does work! We have made it and used it daily for over a decade. I used to walk around with my hands held in the air for relief of pain, with tears streaming, unbidden, down my face. With DH it was hip pain, now under control. Teresa Heinz (the catsup queen) even recommended this recipe on TV, some years back. I was not clever enough to think to post it, glad you did.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2012

      Hmmmm, my Mom used to do this and I've done this several times over the years, but never let the gin evaporate. That might be the secret! I can't say whether this really helped my osteoarthritis but it sure didn't hurt. I had a bottle of juniper berries so added about 5 to the jar, figured it could only help. That didn't seem to change the taste significantly. I've only used the golden raisins. I think I'll start another jar. Oh, yeah, these raisins are also good whenever you need raisins in yeast breads! Akikobay, what a good idea to post this "cure." Thanks for the reminder. . . Janet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2012

      I use the dark raisins. Next time I will try the golden ones since the consensus seems to be they are the ones to use. This does help my joint and back pains. And they are super delicious as an added bonus!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2013

      I had my doubts but this recipe really does work. I have ,however, found that one should use a reasonably good quality gin for the best results. I use Gordons gin. It took about two weeks for me to notice that the pain had subsided. If I am on a business trip and am unable to take my daily dose for a few days the pain starts to come back.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2013

      Just made 4 half-jars with 2 pounds of golden raisins-also added ground cinnamon and honey for their health properties-also used Bombay Sapphire. Was going to add juniper berries but am out and couldn't find them in the two stores I visited! I look forward to the results!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2014

      Yes this recipe works. It has something to do with the juniper berry and the raisins and how they affect each other in its break down. I was told to soak the golden raisins for two weeks in a glass bowl with a lid. That it can take up to six weeks before the effects are felt. Be sure to not let your mixture run out before you make it again. There are some other great ideas to add to this recipe, ie ginger, cinnamon, honey, but I have not tried them yet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2013

      the mentioned gin is available in chennai market, if so where. and shall i use ordinary brownish raisins in stead of golden ones... pls help me. i never tried this recipe....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2012

      I haven't tried it yet. Just picked up the recipe and I'm goin' shopping for the ingredients. I will do a review as soon as I see any results or not between now and Oct 15th. I presently have aching knees, feet and hands. I'm skeptical about this, but I'm gonna give it a try !....Later !!, Allan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      Even with conventional "drugs" the outcome is unknown. Watch for potential food allergies. Be patient and try not to change too many other things in your routine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gin-Soaked Raisins (Purported Arthritis Remedy)

    Serving Size: 1 (367 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1022.8
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    89%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 21.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 115.3 g
    38%
    Dietary Fiber 5.8 g
    23%
    Sugars 85.8 g
    343%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites