11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This really does work. After only 3 weeks I have no pain or throbbing, even on the dampest of days. It's just wonderful!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mer@ August 20, 2009

Dr. Oz featured this recipe on a show in November 2010. The color of the raisins doesn't matter; his example used the dark ones commonly purchased at your local grocer's. He said they could reduce the ill effects of rheumatoid arthritis by as much as 50%. Juniper berries contain turpens and raisins contain oleanolic acid and phenols; all of which are known to have anti-inflamatory properties. Thanks for posting Akikobay! UPDATED after finally making this for the All You Can Cook Buffet special event: I used Bombay Sapphire gin and have started my nine a day regimen. Delicious and very do-able!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees August 13, 2011

This recipe really does work! We have made it and used it daily for over a decade. I used to walk around with my hands held in the air for relief of pain, with tears streaming, unbidden, down my face. With DH it was hip pain, now under control. Teresa Heinz (the catsup queen) even recommended this recipe on TV, some years back. I was not clever enough to think to post it, glad you did.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grannydragon February 17, 2008

Hmmmm, my Mom used to do this and I've done this several times over the years, but never let the gin evaporate. That might be the secret! I can't say whether this really helped my osteoarthritis but it sure didn't hurt. I had a bottle of juniper berries so added about 5 to the jar, figured it could only help. That didn't seem to change the taste significantly. I've only used the golden raisins. I think I'll start another jar. Oh, yeah, these raisins are also good whenever you need raisins in yeast breads! Akikobay, what a good idea to post this "cure." Thanks for the reminder. . . Janet

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jezski March 22, 2012

I use the dark raisins. Next time I will try the golden ones since the consensus seems to be they are the ones to use. This does help my joint and back pains. And they are super delicious as an added bonus!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TancyV March 21, 2012

I had my doubts but this recipe really does work. I have ,however, found that one should use a reasonably good quality gin for the best results. I use Gordons gin. It took about two weeks for me to notice that the pain had subsided. If I am on a business trip and am unable to take my daily dose for a few days the pain starts to come back.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ivan.l.cox September 27, 2013

Just made 4 half-jars with 2 pounds of golden raisins-also added ground cinnamon and honey for their health properties-also used Bombay Sapphire. Was going to add juniper berries but am out and couldn't find them in the two stores I visited! I look forward to the results!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dalfoodie April 03, 2013

Yes this recipe works. It has something to do with the juniper berry and the raisins and how they affect each other in its break down. I was told to soak the golden raisins for two weeks in a glass bowl with a lid. That it can take up to six weeks before the effects are felt. Be sure to not let your mixture run out before you make it again. There are some other great ideas to add to this recipe, ie ginger, cinnamon, honey, but I have not tried them yet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jill H. September 08, 2014

the mentioned gin is available in chennai market, if so where. and shall i use ordinary brownish raisins in stead of golden ones... pls help me. i never tried this recipe....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zestmana June 08, 2013

I haven't tried it yet. Just picked up the recipe and I'm goin' shopping for the ingredients. I will do a review as soon as I see any results or not between now and Oct 15th. I presently have aching knees, feet and hands. I'm skeptical about this, but I'm gonna give it a try !....Later !!, Allan

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alnmau September 05, 2012
Gin-Soaked Raisins (Purported Arthritis Remedy)