Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Giant Soft Pretzels Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Giant Soft Pretzels

    Average Rating:

    53 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 53

    Sort by:

    • on February 27, 2011

      These are so good. I madea batch to give away and liked them so much that I had to make another batch just to keep at home. I made 16 pretzels out of one batch and they are great for toddler snacks. I think that some time I will make some cinnamon raisen pretzels to have for breakfast or a sweet snack

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      I have made this soft pretzel recipe twice now, and they came out nice and chewy, tasty and golden brown both times. They are way better than any soft pretzel I can buy out here in the So Cal desert. Next time I am going to get creative with a few of the pretzels; I'm going to work some chopped jalapenos and coarsely grated extra-sharp cheddar cheese into a few of the dough balls before forming them into pretzels and see how it goes. Thanks for sharing this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      Love. Easy and produced a lovely result. Eaten heartily and quickly by the crew. Will make more, and often. No changes - perfect as is. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2010

      i just tried this recipe, and it not only was easy but tasted great. my husband, my 3 yr old, and i ate about half of it right away. i ended up making sticks about 3-4 inches long (figured it would be easier for my son to eat) and theycooked in 8 minutes. i thought they were a little too dense, but that is probably my fault. i'm not used to making dough and probably incorperated too much flour during the rolling stage. still tasted great, can't wait to make it again!
      thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2010

      awesome! awesome! Better than a Wetzel! My kids totally loved them and so did I. A little scared when I dumped them in the water, but they held up and turned out perfect. I substituted 1/4 cup of whole wheat flour to give it some more flavor. I will be making these A LOT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

    • on October 17, 2008

    • on September 26, 2008

      These are great! I just need some practice with the dunking process. I brushed mine with butter and coated with parmesan cheese and used cream cheese for dipping. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      Delicious, I should have waited till the baking soda bath actively boiled before placing my dough in it (my pretzel fell apart). Thank you for this recipe. Can't wait to create more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      I am eating one fresh from the oven and all I can say is yum!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      This way a great base: fast and easy with good results. I too, like other reviewers thought it seemed bland as written, I added to the dough 1extra TBSP brown sugar, 1/2 teas salt, and 1/2 teas vanilla. Otherwise I followed the directions, and made both regular, and cinnamon sugar, both benefited greatly from a little melted butter :) Also, I don't know if I would call these "giant"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      YUMMY.. these were not messy at all, although my mom and I did make them in her kithenaid mixer with the proper attachment,so easy and delcious! Just as one other reviewer said, they are just like the mall pretzels, even fresher! We sprinked half with kosher salt and the others with sesame seeds (mom's favorite). Next time I am going to try and wrap one around a small, really good kosher hot dog and bake it to see if it turns out like those pretzel dogs at the mall;) I also didn't feel like they were too sweet at all, even though I thought they would be, I followed the recipe exactly.. Thank you for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      Like others have said, this recipe is SO easy and delicious. I decided to give my arms a work out and rolled the length of each piece between my hands until they were the way I liked. I used light brown sugar instead of dark because that's all I had. In the end, the pretzels were amazing and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

    • on November 11, 2007

      Veryyyyyyyyyy yummy...WE have made these so many times now. They taste just like the ones you get at the mall! We love dipping them in nacho cheese...Worth making so go for it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2007

      PLEASE NOTE: "FIRST FOUR INGREDIENTS" INCLUDES YEAST. Other than this slightly confusing bit, wonderful recipe. Very quick and simple. Doubled it for a party - some thought they were perfect; others throught the dough was a bit too sweet. I fell into the former category myself :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      These were very good and had just the right "pretzel flavor." I increased the recipe by 50% to use a whole package of yeast and used coarse sea salt instead of kosher salt. I made them into 48 5-inch pretzel sticks (same baking time) as a snack for my son's preschool class. They were a hit and even earned a compliment from the teacher.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      Oh boy, were these good! Problem: We ate them faster than the time it took to make them. I will double the recipe next time, to see if we can at least eat them in the same amount of time it took to make them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      Mmm, great recipe! After reading the other reviews and suggestions, I brushed the pretzels with egg white before putting them in the oven, which gave them a nice golden color. I also brushed them with some butter after taking them out of the oven and then covered them with cinnamon sugar. They were delicious and very soft. I'll definitely experiment more with these pretzels and dipping sauces to go with them in the future. Thanks! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2007

      This recipe was superb! Aside from the slight typo/confusion dealing with the "first four ingredients" (I guess the water would technically count as one, though). I have only dealt with yeast outside of my breadmaker once before and this was an enjoyable exprerience. I made nine pretzels, about 2.5" wide and 3" tall, and they were gone as soon as word spread that they were through cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Giant Soft Pretzels

    Serving Size: 1 (339 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 192.7
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    42%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 4715.2 mg
    196%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.1 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites