29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

At first when these came out of the oven I thought, "meh"... but after a while, after they sat out for a while and cooled, what an improvement... mmmm! I reduced the sugar amount after reading fellow reviews and I think I found a happy medium. Thanks, these are great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hydra April 12, 2008

I wrote a previous review on these cookies only giving them 2 stars because I found them to be extremely sweet and sugary for my taste. Then I fed them to the guys at work and after seeing their reactions I had to re-review this recipe. People who like sugar, molasses and chewy cookies will love this recipe. I also still agree, they would be lovely with ice cream in the middle. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly in TO March 30, 2007

These cookies are very good, moist & chewy, not a typical lowfat cookie. Beware, they are NOT low sugar (that must be why they taste so good). I would try cutting back just a touch so see if they are as good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MA HIKER February 20, 2007

These cookies are amazingly good and I can't believe they're lowfat! They rival any full fat ginger cookie I've made. I really thought they would taste "healthy" but they don't! I followed the recipe exactly but didn't allow quite enough room on my cookie sheet for them...they really are giant! Everyone loved these. Mine were very nice and soft like gingerbread almost but a little crisp chewy at the edges. I thought they had the perfect ginger flavor. This recipe is a definate keeper...I am in Awe. Thank you for the recipe ladypit. Made for the Went to the market game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed January 12, 2007

I loved it! These cookies had the crisp I so often long for in a low fat cookie. This recipe is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rifkycohen January 10, 2007

I love you! These are amazing! I used light butter and instead of brownsugar I used 1 cup splenda and 1/4 cup molasses. I love these! And they are huge!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AllForHim November 25, 2006

MAGNIFICENT COOKIES! Did half the serving, used 1/4 cup granular splenda plus 2 tbsps. brown sugar, 1/8 maple syrup, sweetened applesauce, more ginger and more cinnamon...Baked for 18 minutes...Best cookies, and incredibly low-fat!!! THANX!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PINK PEARL November 16, 2006

Easy to put together and tasty. Almost no fat, but a bit sweet for me, next time I'll cut down the sugar a bit. Made exactly 22 big cookies for me, I wish I had some vanilla ice cream to try with them, but they are just fine without. Nice low fat recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha September 17, 2006

I have had this recipe in my cookbooks for ages waiting for an occassion to make them. This afternoon I was asked to make a healthy cookie for our staff social so that the weight watching gals could enjoy. Was in a bit of a rush so I just dumped everything in the bowl and turned on the mixer. The results were just fantastic - very soft and chewy and huge. My batch made 26 cookies that were about 3 inches each. For my own tastes - which lean towards spicy I'll add a little more ginger next time. Other than that I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks ladypit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni September 13, 2006

A wonderful cookie. I made some changes just for my own tastes but believe me, this is a cookie worth making! I switched the ginger & cinn amounts but next time will not do that as I think the ginger flavor didn't come out as well. I added 1/2 cup Splenda because I just have an incurable sweet tooth, then sprinkled the tops with a cinn/Splenda mix. VERY easy to make & baked up flat, chewy & moist. I also used whole wheat pastry flour for the white flour. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS June 20, 2006
Giant Low Fat Ginger Cookies