29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Taste was good, but they flattened completely out & were therefore crispy. Ugh.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin4GoodLookin October 16, 2012

I don't know what I did wrong?! The flavor is good but they spread out WAY to much! Will try again and see what happens. I am in Montana and we have a higher altitude so maybe that did it??

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fancyfrancy July 25, 2011

Very good! I made these for a couple I care for and have low fat diets and they really liked them. (so did I)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sailin' Babe February 23, 2011

These are so good and chewy for a low fat cookie. I am really surprised. I used all whole wheat flour and low fat plain yogurt instead of applesauce because that's all I had. I was afraid it wouldn't work but it did! These are not for gingerbread men but they're great to satisfy my craving for sweets. Thanks. I'll make these again for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sylviaspisic December 15, 2010

These had a good taste, but for some reason they turned out more like little cakes than cookies, when I thought they would be crispy. Sort of had the consistency of banana bread or something. I followed the recipe, only I used half the sugar, as I do not like things too sweet. I would make these again, maybe using all the sugar to see if this makes a difference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phantom2010 November 24, 2010

Just made these and we really like them. I may add a little more ginger next time just because we really like ginger and would enjoy a stronger flavor. They do stick to the pan (I even used a silpat), but if you don't look at the bottoms it's not a problem ;-) I even tried the "ice cream sandwich" version you mentioned and it was yummy too. Thanks for a healthy cookie recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar mate October 05, 2009

This earns five-star rating for taste, but a three-star review for sticking 2 the pan. We hve the nice cookie sheets that are specially textured (wat r they called?!) and ur not supposed 2 grease those. (last time we did, the pans were all nasty, greasy and sticky until we scrubbed an washed em a million times) So they stuck to the pan like CRAZY!!!! Really good tho, we'll be making these again soon.....even my brothers luv em (unfortunately....I was hopin they wouldn't eat em....>sigh<). I used smart ballance 50-50 butter & margarine mix for the butter for even less fat!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mizzlizzita February 10, 2009

For a low fat cookie, these were not too bad. Mine turned out really flat...which meant they turned crispy once cooled. I personally prefer soft cookies, so although I enjoyed these straight out of the oven I did not like them very much later.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AprilShowers October 23, 2008

I like the healthier ingredients in this cookie! I used 1 1/4 cups whole wheat pastry flour, 3/4 cup white; and I cut the ginger in half due to a personal dislike for strong ginger flavor. But the resulting cookie is so mild that I may try listed amount next time! I baked at 350 for 13min. If you take out too early, the cooled cookies are sticky.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn May 31, 2008
Giant Low Fat Ginger Cookies