Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Giant Low Fat Ginger Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Giant Low Fat Ginger Cookies

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on October 16, 2012

      Taste was good, but they flattened completely out & were therefore crispy. Ugh.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      I don't know what I did wrong?! The flavor is good but they spread out WAY to much! Will try again and see what happens. I am in Montana and we have a higher altitude so maybe that did it??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2011

      Very good! I made these for a couple I care for and have low fat diets and they really liked them. (so did I)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2010

      These are so good and chewy for a low fat cookie. I am really surprised. I used all whole wheat flour and low fat plain yogurt instead of applesauce because that's all I had. I was afraid it wouldn't work but it did! These are not for gingerbread men but they're great to satisfy my craving for sweets. Thanks. I'll make these again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      These had a good taste, but for some reason they turned out more like little cakes than cookies, when I thought they would be crispy. Sort of had the consistency of banana bread or something. I followed the recipe, only I used half the sugar, as I do not like things too sweet. I would make these again, maybe using all the sugar to see if this makes a difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      Just made these and we really like them. I may add a little more ginger next time just because we really like ginger and would enjoy a stronger flavor. They do stick to the pan (I even used a silpat), but if you don't look at the bottoms it's not a problem ;-) I even tried the "ice cream sandwich" version you mentioned and it was yummy too. Thanks for a healthy cookie recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      This earns five-star rating for taste, but a three-star review for sticking 2 the pan. We hve the nice cookie sheets that are specially textured (wat r they called?!) and ur not supposed 2 grease those. (last time we did, the pans were all nasty, greasy and sticky until we scrubbed an washed em a million times) So they stuck to the pan like CRAZY!!!! Really good tho, we'll be making these again soon.....even my brothers luv em (unfortunately....I was hopin they wouldn't eat em....>sigh<). I used smart ballance 50-50 butter & margarine mix for the butter for even less fat!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      For a low fat cookie, these were not too bad. Mine turned out really flat...which meant they turned crispy once cooled. I personally prefer soft cookies, so although I enjoyed these straight out of the oven I did not like them very much later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

    • on May 31, 2008

      I like the healthier ingredients in this cookie! I used 1 1/4 cups whole wheat pastry flour, 3/4 cup white; and I cut the ginger in half due to a personal dislike for strong ginger flavor. But the resulting cookie is so mild that I may try listed amount next time! I baked at 350 for 13min. If you take out too early, the cooled cookies are sticky.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      At first when these came out of the oven I thought, "meh"... but after a while, after they sat out for a while and cooled, what an improvement... mmmm! I reduced the sugar amount after reading fellow reviews and I think I found a happy medium. Thanks, these are great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2007

      I wrote a previous review on these cookies only giving them 2 stars because I found them to be extremely sweet and sugary for my taste. Then I fed them to the guys at work and after seeing their reactions I had to re-review this recipe. People who like sugar, molasses and chewy cookies will love this recipe. I also still agree, they would be lovely with ice cream in the middle. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      These cookies are very good, moist & chewy, not a typical lowfat cookie. Beware, they are NOT low sugar (that must be why they taste so good). I would try cutting back just a touch so see if they are as good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2007

      These cookies are amazingly good and I can't believe they're lowfat! They rival any full fat ginger cookie I've made. I really thought they would taste "healthy" but they don't! I followed the recipe exactly but didn't allow quite enough room on my cookie sheet for them...they really are giant! Everyone loved these. Mine were very nice and soft like gingerbread almost but a little crisp chewy at the edges. I thought they had the perfect ginger flavor. This recipe is a definate keeper...I am in Awe. Thank you for the recipe ladypit. Made for the Went to the market game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      I loved it! These cookies had the crisp I so often long for in a low fat cookie. This recipe is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      I love you! These are amazing! I used light butter and instead of brownsugar I used 1 cup splenda and 1/4 cup molasses. I love these! And they are huge!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2006

      MAGNIFICENT COOKIES! Did half the serving, used 1/4 cup granular splenda plus 2 tbsps. brown sugar, 1/8 maple syrup, sweetened applesauce, more ginger and more cinnamon...Baked for 18 minutes...Best cookies, and incredibly low-fat!!! THANX!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2006

      Easy to put together and tasty. Almost no fat, but a bit sweet for me, next time I'll cut down the sugar a bit. Made exactly 22 big cookies for me, I wish I had some vanilla ice cream to try with them, but they are just fine without. Nice low fat recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      I have had this recipe in my cookbooks for ages waiting for an occassion to make them. This afternoon I was asked to make a healthy cookie for our staff social so that the weight watching gals could enjoy. Was in a bit of a rush so I just dumped everything in the bowl and turned on the mixer. The results were just fantastic - very soft and chewy and huge. My batch made 26 cookies that were about 3 inches each. For my own tastes - which lean towards spicy I'll add a little more ginger next time. Other than that I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks ladypit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2006

      A wonderful cookie. I made some changes just for my own tastes but believe me, this is a cookie worth making! I switched the ginger & cinn amounts but next time will not do that as I think the ginger flavor didn't come out as well. I added 1/2 cup Splenda because I just have an incurable sweet tooth, then sprinkled the tops with a cinn/Splenda mix. VERY easy to make & baked up flat, chewy & moist. I also used whole wheat pastry flour for the white flour. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Giant Low Fat Ginger Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (38 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 22

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 111.8
     
    Calories from Fat 11
    10%
    Total Fat 1.2 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 2.7 mg
    0%
    Sodium 140.9 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 14.8 g
    59%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites