10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Awesome recipe! I used a 12" pizza pan, and it overflowed a bit but did not 'spread' like some people reported, maybe because the pan had a 1/2" lip? It was close to an inch thick, and I covered it with cake frosting to celebrate a birthday. Definitely a new tradition in our house, even better than store-bought!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHMchef February 08, 2014

My kids LOVED decorating this with the decorator's icing and fancy tips. I used one of the old pizza pans with the colander style holes lined with parchment. The pan is so big it barely fits in my oven, and this still spread almost to the edge. I'll try it again on a bit lower temp, as it was a little too crunchy on the edges for my tastes. Fun dessert idea, and one I'll do again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie September 25, 2011

I LOVE this recipe and have made it over a dozen times. I follow the recipe exactly except I do bake it in a 16 in. pizza pan, spreading it to within an inch of the edge, and have never had a problem with runoff. I do, however, only bake it 17-19 min (depending on humidity) because we like our cookie consistency like that of ones from 'The Original Cookie Factory'--soft, chewy, melt-in-your-mouth yummy! I found that cooking to 20 minutes gives you a higher loft cookie that is done all the way through, but tends to be a bit on the hard side---the left-overs dry out faster,too. This is a GREAT crowd pleaser & looks professionally-made once decorated with your favorite decorator frosting. I've made them for potlucks, baby showers, house warmings, and lots of family get togethers---everyone loves them and is surprised how EASY this is to make! Thanks for sharing this Annette1.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
davisfarmswife March 12, 2011

GREAT cookie pizza, perfectly round and beautiful!! I used a 14 inch LIPPED pizza pan that I lined with parchment cut a little larger than the pan, and creased at the edge of the lip. This totally controlled the cookie dough, which I spread all the way to the edge. I did use 1/2 cup shortening and 1/2 cup butter, which always decreases the amount of "cookie spread". I decreased the salt to 1/2 teaspoon and used about 1 3/4 cups chocolate chips (part semisweet and part milk chocolate). I baked at 350 and it didn't overbrown... and NO overflow. It was thick and soft, and cut great with a pizza cutter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarySC October 05, 2008

This was awesome....i used a extra large pizza sheet, added instant vanilla pudding (i do to all my cookies) baked it at 325 for 22 minutes...i put the dough on and spread it just to within 1 1/2 in to sides....perfect...great recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gladrags August 07, 2008

Wow, this cookie tastes great, but like the other cook, it ran ALL over my oven, and that was after I held back enough to make 6 small cookies in a separate pan. I think it's just too much cookie dough even for a 14" pan. But even the part that dropped onto the bottom of the oven was delicious!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CajunBaby September 20, 2007

We loved this cookie!! We made it twice. One thing to note is that the cookie needs LOTS of room to spread out...mine ran all over my oven....the alumium foil was a great idea!! The baking temp is much better @ 325.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunnyrachie June 19, 2007

Great recipe, I took another reviewers suggestion and baked at 325 degrees but it took about 28 minutes in my oven. I lined a ceramic round pizza pan with foil and sprayed the foil with pam and spread the cookie batter in the pan. I baked this as a request for my daughters 11th birthday. She was thrilled and everyone said it tasted delicious. Thank you for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Take a Letter Maria May 12, 2007

I havn't tried this recipe, but have tried others. They usually say bake at 325 degrees F for 15-20 minutes. I would try that then up the temperature if needed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meshka December 20, 2005

I am giving this recipe 3 stars because the edible parts were very good. The oven temp specified here was way too high, so when the cookie was on the verge of burning on top, I had to take it out, and found that it was raw in the middle. I had it on the center rack too. I think lowering the oven temp to 350 or even 325 would definitely help to make this cookie bake more evenly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChipotleChick October 01, 2003
Giant Chocolate Chip Cookie