25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the recipe to use if you want to make gigantic longlasting bubbles. I've always added a bit of glycerin to our bubble solution, but the big bubbles would always pop. With this solution, we could even use our biggest fairy wands and wrap enormous bubble trails around us. Here's the best part...we got sidetracked playing in the sandbox for a while and when we returned to the bubble solution, it was even better! After an hour or two in the open, the bubbles we made were industrial strength, unpoppable creations. We could even stack them together and make bubble sculptures. Thank you for posting this!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Akikobay May 10, 2003

I made a bubble machine which I set up at kite festivals etc. I go through a bunch of bubble liquid. This is a lot better than factory made and is also cheaper by far.The plans for the bubble machine are at www:kitez.com/samples.html cursor down to Kite Plans then down to Bubble Machine. They aren't the clearest in the world but it's not rocket science, anything close will work.I have almost fun with it as the kids who chase the bubbles.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pierre Dance November 03, 2003

Well, this bubble juice concoction was so easy to prepare and produced wonderful bubbles. My daughter had great fun using up these inexpensive bubbles and now we are keeping a bottle of this recipe prepared for her to make bubbles any time she likes. Thanks for sharing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather May 20, 2003

This is the best bubble recipe you will ever find. You must use joy because it doesn't work as well with any other dish detergent. You can make a large patch up and it will keep. I recycle an old dish detergent bottle and put this bubble recipe back into the bottle. This way you can squeeze out as much as you would like. Great for those summer get togethers and birthday parties.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M May 13, 2003

I was excited about this bubble solution after all the great reviews, but was disappointed. I followed the recipe exactly two times, and both gave poor results. My daughter was so excited for this and ended up even more disappointed than I. I will leave it for a few days to see if it gets any better like a previous post recommended. Hopefully the solution will work.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PreemieMom July 25, 2013

Didn't work for us either. I followed the recipe carefully, made sure I used regular Joy, but it didn't work. When we blew on the wand, the film would just pop, with no bubbles. After an hour, I could get a bubble or two but that was it. I made another batch thinking, like the other reviewer, that perhaps I had missed something. Nope. Still didn't work. I left the solution out with the kids thinking maybe it was me. But I soon heard a knock at the door and our four year old neighbor asked me to come get it "those bubbles must be too tired". Oh well. But I'll try again. Maybe it's the weather. Why not? :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meal Murderess May 01, 2012

We made bubble wands for our kiddos for Valentines day, and used this recipe to complement the gift. The bubbles were soooo easy to make and they make great bubbles using our big bubble wands. I gotta laugh at the nutritional facts though, I hope I can work off those 107.2 calories with vigorous bubble blowing. Hee, hee, hee.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tinytreasures1 February 15, 2012

I'm sorry but I was not happy with this. We followed instructions exactly. It was ok for small bubbles, but we weren't able to make large bubbles at all. Ok, so I made up a new solution thinking perhaps we had goofed up on something. Still very poor results. Even tried letting it sit for a couple of hours to see if that made a difference, but it didn't.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okra July 06, 2007

Very good bubble recipe!! I cut the recipe into 1/3 with great results! They make killer bubbles. No, I don't have any little ones. I made them for myself. What?! LOL Fun recipe Mirj!! Thank you for posting it!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marlene. May 20, 2007

I doubled the recipe and it fit perfectly in a gallon jug. Thanks for such an easy, cheap bubble recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dukeswalker June 06, 2006
Giant Bubbles