Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Giant Bubbles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Giant Bubbles

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on May 10, 2003

      This is the recipe to use if you want to make gigantic longlasting bubbles. I've always added a bit of glycerin to our bubble solution, but the big bubbles would always pop. With this solution, we could even use our biggest fairy wands and wrap enormous bubble trails around us. Here's the best part...we got sidetracked playing in the sandbox for a while and when we returned to the bubble solution, it was even better! After an hour or two in the open, the bubbles we made were industrial strength, unpoppable creations. We could even stack them together and make bubble sculptures. Thank you for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2003

      I made a bubble machine which I set up at kite festivals etc. I go through a bunch of bubble liquid. This is a lot better than factory made and is also cheaper by far.The plans for the bubble machine are at www:kitez.com/samples.html cursor down to Kite Plans then down to Bubble Machine. They aren't the clearest in the world but it's not rocket science, anything close will work.I have almost fun with it as the kids who chase the bubbles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2003

      Well, this bubble juice concoction was so easy to prepare and produced wonderful bubbles. My daughter had great fun using up these inexpensive bubbles and now we are keeping a bottle of this recipe prepared for her to make bubbles any time she likes. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2003

      This is the best bubble recipe you will ever find. You must use joy because it doesn't work as well with any other dish detergent. You can make a large patch up and it will keep. I recycle an old dish detergent bottle and put this bubble recipe back into the bottle. This way you can squeeze out as much as you would like. Great for those summer get togethers and birthday parties.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2013

      I was excited about this bubble solution after all the great reviews, but was disappointed. I followed the recipe exactly two times, and both gave poor results. My daughter was so excited for this and ended up even more disappointed than I. I will leave it for a few days to see if it gets any better like a previous post recommended. Hopefully the solution will work.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2012

      Didn't work for us either. I followed the recipe carefully, made sure I used regular Joy, but it didn't work. When we blew on the wand, the film would just pop, with no bubbles. After an hour, I could get a bubble or two but that was it. I made another batch thinking, like the other reviewer, that perhaps I had missed something. Nope. Still didn't work. I left the solution out with the kids thinking maybe it was me. But I soon heard a knock at the door and our four year old neighbor asked me to come get it "those bubbles must be too tired". Oh well. But I'll try again. Maybe it's the weather. Why not? :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2012

      We made bubble wands for our kiddos for Valentines day, and used this recipe to complement the gift. The bubbles were soooo easy to make and they make great bubbles using our big bubble wands. I gotta laugh at the nutritional facts though, I hope I can work off those 107.2 calories with vigorous bubble blowing. Hee, hee, hee.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2007

      I'm sorry but I was not happy with this. We followed instructions exactly. It was ok for small bubbles, but we weren't able to make large bubbles at all. Ok, so I made up a new solution thinking perhaps we had goofed up on something. Still very poor results. Even tried letting it sit for a couple of hours to see if that made a difference, but it didn't.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      Very good bubble recipe!! I cut the recipe into 1/3 with great results! They make killer bubbles. No, I don't have any little ones. I made them for myself. What?! LOL Fun recipe Mirj!! Thank you for posting it!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2006

      I doubled the recipe and it fit perfectly in a gallon jug. Thanks for such an easy, cheap bubble recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2014

      What a huge disappointment! Followed the recipe to the letter and we got nothing. We are going to leave it out for a few days and see if it is any better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2014

      Didn't work!! Simple as that! Very disappointed after seeing all the great reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2013

      Having a five year old pretty much means that bubbles are a staple in our house. I have always heard of home-made bubbles and was curious on how good they were. Once I found this recipe, I had to try it! I was super impressed on how durable these bubbles were. With normal bottles of bubbles bought from the stores, the second they landed on the ground they would pretty much beak on contact. With this recipe, I can?t even believe how strong they are! They landed on the ground and lasted long enough for my daughter to run over there on jump on them and make them pop. My only complaint is that they are a little sticky from the corn syrup. Not a big deal to clean up though. This recipe is a must for anyone with kids to try! It?s super easy to make and its fun that lasts for a long time. One batch goes along way!!! This is what we will be using as bubbles around our house going forward. I definitely recommend trying this at least once if you have kiddos that love bubbles!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2013

      Such a great idea! This would be great at a summer birthday party too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2012

      Leave this recipe for a day or two, preferably out in the sun, for amazing, huge, and long lasting bubbles. This beats anything store bought hands down. Plus, you likely have everything you need in your cupboard anyway! Great recipe! My kids LOVE it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2007

      The kids thought these were great because it was an excuse to get messy and soapy at the same time. For small bubbles, this was wonderful. For larger bubbles we had some trouble. Maybe it was our pathetic attempts at making BIG bubble wands.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2007

      Made this to the delight of my 16 month old grandbaby. She loved the bubbles, this is a recipe we will use for a very long time. So much cheaper and the bubbles are great for the large size. Thanx so much for posting and making me a great nana!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2007

      Terrific bubbles!! We bent a coat hanger into a circle and used it to make our giant bubbles. It entertained two 6 year olds, one puppy, and one husband for hours! Perfect!! Thanks Mirj!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2006

      I love bubbles and this makes the best! We made a wand the size of a dinner plate and put the solution in the plate to make the best huge bubble trails. What fun!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2006

      This is such a great recipe! My children love to mix things up in the kitchen, so it's a great recipe for them to practice measuring skills, pouring skills, stirring skills, and cleaning skills without having to worry about using a microwave, oven, or stove. Thanks, Mirj!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Giant Bubbles

    Serving Size: 1 (1763 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 107.2
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    71%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 28.2 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 10.1 g
    40%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Joy dishwashing soap

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites