Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gianduia Sandwich Cookies (Chocolate-Hazelnut) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gianduia Sandwich Cookies (Chocolate-Hazelnut)

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on February 25, 2006

      My review is proof that these are an excellent cookie. Even with challenges, these cookies are still incredible. It is a long story, but please bare with me...I was in a hurry when I got home from work on Valentine's Day night. I had decided that instead of one simple appy for dinner with Hubby, I would make just a couple pieces of 3 different recipes. Crazy, I know, but I was craving one thing; he was craving another...you know how it goes. So, anyway, I quickly whip up these cookies for dessert, only to realize after the cookies are in the oven that I used regular flour instead of self-rising. The cookies didn't puff as they baked; they stayed round little balls. So, as I pulled them from the oven, I hit each one with the rounded handle end of my citrus reamer to make them crackle a bit and form an indention in the middle (like a thumbprint cookie). Then, I filled the indention with Nutella and dusted with powdered sugar. It worked. The cookies were saved, and we had a perfect little sweet spot to end our Valentine's dinner. I have submitted a photo of my "flop" for your viewing pleasure. LOL

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2012

      i tried these but left them to long to slice so just sandwiched them together they went down a treat:) i tried them again (next day) but replaced the nutella with a shop bought banoffe spread they where amazing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      These are pretty darn good!! I dont think I would eat them with out the filling in them because they are a bit plain, but with the filling they are AWESOME!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      I love nutella, but my family didn't enjoy this recipe. Like some of the previous reviewers, my dough was rather dry. Not at all sticky like the recipe suggested. As a result, the cookies came out very dry and crumbly. They were near impossible to cut, even with the tip provided. They didn't taste like much of anything until the nutella was spread on them. Great idea, it just didn't work for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

    • on December 16, 2008

      The star of the show here was the nutella in the middle but I think there must be a much better way to make a cookie using nutella than these. The cookies themselves are tasteless and crumbled in my mouth. From the name of the cookbook that these come from I understand that the idea here was to come up with a dessert using as few ingredients as possible and in that regard they work good enough but I wouldn't make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      These just did not work out at all. Maybe some salt would help or i do not know. I am sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      I have made these cookies a few times. I like that it has just a few ingredients - especially since it includes Nutella (yum-o!). I didn't have any problems shaping the dough into balls. While cutting them in half isn't hard (thanks for the serrated knife & cutting tips), it can be a bit time consuming. But, for Nutella fans, it is worth it. They get rave reviews when ever I make them. I think I'm going to add them to my holiday cookie tray this year using the "thumb print" technique ms_bold did by accident. They should still taste great. Thanks Gayla!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      These little cookies have me so excited!! I made them super small (I ended up with 3 dozen) and I flattened them before baking. I also added some mini chips and skipped the splitting/filling afterwards. Since they cooked a little too long this time, I think about 5 minutes a batch would be juuuust about perfect. Now I can experiment with ingredients that I, as a candidiasis sufferer, can actually eat! I'm thinking almond butter with a little stevia and some flax meal and brown rice flour...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2008

      These were really easy to make & were quite yummy if you like nutella :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      I drop them by spoonfuls into powdered sugar and roll them around before baking. They taste great and look like chocolate crinkles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      Thees cookies were very easy to make. I didn't have any trouble cutting the cookies as others had. I used a serrated steak knife and cut around the outside of the cookie as suggested. I over cooked them because I made smaller cookies. If you do smaller cookies only cook about 8 minutes. Mine turned out dry. They still have great flavor with the nutella in the middle. Definately flour your hands to roll the cookies. Overall an easy cookie with mild flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      Very good flavor - especially for those who like hazelnut! I had lots of trouble cutting the tops without it crumbling apart - that was frustrating (I even tried to follow the directions perfectly, but they still broke apart). Otherwise, a very good treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      I'm very sorry to say that I'm not crazy about this recipe. I upped amount of ingredients by 50% and used 2 med/small eggs. It may have been that I added a bit too much flour, because I didn't find the dough sticky at all, and the cookies came out a bit dry and bland. Nutella improved the taste of the cookies-- but they still weren't remarkable in any way. I don't think much merit can be given to a recipe when its only saving grace was something pre-made from a jar. If you like nutella, perhaps try finding another cookie to fill with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      These were the easiest and the most richest cookies ever!! Once baked, the nutella flavor would not come through in the cookies, but only when sandwiched with the nutella. These were very rich little cookies that were only enough one or two at a time. Thanks Gayla!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2006

      OK, so I attempted these in the dorm kitchen with pretty limited ingredients (which was half the reason I chose the recipe ion the first place -- so simple). All I had was plain all-purpose flour, so I attempted to make my own cake flour and then make it self-rising too. My cookies turned out dry, but not in a terrible way. I also added about a thrid of a banana to the egg mix because my egg was kinda small. The thing I thought was weird was that they weren't very flavorful. This might also be because I used a different "fancier" (read: more expensive) brand because it was on sale. I should have just stuck with Nutella because I ran out of spread before I was done filling the cookies! (I didn't eat THAT much...) Anyway, with everyone's advice though, these were really easy to make and even look pretty, too. All in all, I'd say it's a fantastic recipe, and I will try this again, the right way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2006

      OMG!! I just made this recipe and it's insanely yummy! Very rich, so make sure the cookies aren't too big. I used the tip provided by "icy" regarding how to handle the batter and had no problems at all making these. Cutting wasn't a problem either as I used the tip by GaylaJ. Once all my sandwiches were made, I dusted lightly with confectioners sugar to break up the solid brown look to the cookie. These are going to be my Christmas Cookie exchange cookies for this year and I know they'll be a BIG hit! Thanks for such a wonderful recipe - I found nothing hard about it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2006

      Very good recipe. yes, the dough is very sticky (so sticky that i may not even consider it as a "dough"...)However, it can still be worked out easily. first of all, wet a spoon and spoon some dough and transfer it on some cake flour. Flour it all around but do not knead it, just shape it like a little ball. Remove the extra flour on the dough. That's a way to make these cookies without having sticky hands.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2006

      Okay, I had so much fun making these and cannot believe they turned out. First I had to make my own self rising cake flour, Cake Flour Substitute. Then I floured my counter and scooped the sticky mess onto it but couldn't clear my fingers of it. So I just patted my hands in flour and went to town making the balls. I put them straight onto my pizza stone because I didn't have parchment paper. I flattened them slightly. They cooked perfectly in the time listed. They came off my stone easily. After they cooled for the ten minutes they cut beautifully using the tip in step #6. I ate one without the filling and it was very good. I ate one with the filling and it was delicious. I think a cream filling would be wonderful too. TY Gayla, I am so proud of how they look, though not quite as lovely as yours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2006

      I'm not rating these because I just can't decide how I feel about them. The idea was great. The work however was far too time consuming to make the end product worth it. I'm not sure if I felt that way simply because I made my own cake flour. My proportions may have been off as well, since my dough was not sticky. In short, they were presentable, but not, in my opinion, worth the effort. I'll stick to animal crackers and nutella.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gianduia Sandwich Cookies (Chocolate-Hazelnut)

    Serving Size: 1 (26 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 118.0
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    40%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 11.5 mg
    3%
    Sodium 99.3 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 8.9 g
    35%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites