56 Reviews

I must agree with the other reviews posted...fantastic cookie. I used 1 1/4 cups of chocolate chips as that seemed like plenty. The whole bag would have been too much. Nice texture--not at all greasy like Toll House. After first batch browned a little too much on the bottom, I lowered temperature to 350°F and cooked for 10 minutes--they cooked to golden perfection without browning the bottoms too much.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharlene~W August 05, 2002

My mom made these for me the other day, and they were fabulous! I don't know where Elizabeth comes up with these exquisite recipes, but they are absolutely heavenly! Keep 'em coming!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura Vick November 12, 2001

Yummy Yummy! These were much better than toll house. I wouldn't change a thing on this recipe. Thanks Elizabeth!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alexi's Mom May 27, 2002

We really loved these cookies! These are better than any I've ever baked. Thanks Elizabeth, this will be my cookie recipe from now on!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JerriLea September 09, 2002

OMG, My wife inhaled the first batch. I helped her Just a wee bit. This is the best cookie recipe I have ever baked. They just disolve in your mouth. I followed the recipe exactly, wouldn't change a thing. Have you got any more like this one Mighty Ripper. Thanks. Jim

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JimB427 October 11, 2003

These were wonderful and came out so beautifully, not flat! Baked them at 375 for 10 minutes and they were perfect. I used a mix of Ghirardelli milk chocolate chips and bittersweet chocolates chips, added the pecans, to half the batch. I rolled my cookies into balls before placing on the cookie sheet and chilled the dough for an hour before using and kept it chilled in between batches. Everyone loved these cookies!My Ghirardelli recipes says in Step 3 to beat the softened butter with the sugar and brown sugar at medium speed for 4 minutes, then add vanilla and eggs, one at a time, mixing on low speed until incorporated. Then procede to Step 4. I don't know if it makes a difference or not, but I followed the recipe exactly and they came out great!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bad kitty 1116 April 20, 2010

Thank you, thank you, thank you! My first batch ever of chocolate chip cookies... made for my husband to take on a business trip (and for me to keep some as well). They were just PERFECT -- the best chocolate chip cookies ever. Left out the nuts, and couldn't find "double chocolate chips", so used Ghirardelli's semi-sweet and they were sooo wonderful. A little crisp, slightly chewy, NOT greasy. Perfect. Thanks so much for the great recipe!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pianolady July 02, 2003

These were fantastic; much better than Tollhouse! I don't understand the negative reviews....I followed the directions exactly and they came out well; soft to eat and not greasy at all. I've made them twice now and they were great both times! Thanks for posting! :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Violinistame March 28, 2010

Terrible - save your time and money! These have way too much butter (I was careful not to oversoften, so that's not the problem). They came out totally flat, as others have noted and taste like chocolate chips in grease dough. Would have thought a trusted (at least until now) name like this would have been good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ryankyle March 06, 2010

These cookies were delicious!! They came out great! Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Wisnewski February 06, 2010
Ghirardelli' S Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies