10 Reviews

Instead of the sweet ground chocolate, I looked on Ghirardelli's website and it said to substitute a 50/50 mix of cocoa and sugar. I didn't use walnuts and put them in a mini muffin pan with the cups 3/4 full. I then cooked them for about 14 mins using a toothpick to test them to be a little undercooked. I cooled them on a rack and them dipped the tops of them in a chocolate ganache-type topping (melt together 1/2 cup chocolate chips, about 1 tsp water, about 1 tablespoon butter, and 2 tablespoons milk; whisk together until smooth). Absolutely delicious! This method provides a great presentation.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michigan-fan October 02, 2009

These brownies are nearly perfect, and that's a pretty high compliment considering I've tried and thrown out several recipes over the last year. They are easy to make, moist (not too cake-like), fudgy and just darn good. My only gripe, and it's a minor one, is that they cracked a bit on top while I was baking them. I left out the chocolate chips and walnuts.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sackville September 23, 2003

This recipe was terrible! I looked it up because I wanted Ghirardelli brownies, but didn't fee like going to the store to get the boxed mix....now I'm regretting the effort, time, and ingredients wasted by making this. It definitely could have used more butter or oil, more cocoa, less flour...just a whole face lift! I'm going to re-do this recipe and post the GOOD version for everyone to try.Ugh...what a waste! :(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelbre September 19, 2012

The recipe was so easy to make. I doubt I will ever by box brownies again, whether it is this recipe or another. They are for a friend so the taste test results are not in yet. However it seems the 20 minute bake time did not work for me. I did a toothpick test after the stated 20 minute bake time b/c it didn't seem the edges pulled from the pan and the top hadn't "crackled" even a little bit. Sure enough, the toothpick test showed that the inside was not done and I put them in for another 5 minutes. After 25 minutes I did a second toothpick test and still didn't look "brownie done" to me and the toothpick test confirmed. I put them back for another 5 minutes and found that at 30 minutes the edges had pulled slightly form the pan and the top had a slightly crackled look to it. My gas oven was set on 350 and I also have an independent thermometer that I keep in my oven at all times. I checked this oven thermometer and it said the oven temp was 350 the whole time these were baking. I hope they are not over done now... I will edit review after the tasting, but only if it turns out that I overcooked them otherwise I will left the review stand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stephiebakes August 12, 2012

After trying other homemade brownie recipes that did not meet our expectations, we happened upon this one. DH and I can finally declare our search is over for a homemade brownie recipe! Followed the recipe exactly as written which resulted in the fudgy, chewy brownie texture and delectable flavor we hoped for in a homemade brownie. Thank you DiB for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KatSu February 07, 2010

The walnuts, I omitted. And saying that, I wilt say that they were superb! A blunt friend of mine (who would have told me if he thought they tasted like crud)told me that he approved them(not like the other cookie bar thing I made). But instead of using store bought "ghirardelli sweet ground chocolate" I chopped up a large hunk of biter sweet (chocolate) until I had enough. Cutting it up makes a big mess though, as it all seems to have static electricity pulling it to the floor. Again, they were fantastic. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ragtimeljc November 16, 2007

Great flavor and I'll certainly try these again, but do be careful on the cook time. I checked on mine after only 15 minutes and they were already a little overcooked and dried out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roosie November 07, 2005

I just made these brownies and they are absolutely delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and they were easy to make and have a wonderful fudgey chocolate flavor. Thanks for sharing, I can't wait to make them again.:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robyn:) July 18, 2005

An excellent recipe! My wife made this the other day and I've never had better brownies in my life! I've had ones layered with coconut flakes, different icings,different nuts even but this recipe is so simple and yet produced the most exquisitely delicate melt -in-your-mouth brownie nirvana:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
199949 March 04, 2005

i've wolfed down two squares of these little beauties already. perfect mood-elevator for when its all snowy and bleak outside. i used 1cup packed brown sugar but otherwise was faithful to the recipe. the velvety moist fudginess is offset nicely by the walnuts. unfortunately for my waistline and arteries, i will have to be making these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eatrealfood March 01, 2005
Ghirardelli Brownies