56 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've made this twice now and with rave reviews. The second time I made it, my son had just had his braces put on and couldn't eat any. He begged me to please remember and make this again when he finally got his braces removed. Well, it's been over 18 months since then...he's not had his braces off for more than a few weeks and he has already started badgering me about making these bars. If this is not a compliment, I don't know what is....how many teenage boys remember anything longer than 10 minutes!?!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jug O'Mud March 20, 2010

These turned out great! Based on other review, I got nervous about all the corn syrup and used some honey with the corn syrup to equal the 1 1/2 cups, but the end result was a little softer/stickier than I expected, so will have to play with that some more. I used a combo of Grape Nuts and All Bran Buds, and for the rolled oats used Quaker hot cereal, which is oats, barley, rye, etc. Next time, I will cut out the sugar, as I think the PB and craisins are sweet enough. Thanks for a quick and easy (and delicious!) recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
at-home vegan January 10, 2010

Yum, yum, yum!!! I used raisins in place of the cranberries, only 1/2 c. almonds (as that's all I had on hand) and organic sugar. I plan to find a more healthful alternative to the corn syrup for the next time I make this, but used corn syrup this time. Delicious!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AprilShowers July 30, 2009

I also used brown rice syrup and they turned out beautifully. These bars are fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarphine May 25, 2009

I used 1 cup corn syrup and 1/2 cup honey and brown sugar instead of regular (I did add about 2T White sugar) They came out wonderful, everyone liked them. Next time I will mix in Vanilla after boiling.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jacque mamma of 2 March 27, 2009

I used brown rice syrup instead of corn syrup - still delish! Next time I'm going to increase the proportion of oats and almonds.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tab Rhinotub November 19, 2008

I'll add my 2 cents worth! These bars are great! I used brown sugar in stead of of white and honey instead of corn syrup. YUM! Definitely cut the pan into 24 bars - I made 16, and they were just a little but much. I mean, I still ate the whole thing and all, but. . . ;) I have been taking them to work for a mid-morning snack, and it's been perfect. I shared with someone at work, and she asked for the recipe. . . so what does that tell you? Thanks, Mirj, for a great recipe! I'll be making these again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KrisLady March 09, 2008

I really thought these were great. I used Better N' Peanut butter instead of peanut butter to cut down on fat, and used 2 cups of fiber one cereal and 2 cups of grape nuts to give these bars even more fiber. These weren't too sweet for me, but I'm going to try to cut down on the corn syrup next time to see if I can cut out some of the calories. Thanks for this convinent recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BurtonFanatic January 25, 2008

Wow! These are great! I also tweaked it a bit. I used 1 c light corn syrup (didn't read the recipe right), I used 1/4 c brown sugar, but I could have halved that and it would have still been sweet enough. I used chunky peanut butter, dried mixed berries and sliced almonds. I sprinkled some mini chocolate chips on top right before I put them in the fridge to cool. These will be perfect to take to school next week when the semester starts!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zanni January 19, 2008

This recipe is amazing. My husband always requests I make a new pan as he eats the last bar out of the old pan! I omit the sugar in the recipe, as I think the peanut butter and dried fruit make the recipe sweet enough. Thank you for such a yummy recipe, Mirj.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eclairekat January 16, 2008
'Get Up & Go' Bars