Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 'Get Up & Go' Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    'Get Up & Go' Bars

    Average Rating:

    56 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 56

    Sort by:

    • on September 13, 2007

      I made these exactly as stated and my DH and I have been enjoying them all week long! Couldn't get the kids to try it, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2007

      My whole family likes these bars. It took some effort to get my kids to try them. The sight of the cranberries was just too much for them, and no one would even try a bite. My son finally agreed to try a cranberry-free piece. Little did he know, I made sure there was a cranberry hidden in there! After he gave it the thumbs-up, I broke the news of my trick. He still loves me, and he likes the bars, too! I am generally not a fan of baking with corn syrup, but I found the taste lends to the peanut butter. Next time, I might experiment with using honey or maple syrup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2007

      Made these last night (so easy) and we love them. Our teenager loves them, too. Moist and crunchy, yet soft. Thanks, for giving me a way for the kids to eat dried cranberries. A definite keeper! I'm afraid these will be gone by the end of the day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      I love these!! All the girls at work want this recipe and my nephew can not get enough of them. Everytime he visits I have them ready for him. Thanks !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

      These were good, but oh so sweet! I might try them again and reduce the sugar and corn syrup by half or more. Sturdy and chewy, they hold up well packed in a lunch or for traveling. I froze the leftovers in small snack-size ziptop bags which are handy "on the go".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      These are absolutely great! Wouldn't change a thing and I will be making this again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      These are a huge hit! After toying with the amount a few recipes, I use 1 cup sorghum to replace the sugar and corn syrup. They are the perfect level of sweetness (not cloying) and hold together well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      I used this recipe as inspiration for what I had on hand. I used 1 cups of corn syrup, 1 cup peanut butter, 1 cup all bran, 2 cups raisin bran, 1 cup rice krispies, 1 cup outmeal and a good shaking of chocolate chips. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2006

      These bars are phenomenal... I haven't gone a morning without one since I first made them a month ago. I'm on my third batch today. I really like adding more kinds of dried fruits, as well as different kinds of cereals like granola and a little bit of rice krispies to add more crunch, even coffee grounds! I think Grape Nuts is essential though. WOW I made some for my girlfriend who doesn't like peanut butter, and instead used NUTELLA!! YUMMY!! I would recommend reducing the sugar some though because nutella is sweeter than pb, but these were a chocolatey wholesome treat that would go great with my morning coffee.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2006

      My husband loved these! I used crunchy peanut butter, and they were great. I prefer my non pb versions with a lot less sugar, but these hit the top of his list. Great for a portable breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2006

      I loved these, the flavor is awesome and they stay fresh a long time. I didn't make enough "syrup" and they were crumbly. Next time, I will make a little extra syrup so they stick together better. Great recipe for quick breakfasts though, we are always on the run, my kids loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2006

      What an easy, easy solution to breakfast on the go! I stuck to the recipe exactly, but think that next time I'll experiment with cereal types, add-in's and maybe try to cut down on the sugar a little as I thought is was VERY sweet. Thank you so much Mirj!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2006

      Yes, very good! I read a review that said chocolate chips. I can pass on that but NEXT time, I'm adding peanut butter chips! This is yummy! I'll be taking one to work every day for coffee breadk!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2006

      These are by far the best homemade granola-type bar that I've had. Based on other reviews, I figured I could take some liberties with the recipe based on what I had on hand, and really I do think you can use just about any whole grain cereal, nuts, and dried fruit in these. For the cereal I used a combination of Grape Nuts Trail Mix Crunch and Grape Nuts Flakes. I used pistachios for the nuts. And, I only used 1 cup of corn syrup and maybe 2 T. of sugar. I thought it held together just fine, and for me it bordered on almost too sweet, so I might leave of the sugar altogether next time. Brown sugar would be great in this! Thanks so much for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2006

      Thanks for the recipe! I actually had to modify quite a bit because I didn't have the right ingredients. I used unrefined muscovado sugar+water instead of corn syrup, which gave it a deeper sweet taste. I omitted the extra sugar. I also didn't have grape nuts, so I used corn flakes and maple nut oatmeal crisp. Then I didn't have the dried cranberries, but I used granola cereal that had dried raspberries and blueberries in it. The peanut butter taste was really good and this recipe was very simple!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2006

      I followed the recipe exactly. These are easy to make & very tasty. Next time I might omit the dried cranberries and add and assortment of nuts which are my favorite. Thanks for sharing this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2006

      These were easy to make and I usually have all the ingredients on hand. I am not a huge peanut butter fan and I think you need to be to like these. My son IS and he eats them regularly. I wrapped them individually, they keep well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2006

      These are good, I used dried cherries and I just dont think that any fruit tastes good in it for ME. I would make them again without fruit or replace the cranberries with mini chocolate chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2006

      Yum! These are really tasty, and healthy too! I made them and brought some in to work. Everyone loved them! I might even try them with chocolate chips next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2005

      I really enjoyed these because they are so tasty and so different from my usual breakfast. I bought the Grape Nuts and cranberries on purpose to make them but forgot to check how much corn syrup I had. I only had about 1/2 of what I needed so used honey to make up the difference. My bars were a little softer and stickier that what they probably should have been but they sure tasted good! Thanks Mirj!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 'Get Up & Go' Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (66 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 245.2
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    29%
    Total Fat 7.9 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 158.7 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.6 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 13.6 g
    54%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes