56 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

So the first thing that made me happy was everything was already in my pantry. I didn't have the full 4 cups for cereal so I used lots of Cheerios to cover it. I also had a little handful of chocolate chips when the mixture was still warm which just made it that much better(= The next best thing about this recipe was I was able to make it all in a glass measuring cup and I just measured the peanut butter, corn syrup and sugar and popped it in the microwave for like 45-60 seconds. Overall, fantastic recipe and I will be making it again!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrittneyHope November 04, 2010

revising this review to say that it has been requested every day since i made the first batch. not only did my daughters love them, but my coworkers did too. i had given half the pan to my boss for her 89 yr old dad, and she ate half of them on her way home. her daughter ate a bunch more. i think her dad got 1. i'll be making these often. going to try the next batch with some chocolate chips

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia June 08, 2003

These are great. And not too hard to make. But Grape Nuts are a little expensive. Maybe raisins and more oats would suffice?

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
timhammond June 14, 2011

These make very tasty and quite filling bars. I made the recipe as written except I also added a handful of wheat germ to the mixture. They are not too sweet and it makes me feel good to know that I'm eating something that is so healthy. Next time I think I will try using brown sugar and maybe some honey to see how they taste. Maybe some extra cranberries too because I LOVE cranberries! *Update* I just wanted to say that I'm addicted to these things!! I have made them 3 times in 2 weeks. I have started using 1 cup of corn syrup and 1/2 cup of honey, and brown sugar instead of white. I also use 3 cups of Grape-Nuts cereal and 2 cups of oats. They are sooo good! They make the perfect breakfast bar and snack.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelles3boys October 12, 2009

I couldn't remember the exact name for these, so I spent over an hour looking for this recipe so I could say how much I liked it! Really, I think the amount of sugar isn't that much when you do consider the other healthful ingredients. I used natural PB, so that didn't add sugar, and it was just sweet enough (and I like sweet!). DH doesn't get excited about healthy things, so when I asked him what he thought, he said, "Well, they were kind of grainy (?), but I ate a bunch of 'em." His face was quite guilty! :) Anyway, for satisfactory taste PLUS healthful ingredients my family needs, this gets 5 stars! By the way, those grape nuts had sat on my shelf quite a long time; they enjoyed being put to good use! I think I'll actually buy grape nuts again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annlouise November 22, 2003

Delicious! We chose an almond/cherry theme, substituting almond butter for the peanut butter and dried cherries for the cranberries. We used brown sugar instead of white, and 1 cup honey plus 1/2 cup corn syrup instead of all corn syrup. We also included 1/4 cup of ground flax seeds. After adding just a spash of almond extract and a dash of cinnamon, we thought these were better than anything we've had from the store!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Lauri~ August 23, 2009

This is fantastic. We are watching our sugar intake and I have adapted the recipe at bit. I don't add any sugar, and only use one cup of the corn surup and one cup of peanut butter. They hold together just fine and make for a much healthier bar. I also use All Bran Buds instead of the Grape nuts, due to availability issues.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrinV September 06, 2005

these taste like granola bars. i think if i make them again i'll do one less cup of grape nuts and add in one cup of rice krispies. I don't really like the flavor of cranberries with peanut butter since i am not a fan of pbj sandwiches. i did do half the batch with mini chocolate chips which was yummy. so i still give it 4 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cher Oliver September 14, 2011

Very good. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NDjojo August 21, 2011

These were great! I halved the recipe, used 3/4 cup oats and raisins and left out the almonds as I couldn't find any. Bit sticky so I'll either cut back a bit on the syrup or add more cereal next time. Very yummy, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHS August 13, 2010
'Get Up & Go' Bars