Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 'Get Up & Go' Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    'Get Up & Go' Bars

    Average Rating:

    56 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 56

    Sort by:

    • on June 08, 2003

      revising this review to say that it has been requested every day since i made the first batch. not only did my daughters love them, but my coworkers did too. i had given half the pan to my boss for her 89 yr old dad, and she ate half of them on her way home. her daughter ate a bunch more. i think her dad got 1. i'll be making these often. going to try the next batch with some chocolate chips

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2011

      These are great. And not too hard to make. But Grape Nuts are a little expensive. Maybe raisins and more oats would suffice?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2010

      So the first thing that made me happy was everything was already in my pantry. I didn't have the full 4 cups for cereal so I used lots of Cheerios to cover it. I also had a little handful of chocolate chips when the mixture was still warm which just made it that much better(= The next best thing about this recipe was I was able to make it all in a glass measuring cup and I just measured the peanut butter, corn syrup and sugar and popped it in the microwave for like 45-60 seconds. Overall, fantastic recipe and I will be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      These make very tasty and quite filling bars. I made the recipe as written except I also added a handful of wheat germ to the mixture. They are not too sweet and it makes me feel good to know that I'm eating something that is so healthy. Next time I think I will try using brown sugar and maybe some honey to see how they taste. Maybe some extra cranberries too because I LOVE cranberries! *Update* I just wanted to say that I'm addicted to these things!! I have made them 3 times in 2 weeks. I have started using 1 cup of corn syrup and 1/2 cup of honey, and brown sugar instead of white. I also use 3 cups of Grape-Nuts cereal and 2 cups of oats. They are sooo good! They make the perfect breakfast bar and snack.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2003

      I couldn't remember the exact name for these, so I spent over an hour looking for this recipe so I could say how much I liked it! Really, I think the amount of sugar isn't that much when you do consider the other healthful ingredients. I used natural PB, so that didn't add sugar, and it was just sweet enough (and I like sweet!). DH doesn't get excited about healthy things, so when I asked him what he thought, he said, "Well, they were kind of grainy (?), but I ate a bunch of 'em." His face was quite guilty! :) Anyway, for satisfactory taste PLUS healthful ingredients my family needs, this gets 5 stars! By the way, those grape nuts had sat on my shelf quite a long time; they enjoyed being put to good use! I think I'll actually buy grape nuts again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      Delicious! We chose an almond/cherry theme, substituting almond butter for the peanut butter and dried cherries for the cranberries. We used brown sugar instead of white, and 1 cup honey plus 1/2 cup corn syrup instead of all corn syrup. We also included 1/4 cup of ground flax seeds. After adding just a spash of almond extract and a dash of cinnamon, we thought these were better than anything we've had from the store!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2005

      This is fantastic. We are watching our sugar intake and I have adapted the recipe at bit. I don't add any sugar, and only use one cup of the corn surup and one cup of peanut butter. They hold together just fine and make for a much healthier bar. I also use All Bran Buds instead of the Grape nuts, due to availability issues.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2011

      these taste like granola bars. i think if i make them again i'll do one less cup of grape nuts and add in one cup of rice krispies. I don't really like the flavor of cranberries with peanut butter since i am not a fan of pbj sandwiches. i did do half the batch with mini chocolate chips which was yummy. so i still give it 4 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2011

      Very good. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2010

      These were great! I halved the recipe, used 3/4 cup oats and raisins and left out the almonds as I couldn't find any. Bit sticky so I'll either cut back a bit on the syrup or add more cereal next time. Very yummy, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      I've made this twice now and with rave reviews. The second time I made it, my son had just had his braces put on and couldn't eat any. He begged me to please remember and make this again when he finally got his braces removed. Well, it's been over 18 months since then...he's not had his braces off for more than a few weeks and he has already started badgering me about making these bars. If this is not a compliment, I don't know what is....how many teenage boys remember anything longer than 10 minutes!?!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      These turned out great! Based on other review, I got nervous about all the corn syrup and used some honey with the corn syrup to equal the 1 1/2 cups, but the end result was a little softer/stickier than I expected, so will have to play with that some more. I used a combo of Grape Nuts and All Bran Buds, and for the rolled oats used Quaker hot cereal, which is oats, barley, rye, etc. Next time, I will cut out the sugar, as I think the PB and craisins are sweet enough. Thanks for a quick and easy (and delicious!) recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      Yum, yum, yum!!! I used raisins in place of the cranberries, only 1/2 c. almonds (as that's all I had on hand) and organic sugar. I plan to find a more healthful alternative to the corn syrup for the next time I make this, but used corn syrup this time. Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      I also used brown rice syrup and they turned out beautifully. These bars are fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      I used 1 cup corn syrup and 1/2 cup honey and brown sugar instead of regular (I did add about 2T White sugar) They came out wonderful, everyone liked them. Next time I will mix in Vanilla after boiling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      I used brown rice syrup instead of corn syrup - still delish! Next time I'm going to increase the proportion of oats and almonds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      I'll add my 2 cents worth! These bars are great! I used brown sugar in stead of of white and honey instead of corn syrup. YUM! Definitely cut the pan into 24 bars - I made 16, and they were just a little but much. I mean, I still ate the whole thing and all, but. . . ;) I have been taking them to work for a mid-morning snack, and it's been perfect. I shared with someone at work, and she asked for the recipe. . . so what does that tell you? Thanks, Mirj, for a great recipe! I'll be making these again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      I really thought these were great. I used Better N' Peanut butter instead of peanut butter to cut down on fat, and used 2 cups of fiber one cereal and 2 cups of grape nuts to give these bars even more fiber. These weren't too sweet for me, but I'm going to try to cut down on the corn syrup next time to see if I can cut out some of the calories. Thanks for this convinent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      Wow! These are great! I also tweaked it a bit. I used 1 c light corn syrup (didn't read the recipe right), I used 1/4 c brown sugar, but I could have halved that and it would have still been sweet enough. I used chunky peanut butter, dried mixed berries and sliced almonds. I sprinkled some mini chocolate chips on top right before I put them in the fridge to cool. These will be perfect to take to school next week when the semester starts!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      This recipe is amazing. My husband always requests I make a new pan as he eats the last bar out of the old pan! I omit the sugar in the recipe, as I think the peanut butter and dried fruit make the recipe sweet enough. Thank you for such a yummy recipe, Mirj.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 'Get Up & Go' Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (66 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 245.2
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    29%
    Total Fat 7.9 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 158.7 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.6 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 13.6 g
    54%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes