54 Reviews

Ants NO MORE at my house now after trying this remedy! I used it in my bedroom where I had little ants crawling around. Worked like a charm!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CulinaryGourmetQueen August 31, 2009

I mixed up one third of this mixture and placed it in my windowsill where about 10,000 ants were marching in. A day and a half later, there is one ant left alive - and I even have dirty dishes out on my counter. Yay! Kind of creepy when they're all swarming around the stuff, but felt safer than spraying Raid on my kitchen counter. Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. December 20, 2007

After living in this house for 13 years, we got our first little ant infestation. Just a little trail from the windowsill to the garbage area. I found this recipe, read all the reviews, and said Phht, overnight....right. But I have all the ingredients so it'll be free- might as well give it a try until I can run out and get ant poison.<br/><br/>Boom. They were gone in hours. HOURS. I am not joking.<br/><br/>I cut the recipe way down- I used 1 tablespoon sugar, 3 tablespoons water and a scant 1/2 teaspoon of boric acid. It worked great!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmjunko June 04, 2013

I use this recipe to control carpenter ands in my yard. Works amazing! For those having a hard time finding bodice acid, dollar tree carries it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jayde323 February 03, 2012

This stuff is amazing, it absolutely works. My ants do come back but I just keep a jar lid filled with cotton balls and soaked with this killer stuff. You don't need much to get results. I hardly have any ants at all and if I see one or two, I just top off the liquid. This works better then most commercial sprays and traps I have used.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teghian July 06, 2011

Folks this really works i use it at the trailer - old trailer so lots of ants get in but not when this is put around up high away from pets.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
love lake November 17, 2010

Fantastic! This seems to have really worked. I made up two batches and put some outside as well as inside. I tried it two ways: in the caps of jars and in jars themselves (as described by another reviewer). The caps seemed to work best. Although I did not see a lot of ants flockig to the mixture, it seems to have worked because we have been ant free for about a week. We have had such an ant problem for the past month that this recipe has really been helpful. We especially like that we didn't have to use super strong poison to kill the little pests. Thank you for posting! This is a keeper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegSocialWorker September 08, 2007

This is exactly how to deal with ants...its been around for more than forty years...you used to be able to buy "Borax and Honey" at the pharmacy. Borax is seriously toxic to ants, and honey will bring them in for feed...where they will take it back and unintentionally kill off their whole colony. While the environmentalists might not like such a good insect "genocide", those of us that want or need to get rid of the little six legged creatures should be using this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
John DOH November 02, 2013

This doesn't work! I moved into an older home not realizing there is an ant problem in the kitchen, big black ants. I followed the recipe to make this solution. It killed some ants but they are still here. Very frustrated, I will be calling an exterminator.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dthomas011 July 28, 2013

It didn't work on my ants. They were only sort of interested and it didn't seem to slow down the infestation. After a week or so, I just cleaned the stickiness up and gave up.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Granyj March 20, 2013
Get Rid of Ants, Ants, Ants