Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Get Rid of Ants, Ants, Ants Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Get Rid of Ants, Ants, Ants

    Average Rating:

    49 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 49

    Sort by:

    • on August 31, 2009

      If I could give this one hundred stars, I would. If I could meet you in person I'd get on my knees and genuflect. My apartment was swarming with those little teeny, tiny ones, and almost impossible to find out where they were coming from. No matter what i did they found another way. Didn't matter if there was food around or not. If I put down cat food, within minutes it was filled with ants and I had to keep changing where I fed them. i found this recipe when I woke up to find them in my bed and freaked out. I had no cotton balls except for a bit from an aspirin jar, so I used that with paper towels. Worked like a charm. It's the 4th day now, and the total count of ants I've seen today so far is ONE. ONE! When it comes to ants, One is the loveliest number. I've already shared this recipe with others. Thank you so much!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2010

      OMG!!! Thank you soooooo much for this remedy! My daughter moved into her 1st apartment,,,,with my twin grandsons,,,,,and realized that she was INFESTED with ants. She had them everywhere,,,,on the babies toys and all eeekkk. I made this batch up for her,,,told her to fill baby jars w/out the top on and fill it w/ cotton balls,,,and spray a lil on the outside of jar. Within the 2nd day the jar was filled w/ ants,,,,she said it was gross,,,,I can just imagine. I told her to leave it there so they take it back to the nest. By he 3rd day they were gone maybe 1 here and there. I am sooo thankful,,,,I mean hey they're my grandbabies!!! My husband found the boric acid at rite aid for $4.99 for 4ozs,,,and it will last me forever!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      This worked great. I sat it out on a Friday that we were going away and Sunday when we came home we didn't have ants. Great way to get rid of ants as I have a dog and with putting it up on the counter I didn't have to worry about the dog getting into it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      Woo Hoo!! This stuff is awesome!! If you are wondering where to get Boric Acid, try somewhere like CVS, Rite Aid, Walgreens, Wal-Mart. It's right next to the band-aids!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2007

      I have used this for years. I put the saturated cotton balls into baby food jars that have lids with nail holes poked into them, then I spread them all around the OUTSIDE of the house. The lids with holes keeps my chicken and other pets out of them. Just a caution, my friend had ants in here kitchen so she made up a batch and placed it on her counter. YIKES! this attracts the ants because of the sugar and she had ants coming from everywhere to get to it. The ants will pick this up and haul it back to home base :) Since I live in the country and the area I live in is well known for having many varities of ants this is liked by them all red, black or red and black. thank you for posting this recipe! :)shirley(:

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2012

      DO NOT use boric acid around pets, it is a toxic, could be fatal...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2012

      My in-laws own rental properties and have always used boric acid for pest control. They mix dry boric acid with cocoa powder and a tiny bit of sugar to kill roaches that the tenants leave behind. They also sprinkle it on the carpets and let it set for a few days and then vacuum it up to kill fleas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      This stuff is amazing. I made a batch quite a while back when we were being invaded by ants during the rainy/wet season. After they ate it, I didn't see a single ant around for at least 3 weeks! I sorta forgot about this solution till yesterday when I saw a whole bunch of ants marching in a hurry right outside one of our doors. I found boric acid powder in a drug store, it was really cheap as well. I love this stuff. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2012

      This is a Great tip But there is a reason why there is cross and bones pictured on the container of boric acid. Please do not injest or use in jest. It kills remember.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      Ants NO MORE at my house now after trying this remedy! I used it in my bedroom where I had little ants crawling around. Worked like a charm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      I mixed up one third of this mixture and placed it in my windowsill where about 10,000 ants were marching in. A day and a half later, there is one ant left alive - and I even have dirty dishes out on my counter. Yay! Kind of creepy when they're all swarming around the stuff, but felt safer than spraying Raid on my kitchen counter. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2012

      Completely awesome! Those suckers were gone the next morning, and we've only seen one or two floating in the liquid, since.

      I'm passing along advice from another person: if the sugar mixture doesn't work, you may have ants that prefer protein. Just add a touch of peanut butter or bacon grease to the lid, and it should take care of them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2012

      I use this recipe to control carpenter ands in my yard. Works amazing! For those having a hard time finding bodice acid, dollar tree carries it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2011

      This stuff is amazing, it absolutely works. My ants do come back but I just keep a jar lid filled with cotton balls and soaked with this killer stuff. You don't need much to get results. I hardly have any ants at all and if I see one or two, I just top off the liquid. This works better then most commercial sprays and traps I have used.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2010

      Folks this really works i use it at the trailer - old trailer so lots of ants get in but not when this is put around up high away from pets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      Fantastic! This seems to have really worked. I made up two batches and put some outside as well as inside. I tried it two ways: in the caps of jars and in jars themselves (as described by another reviewer). The caps seemed to work best. Although I did not see a lot of ants flockig to the mixture, it seems to have worked because we have been ant free for about a week. We have had such an ant problem for the past month that this recipe has really been helpful. We especially like that we didn't have to use super strong poison to kill the little pests. Thank you for posting! This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2013

      This is exactly how to deal with ants...its been around for more than forty years...you used to be able to buy "Borax and Honey" at the pharmacy. Borax is seriously toxic to ants, and honey will bring them in for feed...where they will take it back and unintentionally kill off their whole colony. While the environmentalists might not like such a good insect "genocide", those of us that want or need to get rid of the little six legged creatures should be using this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2013

      This doesn't work! I moved into an older home not realizing there is an ant problem in the kitchen, big black ants. I followed the recipe to make this solution. It killed some ants but they are still here. Very frustrated, I will be calling an exterminator.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2013

      After living in this house for 13 years, we got our first little ant infestation. Just a little trail from the windowsill to the garbage area. I found this recipe, read all the reviews, and said Phht, overnight....right. But I have all the ingredients so it'll be free- might as well give it a try until I can run out and get ant poison.<br/><br/>Boom. They were gone in hours. HOURS. I am not joking.<br/><br/>I cut the recipe way down- I used 1 tablespoon sugar, 3 tablespoons water and a scant 1/2 teaspoon of boric acid. It worked great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2013

      It didn't work on my ants. They were only sort of interested and it didn't seem to slow down the infestation. After a week or so, I just cleaned the stickiness up and gave up.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Get Rid of Ants, Ants, Ants

    Serving Size: 1 (911 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 193.5
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.9 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 49.9 g
    199%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    boric acid

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites