49 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

If I could give this one hundred stars, I would. If I could meet you in person I'd get on my knees and genuflect. My apartment was swarming with those little teeny, tiny ones, and almost impossible to find out where they were coming from. No matter what i did they found another way. Didn't matter if there was food around or not. If I put down cat food, within minutes it was filled with ants and I had to keep changing where I fed them. i found this recipe when I woke up to find them in my bed and freaked out. I had no cotton balls except for a bit from an aspirin jar, so I used that with paper towels. Worked like a charm. It's the 4th day now, and the total count of ants I've seen today so far is ONE. ONE! When it comes to ants, One is the loveliest number. I've already shared this recipe with others. Thank you so much!!!!

32 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmed August 31, 2009

OMG!!! Thank you soooooo much for this remedy! My daughter moved into her 1st apartment,,,,with my twin grandsons,,,,,and realized that she was INFESTED with ants. She had them everywhere,,,,on the babies toys and all eeekkk. I made this batch up for her,,,told her to fill baby jars w/out the top on and fill it w/ cotton balls,,,and spray a lil on the outside of jar. Within the 2nd day the jar was filled w/ ants,,,,she said it was gross,,,,I can just imagine. I told her to leave it there so they take it back to the nest. By he 3rd day they were gone maybe 1 here and there. I am sooo thankful,,,,I mean hey they're my grandbabies!!! My husband found the boric acid at rite aid for $4.99 for 4ozs,,,and it will last me forever!!!

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Guerra June 17, 2010

This worked great. I sat it out on a Friday that we were going away and Sunday when we came home we didn't have ants. Great way to get rid of ants as I have a dog and with putting it up on the counter I didn't have to worry about the dog getting into it.

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol June 30, 2010

Woo Hoo!! This stuff is awesome!! If you are wondering where to get Boric Acid, try somewhere like CVS, Rite Aid, Walgreens, Wal-Mart. It's right next to the band-aids!!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SPrins June 25, 2008

I have used this for years. I put the saturated cotton balls into baby food jars that have lids with nail holes poked into them, then I spread them all around the OUTSIDE of the house. The lids with holes keeps my chicken and other pets out of them. Just a caution, my friend had ants in here kitchen so she made up a batch and placed it on her counter. YIKES! this attracts the ants because of the sugar and she had ants coming from everywhere to get to it. The ants will pick this up and haul it back to home base :) Since I live in the country and the area I live in is well known for having many varities of ants this is liked by them all red, black or red and black. thank you for posting this recipe! :)shirley(:

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
:)Shirl(: January 04, 2007

DO NOT use boric acid around pets, it is a toxic, could be fatal...

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
glo10 May 16, 2012

My in-laws own rental properties and have always used boric acid for pest control. They mix dry boric acid with cocoa powder and a tiny bit of sugar to kill roaches that the tenants leave behind. They also sprinkle it on the carpets and let it set for a few days and then vacuum it up to kill fleas!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zoamberella April 14, 2012

This stuff is amazing. I made a batch quite a while back when we were being invaded by ants during the rainy/wet season. After they ate it, I didn't see a single ant around for at least 3 weeks! I sorta forgot about this solution till yesterday when I saw a whole bunch of ants marching in a hurry right outside one of our doors. I found boric acid powder in a drug store, it was really cheap as well. I love this stuff. Thanks for posting!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxanne J.R. January 11, 2010

This is a Great tip But there is a reason why there is cross and bones pictured on the container of boric acid. Please do not injest or use in jest. It kills remember.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dawni45 July 24, 2012

Ants NO MORE at my house now after trying this remedy! I used it in my bedroom where I had little ants crawling around. Worked like a charm!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CulinaryGourmetQueen August 31, 2009
Get Rid of Ants, Ants, Ants