Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / German-Style Spinach (Or Chard) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German-Style Spinach (Or Chard)

    Average Rating:

    7 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-7 of 7

    Sort by:

    • on January 22, 2013

      I really enjoyed this spinach! I made it a little differently, but I think it still turned out the same...I sauteed the bacon in a sauce pan and when it was almost done I added the garlic and onions and cooked through. I then drained the grease and added 1/2 the butter to have the flavor and then followed the recipe from there. I didn't have feta so topped with a little parmesan cheese and it was the right amount of saltiness. Was a nice addition to the chicken and pasta I was having. Made for AUS/NZ Recipe Swap #72.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2011

      Jane this is awesome with swiss chard!!! Mike noticed the something different in the nutmeg but liked it. I was unsure about that but I will use this recipe for the remainder of the chard growing. I LOVE!!! the bacon addition. I used turkey bacon as opposed to "real" bacon and it was great. I KNOW the real stuff will be better and plan to nuys some to make again his weekend. I have not but will make this with spinach as well. Mike's mom used to do this with endive. I loved it but never knew how to do it before she passed. I bet this is how and will give it a shot. THANK YOU!!!! Made for AUS/NZ Aug 2011

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      Aussie Swap 34: Comfort food at it's best! Wonderful combination of flavors!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      Quite tasty! I prepared with fresh red swiss chard and drizzled some fresh lemon juice over the finished dish. The nutmeg and lemon really highlighted the flavors of the dish. Next time, I'll make sure I have some feta cheese on hand as well!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      Very good spinach! I scaled the recipe down to half, to feed three of us and there was still quite a bit left over, but that's ok, we will eat this at lunch. Excellent flavours, very rich. We enjoyed this recipe, thanks for posting! Made for Aussie Swap :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      The recipe was reduced to 2 servings and the frozen spinach was used. The onions and crumbled bacon are good and nutmeg really sends it over the top. As suggested in the intro, I did sprinkle some crumbled Feta over each serving. Something I will be making again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      Excellent recipe! I used fresh chard without the stems - I used those in another recipe that I will be posting soon. I used precooked bacon that I crisped up in the microwave. We all loved this! I would use a bit less nutmeg, tho. Made for Aussie Swap 8/08. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German-Style Spinach (Or Chard)

    Serving Size: 1 (100 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 110.4
     
    Calories from Fat 72
    65%
    Total Fat 8.0 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 15.6 mg
    5%
    Sodium 365.4 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    6%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes