10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We loved these green beans. They had wonderful flavor. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn November 24, 2012

On 4/1/12 I was looking for a way to use frozen green beans,and came across this recipe and decided to try it.I boiled the beans until almost fork tender. While the beans were cooking, I fried the bacon and cooked it until it was done but not crispy.Then I cooked the onion in the bacon " drippings " until it was just softened.The beans were drained and added to the skillet that the onions had been cooked in.Then the beans were topped with crumbled bacon,then everything was tossed well to coat the beans with the wonderful "drippings". I served these with Yum Yum Crockpot Pork Tenderloin and Real Homemade Mashed Potatoes. Thank you for posting a very good recipe that will be made again. " Keep Smiling :) "

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � April 02, 2012

Fantastic! Thank you : )

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinnyP July 26, 2009

This is very similar to a recipe I have posted but without the vinegar, so this was a nice change of pace!!! I used fresh green beans, but used only about 3/4-1 lb, so I cut the bacon back to 4 strips. I am the opposite of Kiwi, in that I don't like them crisp, so I probably cooked mine about 25 minutes. Thanks Lainey for a great green bean recipe. Made for Zaar Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 September 05, 2008

These were good and easy to make. I followed the recipe as written other then I used frozen onions. These had a nice flavor to them. Will be making again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol August 13, 2008

Really nice! I used to live near the German border and often went to dinner in a small pub, that served great comfort food. This was excactly the way they tasted there... YUM! Made for ZWT4 for TTT

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vanja77 June 05, 2008

Very tasty ! Upon reading the reviews for this, and since we are trying to eat healthier every day, I also cut the bacon fat down to the bare minimum. The recipe didn't suffer for it at all, the taste of the beans was predonimant ( I only boil mine for 4 minutes though, we like ours rather crisp)and the bacon and onion accompanied them well. Please see my Rating System: 4 lovely stars for a tasty and easy way to dress up beans. Made for Zaar World Tour 2008. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch June 03, 2008

We really liked these beans although they were a tad greasy. The combination of flavors was good, but the taste of the bacon grease was predominant. Next time I would do as SusieD suggests and drain off the grease before frying the onions. I used sweet Vidalia onions and I loved the sweet flavor they lent to the beans. Thanks Lainey! Zaar World Tour 4

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper June 03, 2008

These were tasty, but I ended up making a few adaptations. I drained off about half of the bacon grease before sauteing the onion. I also added a teaspoon of sugar as they needed something. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D June 03, 2008

I really liked this, but for me I needed something else in it so I added about 2 tbsp of cider vinegar to it. That helped cut the fat really well and went well with the beet salad I had with it (Roasted Beet Salad With Horseradish Cream Dressing).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MC Baker May 30, 2008
German-Style Green Beans