15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

this was a wonderful pick me up in the afternoon. i always have cold coffee in the fridge, the ice cream and whipped cream made this a rich sweet snack. chocolate shavings gave it a mocha taste. very enjoyable

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia May 31, 2003

I served this beautiful drink to a group of ladies I really wanted to impress. And was everyone amazed! There were several non-coffee drinkers in the group, but after seeing how pretty the drink was, they changed their mind. I did make one change: I used hazelnut flavored coffee with a hazelnut cookie. This is a wonderful end to a great meal too. It makes your guests feel special.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clueless in the Kitchen November 03, 2004

This is a great way to enjoy coffee, thank you for reminding me at this recipe. Very refreshing and easy to make, I just prepared it for some friends. It looked very nice and everybody was happy. :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clara12 July 06, 2003

This is PERFECT!! I studied in Germany and travelled there and in Austria and Switzerland. This is one of the special things I brought back and I truly love it. Your recipe is the same as that of my German mother-in-law, except that we sweeten the coffee while it is hot, then let it cool before putting the Eiskaffee together. I have made this for many friends and every single one has loved it as I do. I think Food.com should allow an exclusive 6 stars for this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Omi Julie July 01, 2011

My neighbor's children went to Dunkin Donuts and bought this iced coffee shake with whipped cream on top. When my 7-year-old saw that, he immediately wanted what they had, then I thought of trying this recipe. It is a yummy, creamy blend of flavors. Luckily, I had Dallmayr coffee, and all of the ingredients at hand to make Eiskaffee. Thank you for sharing this classic iced coffee recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blue Peacock April 27, 2009

Ooooh, this is soo good! And so easy! It's a bit like a coffee milkshake, only better! I forgot to chill the coffee and just used some coffee left after guests had left. So it wasn't very "eis", but it sure hit the spot after a long day of cooking and cleaning and entertaining! Thank you so much for posting, HeatherFeather! Made for Comfort Cafe. UPDATE: I've since made this again, this time using cold coffee as called for, and it was even better. I also made on for DH using chocolate ice cream instead of vanilla, and he loved it! Thanks again, HeatherFeather!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halcyon Eve January 05, 2009

AMAZING!!!!!!! I love this drink. I have been searching for a coffee drink for a while and havent found anything I like. But this is fantastic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food Frenzy September 10, 2008

My grandmother in Switzerland used to make this for us in the summmer. She even had those special tall ice-cream spoons, that at the same time were straws so that you could drink the coffee without having to finish off first all the whipped cream on the top. I cannot thank you enough for bringing up those sweet memories of my childhood.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenny from the blocks February 21, 2008

My aunt who is from Holland used to make this for me all the time when I was little. This is just how I remembered it tasting. thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mizzy June 18, 2006

When I was 15 I went to Germany and stayed with a family there and was served this wonderful drink. I was hooked but never knew exactly the measurements or procedure, so ended up coming home and making my own version which wasn't as good as the real thing. This is a very authentic rendition of this classic German treat. I agree with you that the quality of the ingredients makes the difference in how well this turns out. However, it also doesn't cost an arm and a leg to make it, even with good ingredients. Thank you for sharing this recipe. This is the real thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tiomarrano May 20, 2006
German Style Eiskaffee (Iced Coffee Drink)