Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / German Style Eiskaffee (Iced Coffee Drink) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Style Eiskaffee (Iced Coffee Drink)

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on May 31, 2003

      this was a wonderful pick me up in the afternoon. i always have cold coffee in the fridge, the ice cream and whipped cream made this a rich sweet snack. chocolate shavings gave it a mocha taste. very enjoyable

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2004

      I served this beautiful drink to a group of ladies I really wanted to impress. And was everyone amazed! There were several non-coffee drinkers in the group, but after seeing how pretty the drink was, they changed their mind. I did make one change: I used hazelnut flavored coffee with a hazelnut cookie. This is a wonderful end to a great meal too. It makes your guests feel special.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2003

      This is a great way to enjoy coffee, thank you for reminding me at this recipe. Very refreshing and easy to make, I just prepared it for some friends. It looked very nice and everybody was happy. :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2011

      This is PERFECT!! I studied in Germany and travelled there and in Austria and Switzerland. This is one of the special things I brought back and I truly love it. Your recipe is the same as that of my German mother-in-law, except that we sweeten the coffee while it is hot, then let it cool before putting the Eiskaffee together. I have made this for many friends and every single one has loved it as I do. I think Food.com should allow an exclusive 6 stars for this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      My neighbor's children went to Dunkin Donuts and bought this iced coffee shake with whipped cream on top. When my 7-year-old saw that, he immediately wanted what they had, then I thought of trying this recipe. It is a yummy, creamy blend of flavors. Luckily, I had Dallmayr coffee, and all of the ingredients at hand to make Eiskaffee. Thank you for sharing this classic iced coffee recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      Ooooh, this is soo good! And so easy! It's a bit like a coffee milkshake, only better! I forgot to chill the coffee and just used some coffee left after guests had left. So it wasn't very "eis", but it sure hit the spot after a long day of cooking and cleaning and entertaining! Thank you so much for posting, HeatherFeather! Made for Comfort Cafe. UPDATE: I've since made this again, this time using cold coffee as called for, and it was even better. I also made on for DH using chocolate ice cream instead of vanilla, and he loved it! Thanks again, HeatherFeather!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      AMAZING!!!!!!! I love this drink. I have been searching for a coffee drink for a while and havent found anything I like. But this is fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

      My grandmother in Switzerland used to make this for us in the summmer. She even had those special tall ice-cream spoons, that at the same time were straws so that you could drink the coffee without having to finish off first all the whipped cream on the top. I cannot thank you enough for bringing up those sweet memories of my childhood.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2006

      My aunt who is from Holland used to make this for me all the time when I was little. This is just how I remembered it tasting. thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2006

      When I was 15 I went to Germany and stayed with a family there and was served this wonderful drink. I was hooked but never knew exactly the measurements or procedure, so ended up coming home and making my own version which wasn't as good as the real thing. This is a very authentic rendition of this classic German treat. I agree with you that the quality of the ingredients makes the difference in how well this turns out. However, it also doesn't cost an arm and a leg to make it, even with good ingredients. Thank you for sharing this recipe. This is the real thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2005

      I went to a BBQ tonight at a friend's house, and one of the things I brought were the supplies for this recipe. It was a huge hit! I asked around who wanted some beforehand, and it was just my best friend and I. Her DH declined as he declared he didn't drink coffee. After I made one for my friend and I and went to the table, he got this puppy-dog look on his face and asked where his was. I said, "But I thought you didn't drink coffee?" He hemmed and hawed...and I offered to go make him one. "Okay!", he says. LOL Then their son and some of his friends stopped by as I was coming out with the DH's. One of the gal's eyes got big and she said, "That looks absolutely awesome!". So I wound up making one for her and one for my friend's son. :D I wound up using more ice-cream and a little less coffee than the recipe actually called for. I put 2-3 medium scoops of french vanilla ice-cream in each glass, so it was about 2/3 full of ice-cream, and then drizzled the semi-lukewarm (I was in a hurry...didn't want to wait!) coffee over the top to about the 3/4+ point. I squirted the canned whipped cream into a mound, then sprinkled some grated chocolate over the top. I garnished it with a Dove brand "Milk Chocolate Moment" cookie, which was also a big hit, and a straw. I found that I personally preferred to carefully swirl it all together and get the ice-cream to melt/mix in with the coffee. It had a creamy, luscious texture. Again, everybody loved this! If you are waffling over whether or not you should go to the trouble to make this...don't! Whether you make it for yourself or a crowd...go for it! But don't be surprised if you impress the crowd! :D Thanks for a great recipe, HeatherFeather...this is going in my own permanent cookbook! :D Edited to add: The night after I went to the aforementioned BBQ, we went to my DH's boss's potluck birthday party (an annual event). I took the ingredients to make this later in the evening. You should have heard the gasps, oooooo's and ahhhhh's when I started making them and handing them out. I literally had people lining up to get one. :D Thanks for a ten star recipe, HeatherFeather!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2005

      The German ice coffee is a delight and I miss it being served in restaurants here.This is a very good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2004

      Wonderful recipie, wonderful idea. I served this for dessert with a plate of more cookies ("Love Letters" from the Asian market.) A delightful ending to dinner al fresco with a beautiful pink and purple sunset.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2004

      This is soo good ! We shared it with neighbors at the playground since summer here in Germany is at its hottest at the moment. Thank you so much for sharing Heather Feather, it was such a hit and we had such a great time. :))

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2004

      Heavenly. Takes me back to Aschaffenburg and evenings spent with friends. Our German hostess would freeze sweetened coffee into cubes to use with this drink. I also like to slip some Kahlua in for special occasions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Style Eiskaffee (Iced Coffee Drink)

    Serving Size: 1 (333 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 216.0
     
    Calories from Fat 125
    58%
    Total Fat 13.9 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 51.8 mg
    17%
    Sodium 96.5 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.3 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 16.4 g
    65%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sweet chocolate

    wafer cookies

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites