Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / German Sausage Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Sausage Chowder

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on July 24, 2002

      Delicious winter tummy warmer! I followed the recipe to a T, but used 1/2 cup Swiss cheese and 1/2 cup cheddar. Served with warm crispy rolls fresh out the oven. Thanks Karen. =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2002

      This is a very satisfying recipe. Try using different cheeses to vary the taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2005

      Sooooo yummy! I used chicken stock in place of the water and didn't have too much time for the prep part, so I bought a bag of the shredded cabbage instead of the head of cabbage. I used the crock pot instead. After putting the stock, sausage, potatoes, onions, salt and pepper into the crock pot, I let it cook on high for about 2 hours. Then I added the cabbage and let it cook down on low. I added the milk and left it for a couple of hours and then thickened it up and added the cheese. I didn't think I would care for the cabbage too much but it really added to the dish. I took this to a friend's house as an addition to our German dinner we planned. It was a hit and everyone wanted the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2014

      We liked this! The only problem is I think I used a little too much chicken boullion. I added a celery stalk, red pepper flakes , 4 garlic cloves, and shredded carrots. I usually don't eat bratwurst. Don't really care for it but hidden in soup, I didn't mind. My daughter thought it was Zuppa Toscana.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2013

      I've had this recipe in my file for a long time; glad to see it already posted here. Had it again tonight as a friend gave us a large cabbage from her father's garden. I lightened it up by using Jennie-O turkey bratwurst, Alpine Lace Swiss cheese, and skim milk. Very good and filling. It would be even better with whole milk, but the turkey bratwurst was tasty in it. Also, since there usually is 19oz in a pack of bratwurst, I just use the full 5 links. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      GREAT recipe. It was a hit! I can no longer find the "white pre-cooked bratwurst" and used Emeril's Smoked Chicken Sausage. Yum. Thanks for a delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      This is a hearty, yummy, tummy-filling meal that is perfect for a night like tonight. The temperature is about 30, but there's a 40mph wind blowing strong. The weatherman says the snow is on the way! I stumbled on this recipe 20 years ago and it has become a regular in my menu rotation. It is truly perfect with bratwurst and that is how I used to always make it. In a pinch I used smoked sausage, and that was very yummy, also. The cabbage makes it hearty and filling. thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      OMG this was so good. I am in Wyoming and it was bitterly cold here today. I did use 2 cans of ckn broth in place of the water and a whole head of cabbage that was about 5 inches in diameter. This soup ROCKED!!! Thanks so much for posting it, it is a sure redo here at our house on the prairie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2007

      Laura’s German Sausage Chowder Recipe This very flavorful soup is so good! I served it with hot Garlic Cheese Bread. 6 Servings 1¼ hours 30 min prep 1 lb fully cooked German sausage (I used Knutzen’s jalapeño cheese variety), cut into ½ inch pieces 2 medium potatoes, chopped (I used Yukon golds) 1 medium onion, chopped 1 small head of cabbage, shredded (4 cups) 3 cups milk (I used half n half) 3 teaspoons all-purpose flour (I used corn starch) 1 ½ teaspoons salt (I omitted) 1 dash pepper 2 cups water (I used 1 box chicken broth) 1 cup shredded Swiss cheese (I used 1/3 box Velveeta, about ½ c Parmesan cheese, and a few slices provolone) 1. In a large saucepan combine sausage, potatoes, onion, salt, pepper and water. 2. Bring to boil, reduce heat. 3. Cover and simmer for 20 minutes or until potatoes are almost done. 4. Stir in cabbage. 5. Cook 10 minutes more. 6. Stir in 2 1/2 cups of the milk. 7. Stir remaining 1/2 cup of milk into the flour. 8. Stir flour and milk into soup. 9. Cook and stir until thickened. 10. Stir in cheese until melted. Note: I added about tablespoon crushed garlic. If I had not had the extra spicy sausage, I would have added Tabasco or chili flakes or both. If I had not had the half-n-half I would have used canned milk as I like the rich flavor. Red or white potatoes would have been great, if using Russets, I advise to peel them. You can also use instant mashed potatoes to thicken this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      VERY good recipe. Just found this on a whim not looking for anything in particular and gave it a shot. The kids even had seconds and they're very picky. I did add some garlic but I do that with darn near everything. I also threw in caraway as another reviewer said since I really like caraway. It would have been good even without it though, thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2004

      wow, what an awesome dinner, i used cheddar instead of swiss but other than that i followed it perfectly. it took quite a bit of flour to thicken yet even my worst critics (age 2&4) loved it. will use again!! can't wait for left overs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2004

      A satisfying soup on a cold, rainy night and that's just the kind of night I chose to make this recipe, along with warm, crusty bread. DH ate this for leftovers at lunch today; the soup was much thicker after refrigeration overnight. I browned my bratwurst, stovetop, in a large dutch oven; removed the links and cut them into rounds and returned them to the pot and continued following the recipe using the same pot with drippings. Next time I may try out some cheddar cheese with or instead of the swiss. Thanks, Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2004

      This is very good. Mad it just the way the recipe reads, since this I am very familiar with this soup.I just thought I'd try it on the family and they liked it. I remember, when I was a kid,my grandma used to add caraway to it for a little extra flavor, but I never liked that. Some of the older people did.I liked it like this.Absolutely wonderful! I wish I could give it more stars...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2003

      I knew this would be gold or bust. My husband and I agreed - it was excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Sausage Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (505 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 494.5
     
    Calories from Fat 285
    57%
    Total Fat 31.7 g
    48%
    Saturated Fat 13.6 g
    68%
    Cholesterol 89.5 mg
    29%
    Sodium 1344.0 mg
    56%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.7 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 22.5 g
    45%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes