11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is our new, favorite Rotkohl recipe! I pared the recipe down to 4 servings as I was only serving my husband and myself. This did not compromise the quality of this flavorful dish. Also had to adjust a few ingredients to what I had on hand, such as dry marjoram instead of fresh, bottled minced ginger instead of fresh, cider vinegar instead of red wine vinegar (had just ran out!). Even with these slight changes, we were thrilled with your recipe, BecR. Thank you! Randy and Cathy Myers

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sulla1 February 07, 2010

My DH groaned when he found out I had made red cabbage. His German mother used to make him eat it as a kid and he didn't like it. But he had seconds of this and was disappointed that there weren't leftovers. This was really good and worth the time it took to make. It was tthe perfect partner to Schnitzel. A great mix of sweet and tart. I made it exactly as written, except I did not have an apple. Delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FlyingCook December 17, 2010

This was great! Made it for company who claims not to like red cabbage - she and my husband loved it. Then I realized I left out the brown sugar/maple syrup and it was delish anyway!! Vielen Dank!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linky February 25, 2010

Outstanding! This is one of the best Rotkohl recipes I've tasted.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KatieNana November 12, 2007

This was really outstanding! I made this for Mother's Day 2007, served with Wiener Schnitzel and Warm Potato Salad. I halved the recipe and it made enough for 4-6 generous servings. I did find that the bacon burned a little, even though I cooked it on the lowest heat for an hour and stirred frequently. This didn't effect the flavour though. I think next time, I might add a little more water during the cooking process. After simmering for an hour, there was no excess liquid, so I just stirred in the maple syrup and reheated without bothering with the extra 30 minutes of cooking uncovered. The taste was extraordinary - sweet with a rich flavour of the port. I think next time I will probably not halve the garam masala, but that's the only small change I'd make to this fabulous recipe. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kookaburra May 13, 2007

Excellent recipe. Made it before christmas as the spices really lent itself to this season. My dinner guests all went home with the recipe and we had the leftovers the next day. My 1 year old daughter loved it too because of the sweetness. A lovely recipe which will be used time and time again in our family.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amandagal January 06, 2007

WOW!! Thanks so much BecR for recommending this recipe! I made everything as is using port, brown sugar and all of your optional items. What a tasty dish! I served this with Sauerbraten and garlic mashed potatoes. Mixing the cabbage along with the potatoes and gravy was a taste explosion. My whole family enjoyed this meal. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW October 10, 2005

It's hard to go wrong with flavors like this! Loved by all, even THE PICKY ONE, I cut the recipe in half as I had 1/2 cabbage. Absolutely wonderful. Made for German Tag Contest 5/12.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo May 31, 2012

We really enjoyed this. I followed the recipe to a "T", using brown sugar, an apple and tiny pinch of ground cloves. I may use more Garam Masala next time. I didn't have port or maderia so I used Calvados (apple brandy). I gave it the final taste test and felt it needed a shot more of vinegar to cut the sweetness and added 1/2 t caraway seeds. I'm so glad there are leftovers! YUM! Thanks BecR! It's keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour November 06, 2011

We got together with friends for a German dinner and I didn't think I'd find a Rotkohl recipe that everyone would like. The other reviews were so good, that I gave this one a try. It was a resounding success! Everyone, including the pickiest amongst us enjoyed this recipe. I used powdered ginger and marjoram instead of fresh and used the maple syrup instead of brown sugar. The combination turned out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NoelleMcD May 22, 2011
German Rotkohl - Spiced Red Cabbage With Apples and Wine