Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / German Quark Crumb Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Quark Crumb Bars

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on November 04, 2010

      I thought I had already reviewed this! My German boyfriend is constantly asking me to make these! Easier than making a whole cheesecake and it tastes delicious. I always leave out the dried fruit, but I do add about a tablespoon of lemon juice to the filling. Last time I made only half of the recipe and it was perfect for a 9 inch pie plate.( I found with a whole batch it was even too much for a 9 x 13 pan and I ended up having to throw some away.) The best part is my hard to please German family- in- law loves it. : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2011

      I went a bit autumnal with these, snazzing them up with a layer of pumpkin pie filling! And, preserving the ratios, I made the "crumb topping" out of a kind of graham cracker (digestive biscuit), butter and (a little less) brown sugar. AND, because of the 3 comments about excess amounts of topping, I increased the Quark (and sugar) by half (I forgot to incr. the egg, but it still turned out). Even though I took some liberties with the recipe, our family thinks we are still qualified to give these bars a 5-star!!! They were YUM.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      These went over really well at work -- I dropped them off on the community tech table, and they disappeared pretty darn quick! There was a lot of crust in comparison to the quark filling, as someone already pointed out, but everyone seemed to like the shortbreadiness (?!? - lol) of the crust part, so no complaints there. I didn't have any dried cherries that were just that, but I had a mixture with dried blueberries, raspberries and cherries together, so that's what I used for the fruit. Oh, and I had a little bit of some frosting left over from another recipe, so I melted it and used it as a drizzle over the top, just so I didn't have to throw away the last couple spoonfuls of frosting,lol. This was a good choice for my first foray into using quark. Very nice bars, thanks for posting! :) Made for The Queens of Quisine for ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      Made as written for ZWT6 & Oma's Kitchen challenge, these bars are cheesecake heaven! I used raisins I had on-hand, but they were very lrg & dry. So I plumped them in water, used the smaller ones & removed any moisture by pressing them w/paper towels. My magic bullet made quick work of the quark mixture & I folded in the raisins. The crumb topping is also easy to make, but I did feel there was too much of it for the amt of filling. Reducing it by 1/4 would be ideal IMO, except for the egg & I doubt that would matter much. This would also improve the nutritional data. DH was impossibly impatient & made me cut them b4 fully-cooled & properly set after baking - an error I will not repeat. They are company-worthy & will freeze well per to my reserach, but I will leave the fruit out if doing that. We loved these yummy bars, Sarah. Thx for posting the recipe for us. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      Yum, these were delicious! They are very similar to something my grandmother (from Germany) makes so I was glad to find this recipe. I didn't use the dried cherries and I forgot to bake the base first but it worked out fine. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      I made this as directed with my nephew who will be serving it at 'International Night' at his school tomorrow. We used Sun-Maid fruit bits for the fruit, and otherwise made as directed. This treat has a nice creamy center and a tasty crumbly topping. Next time I will add a bit of lemon zest or juice into the topping for some zing. Thanks for sharing this very yummy treat. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      YUMMY, YUMMY, YUMMY! These bars were simply delish! They are like a cheesecake only way faster to prepare. :) And with this gorgeous crumb topping they really hit the spot! Great for company also. I didn't need to change a thing. They worked out perfectly. I made half the recipe and got six big bars from it. Thanks so much for sharing this winner, Mom2Rose! Made for Potluck Tag February 09.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      these couldn't be easier to make and are simply irresistable! my kids just raved and i'm looking forward to sharing. thank you! i did not have raisins but used a combo of dried raspberries and dried cranberries. it may be difficult to find quark as not every market carries this product but......this is worth the effort.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Quark Crumb Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (1125 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 4741.7
     
    Calories from Fat 1781
    37%
    Total Fat 197.9 g
    304%
    Saturated Fat 120.4 g
    602%
    Cholesterol 860.0 mg
    286%
    Sodium 2357.1 mg
    98%
    Total Carbohydrate 685.7 g
    228%
    Dietary Fiber 11.8 g
    47%
    Sugars 352.0 g
    1408%
    Protein 59.6 g
    119%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Quark

    dried cherries

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites