Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / German Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on September 11, 2010

      Super yummy! Made using heaping spoon of paprika and would not change a thing. A wonderful potato dish for breakfast or dinner. Have always loved potato and onions together but the addition of paprika is just outstanding. Will make again. Thanks so much for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      WOWZA!!!! Delicious! These will please the most pickiest of eaters. Mine came out crispy and flavorful and we were eating them by the handfuls before we even sat down to dinner. Thanks lazyme! Made for ZWT 6 by a fellow Unruly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      Very nice recipe. Potatoes and onions have been a favorite of mine since childhood but the addition of paprika is new to me. It adds a great smoky flavor. I cooked these spuds and onions in my cast iron skillet and then popped it directly in the oven to finish roasting while I prepared the rest of dinner. Thanks for the new variation of a great classic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      DH and I served these delicious potatoes as a side to Dark Beer-Marinated BBQ Chicken (Biermarinierten Huhn). DH did the cooking and said the dish was not difficult to prepare despite the number of steps. I really enjoyed all of the onions in this dish. I also admit I put ketchup on mine and really loved them that way too! Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      We really enjoyed these potatoes. The paprika gave a nice sweet taste to them. Everyone liked these alot. This is a keeper. Made for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      Ohh Vicki, these were so good. My husband loved these. Yes, the recipe ingredients seem very minimal, but it's the technique baby that makes this dish. You first fry potatoes, then you saute onions, then you saute potatoes again with onions and end with baking. Wow!! So wonderful. I will certainly be making this often. I have a variety of paprika and used closer to 1 tsp instead of 1/2. Also chopped 1/4 green pepper for color and scattered that along with bacon bits before being baked. I think those were great additions to this dish. Thank you Vicki for posting this recipe - my husband loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      I must admit I was nearly discouraged from doing this due to the large number of steps involved but I figured out a way to cheat. I boiled my potatoes and then put them in the oven to crisp with some olive oil & butter addiing the cooked paprika/onion mixture to them. The flavour wasn't as intense as I would have liked so i would actually fry up the potatoes with the onion parika before baking next time. Nice recipe, thanks for posting! Made for ZWT 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      These were awesome! I halved the recipe and to make it easier I cooked the potatoes first in a cast iron skillet, then used the same skillet for steps 9-10, then just used that same skillet to put the onions/potatoes in the oven. One dish! I also didn't follow directions accidentally and sliced vs. dice the onions and would do this again to make eating easier. The paprika and onion flavors really make these potatoes special. For ZWT IV.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (379 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 317.2
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    17%
    Total Fat 6.1 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 61.5 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.7 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 7.8 g
    31%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 6.9 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes