Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / German Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on December 06, 2008

      Wow, this is a great soup! We had a hambone from a potluck at work, and this made a great broth and great soup. I thought the cabbage would have been too much since it says a whole head, but it's so great! We used a little Louisiana hot sauce with it. Great on a cold night!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2013

      This is one of the best soups I've had in a long time. I love cabbage but my family doesn't, so I'm always looking for cabbage recipes that they might like. This one was a hit! I only used half a head of cabbage and I think a whole head would have been too much. I didn't need to add more water as some did, but I did add some ham base because evidently my ham bone wasn't very flavorful. This is now one of my favorites. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2010

      Good Soup! If I don't have a ham bone, I use Sysco Ham base. This is a very strong base so add sparingly. I have used one ham steak, cut in small pieces and added the last ten minutes.
      That cuts over an hour out of cooking time. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      This was a delicious soup. I too was looking for an alternative to split pea or bean soup to use a ham bone and this recipe worked beautifully. To cut down on the fat without sacrificing the flavor, I boiled down the soup bone, then refridgerated overnight, skimmed the fat off the broth the next morning and proceeded with the rest of the recipe. Thank you Teresa for shring the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      Wow this was fantastic soup! I was looking for an alternative recipe to split pea soup that used a ham bone... this fit the bill and I had everything on hand! Cooked the bone for about 1 1/2 hours in 4 quarts of water (Three quarts didn't cover the bone) early in the day. About an hour before dinner added the rest (only used half a head of cabbage as one of the other reviewer suggested) and simmered for about 45 minutes. Even our picky 6 year old gobbled it up (had to tell her it was chicken though...) Made quite a bit... I would say it is more like 8-10 servings. Thanks for posting! DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      This soup is awesome - the perfect way to use a ham bone! It was even better the second day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      I made this for my family tonight for dinner and I didn't have any celery but, it still was very good and they still ate it. Plus all I had was a precooked ham so I only boiled it in the pot of water for about 30 mins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      Great soup. The recipe makes a tonne of soup. I don't think that I would change anything at all in it besides halfing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2006

      Very good! This makes a lot of soup and could probably feed 8 to 10. I make a similar soup using wax beans instead of cabbage; which was a nice change. I had a very large ham bone with lots of meat on it. I ended up using 4 qts of water, 6 potatoes, omitted the carrots and added a splash or two of apple cider vinegar upon serving. Next time, I will let the ham bone cook in the water longer to add a little more flavor to the stock.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2002

      my family loved it..it takes a while to make but sure is worth the effort..quite yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (680 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 226.7
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    86%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 87.3 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.7 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 9.9 g
    39%
    Sugars 9.2 g
    37%
    Protein 6.9 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham bone

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites