Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / German Potato Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Potato Salad

    Average Rating:

    58 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-58 of 58

    Sort by:

    • on October 16, 2007

      german class

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      This was my first German Potato Salad experience and we all liked it very much. Next time I will cut the sugar in half, use pancetta or prosciutto instead of bacon and add chives at the end. Fantastic recipe, just a little sweet for me. Thank you very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      Excellent was a big hit w/family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

      My first foray into German Potato Salad was quite successful thanks to your great recipe! Nice tangy flavor and so simple. Had this with ribs for my sons b-day and everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2007

      We liked this. I used pancetta in place of the bacon, and cut the sugar back to 2 tablespoons. In the future, I may cut back on the vinegar just a touch, but overall we really liked the potatoes. My husband used to live in Germany and he said these reminded him of his years there! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      We liked this recipe, but found it a bit to sweet, so next time I will cut back on the amount of sugar. Thank you NurseDi for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2007

      Kostlich!!! I made this for dinner and it was wonderful... Even my picky husband loved it! I used diced low fat kielbasa sausage instead of the bacon, and added a tablespoon of oil to make the sause. Everything else I did as the recipe stated. Danke!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2007

      Mmm, this is awesome! My first time making homemade GPS, I chose this recipe because it included adding flour- which made a more clingy sauce-like coating. I am a vegetarian, so I omitted the bacon and used 2 Tbsp of Smart Balance in place of the grease. I also had to use balsamic vinegar because I didn't have any cider vinegar. The result was darker but still fabulous! I did everything else as directed. Next time, I might not cook the onions as soft as I did, because I prefer some crunch and raw onion flavor. But I will be making this again. It's tangy yet sweet, just the right ratios of everything. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2007

      Yummy yummy! I usually hate potato salad as I don't like mayo, but this was wonderful! I've made it three times now and love the sweet and sour bacon taste. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2006

      I made this for a German fest potluck at work. I got rave reviews. One lady told me it was the best German Potato salad she had in years! In fact, she asked me three times for the recipe. Will defeinitely make this many times!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2006

      Thanks so much for the great recipe. We were getting a little tired of the "mayo based" potato salad. My DH said it tasted as he remembered. I will be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2006

      Very good recipe. Thanks aheaping spoonful!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2006

      Yummy recipe and very easy. Served warm w/baked ham. Used yukon gold potatoes and did not overcook so they stayed firm. Pre-cooked bacon and did not have drippings but olive oil worked just fine. Will keep making!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2006

      This was a very good recipe -- my only problem with it was that it wasn't sweet enough for my tastes. I ended up using about 1 cup of sugar rather than the 1/4 c. called for and then it tasted quite a bit like I remember my mother making it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2004

      This recipe was delicious. We were in Germany this year and loved the potatoes. This recipe is very similar to those we ate! This recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2003

      This potato salad brought back some old memories for me. I haven't had this since I was a kid. I was in heaven tonight while I was eating it.....IT WAS JUST DELICIOUS. It was perfect, just the way I remembered it tasting. Thanks NurseDi

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2003

      This recipe is slightly vingary. I think a little less would improve it. I also add sliced hard boiled eggs (2-3),fresh chopped parsley for added flavor. My grandmother also did this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2002

      This made a wonderful potato salad. The sauce was sweet and tangy. A very hearty flavor and we all loved the baconiness I served this with grilled smoked sausage and coleslaw. My entire family gave it a thumbs up. Perfect for the Indian Summer we are having. Thanks Nurse Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Potato Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (200 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 201.2
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    14%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 4.5 mg
    1%
    Sodium 455.9 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.6 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 10.4 g
    41%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites