58 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fantastic and authentic! I have been living in Germany for two years and love the salad I can buy from the deli, supermarkets, etc. Now however I can just make it at home. My kids love it too. My husband isn't as fussy on the sour taste of it, but he admits it tastes just like the Germans make it. The only chg I made was that I halved the sugar but at least doubled the salt. Perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheff Steff September 25, 2010

This potato salad was awesome! Followed the recipe as written. My family practically licked their plates. Didn't care for it cold, but what little was left warmed up nicely the next day. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jerseytocali July 06, 2010

First time I've ever tried making german potato salad and I have to say it was wonderful. Loved the simplicity and appreciated the "no mayo" kind of potato salad. My husband is 100% german and gave it a thumbs up. Just be careful not to add too much vinegar...I added a tad bit more sugar. Thanks..this will be a keeper for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Cameo May 03, 2010

Was easy and good. I cut back on the water as other reviewers suggested and I increased the salt and pepper to give it more zip.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sauce Lover March 17, 2010

WOW! I made this last night as a side dish for brats. It was fantastic! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wineaux March 12, 2010

We loved this salad. I had some leftover baked potatoes and used this recipe for them. I am so glad I did. This is so yummy. The salad turned out perfect. i love the bacon and vinegar flavor. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour February 12, 2010

This was good, but a little bland and soupy. I will make this again, but I'll add more vinegar and sugar, and less water. I also added extra salt and pepper trying to liven it up a little!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeannaLW September 13, 2009

I had two cans of sliced potatoes to use up and this recipe was perfect. The family loved it. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TMoney September 07, 2009

Very good! Thanks for posting! I admit, I did use a bit more bacon than what was called for, but other than that a very easy and tasty recipe. I thought the amount of vinegar was just right.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaurelGon August 14, 2009
German Potato Salad