58 Reviews

This is by far the best German potato salad ever!! It's simple, fairly quick, and delicious!! Every year we through an Oktoberfest for about 100 people. I grab a new recipe each year. Looks like I've finally found the one I wanted.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justenuff October 29, 2012

Loved it. This is the best one on the site. Really.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
953872 August 18, 2012

This salad is what my great-grandma used to make. The only difference is that my grandma included celery. I have made this twice so far and added the chopped celery which I sauteed with the onions. As others have mentioned I plan to reduce the amount of water next time. I will make this again and again it's delicious and one of my favorites!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luv2Garden November 01, 2011

Very similar to how I was introduced to it. Only differences are that we use at least double the bacon, and instead of cooking the onions, we top it with sliced green onions after it is completely cooked so that the onions are nice and fresh.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Your Sangoma March 17, 2006

I was very disappointed in this recipe. In my opinion, this is a very American style version of true German potato salad. My husband and I live in Germany and love the local cuisine, but never has any kartoffelsalat around here tasted like this. For me it wasn't even close enough to tweak. I will have to research recipes more locally for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LindsayF2005 June 12, 2013

Excellent recipe. I made it with veggie bacon since we are vegetarians. Mine turned out a little too watery, because I tried to make 2/3 the recipe and didn't get the liquid measurements exactly right. I love the fact that it's not overly caloric because there's no oil. I cut back a bit on the sugar and used half regular and half Splenda. My BF who is of German and Hungarian extraction loved it. I will make it for him again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend July 25, 2011

I made this for my grandson's christening and it really went over well. I doubled the recipe and after reading the reviews I decided to decrease the water. I kept everything else the same. I will certainly be making this again. It was a nice change from scalloped potatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fluffy January 11, 2011

Great recipe! Probably the best German potato salad I've ever had, and I've been to Germany and some fine German restaurants in the U.S.

So good that I'm planning to make it again and take it to an upcoming party. I raved about the recipe to the hostess, but mentioned that German potato salad would not go well with other dishes, such as Indian. I offered to bring another side dish if it would fit into their menu better. As it turns out, the hostess is familiar with German potato salad, loves it, and said they would build the rest of the menu around it.

I cut the water in half and reduced the sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pamelad December 20, 2010

Love it! I used half the sugar recommended, and it was perfect for my preference. I really enjoyed the tangy, vinegar flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amylsimpson October 06, 2010
German Potato Salad