Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / German Potato Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Potato Salad

    Average Rating:

    58 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 58

    Sort by:

    • on September 25, 2010

      Fantastic and authentic! I have been living in Germany for two years and love the salad I can buy from the deli, supermarkets, etc. Now however I can just make it at home. My kids love it too. My husband isn't as fussy on the sour taste of it, but he admits it tastes just like the Germans make it. The only chg I made was that I halved the sugar but at least doubled the salt. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      This potato salad was awesome! Followed the recipe as written. My family practically licked their plates. Didn't care for it cold, but what little was left warmed up nicely the next day. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      First time I've ever tried making german potato salad and I have to say it was wonderful. Loved the simplicity and appreciated the "no mayo" kind of potato salad. My husband is 100% german and gave it a thumbs up. Just be careful not to add too much vinegar...I added a tad bit more sugar. Thanks..this will be a keeper for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      Was easy and good. I cut back on the water as other reviewers suggested and I increased the salt and pepper to give it more zip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      WOW! I made this last night as a side dish for brats. It was fantastic! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      We loved this salad. I had some leftover baked potatoes and used this recipe for them. I am so glad I did. This is so yummy. The salad turned out perfect. i love the bacon and vinegar flavor. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      This was good, but a little bland and soupy. I will make this again, but I'll add more vinegar and sugar, and less water. I also added extra salt and pepper trying to liven it up a little!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      I had two cans of sliced potatoes to use up and this recipe was perfect. The family loved it. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

    • on August 14, 2009

      Very good! Thanks for posting! I admit, I did use a bit more bacon than what was called for, but other than that a very easy and tasty recipe. I thought the amount of vinegar was just right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      This was OK for me. Didn't have a great flavor, something I could easily pass on for another tastier side dish. If i made again, I would try using less vinegar. That taste was a little too strong. My bf also thought it was just OK.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      Awesome recipe. Just the right mix on the vinegar/sugar. I did add a little celery seed. It tasted wonderful and was so easy to prepare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      Just wasn't my cup of tea.. and the family didn't care for it much either. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      AWESOME RECIPE! I made in for my German grandma's 85th birthday. She loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      It was good, but there are so many ingredients, but no steps to them, would rate a 5 but hubbys not crazy about it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      Wonderful potato salad! We decreased the vinegar just a little and we started out by pan frying the potatoes in a bit of olive oil. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

    • on August 22, 2008

      This has become one of my family's favorites. Instead of the bacon I add a pound of kielbasa (sliced and browned) to make this a main-dish meal. My dh has fond childhood memories of the canned German potato salad - finally I have a worthy substitute!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      I used this recipe for my german klasse it was very good and now I make it regularly (once every other month or so) for my family and my mother and sister love it (so do I)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      Love this recipe. I was looking for quick and easy and this is absolutely perfect. Excellent flavor without all the fuss (which generally leads to a flavor change that makes the dish take an unwanted departure from the way it should be anyway). I will be using this recipe for years to come. Just like my grandma's...thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Potato Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (200 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 201.2
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    14%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 4.5 mg
    1%
    Sodium 455.9 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.6 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 10.4 g
    41%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites