58 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a nice, simple German-American style potato salad that tastes just like I expected it to. :) This style of potato salad is nice and vinegar-y, and it reminds me of my childhood and church potlucks (where you could choose from several different family recipes of potato salads all in one sitting). Dill pickle is a nice addition. Although I usually prefer my mom's recipe (cold and with mayo, etc), this recipe is a nice change now and then. Thanks, Friedel!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julesong July 15, 2002

This recipe needs some adjustment if the measurement on the vinegar is correct or maybe additional seasonings to offset the vinegar. It had much too strong vinegar flavor.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DiAnna2 May 23, 2002

I made this at my husband's request. His mom always made GPS and he thought the ingredients looked right. He was very happy. We both enjoyed the bacon-vinegar flavor with just a little sweet taste. We tried it both warm and cold and I prefered it warm, he liked it either way. My son got in on the action and gave it a thumbs up as well. Thanks!!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FruitLoop August 02, 2002

Quick, tasty, and low fat. A good recipe thanks Friedel, and one we are sure to make again.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS September 09, 2002

I never like this type of potato salad until my kids got involved with 4-H. There was this lady that made this so I tryed it and it was great but she would not share her recipe with anyone. But I have to say this is also great I think I have a keeper here. Have also added it to my cookbook.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim1 May 19, 2002

Great recipe. I, too, cut back on the water, though having made the recipe a few times (and different ways) since, I think of the water (and vinegar, sugar, s&p) as suggestions. Taste away and modify as you see fit -- the technique is the key! As far as subs/changes, this recipe works incredibly well for them. I've used herbed vinegars, added garlic, and -- to sneak a little green into my family's dinners -- thrown in sliced zucchini, wilted spinach or (our favorite) green beans. Probably not authentic, but tasty nonetheless. Oh, and if you're trying this recipe out on others, unless they're familiar with "no mayo" potato salads, consider calling the dish simply "German Potatoes," as their expectations about potato salad can unfairly bias their opinions. Case in point, my MIL thought this "dish" was delicious, but her mother (my GMIL?) was concerned that "the mayo or something in that salad is off."

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vinya June 01, 2010

Thanks Di - Finally, I have my MIL recipe for GPS. Which she has refused to write down for me (this is her signature dish). My husband loved it. The taste was right on (we loved the slight vinegar taste). Just a little suggestion from me: Don't overcook the potatoes they should be tender but not mushy. This is in the cookbook

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3GSANDT January 23, 2006

Thanks for this recipe. I made it for three of our German friends and they loved it. Said it was sweeter than they are used to but otherwise very German. We all added more salt, but then it tasted fantastic. So, next time I'll use a little less sugar and more salt. Oh, I used fake bacon too because we are all vegetarian, but it worked extremelly well giving great taste. Thanks again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Enjolinfam November 17, 2007

I have made this twice but the second time reduced the water to one cup and added 5 boiled eggs and then mashed the eggs and potates and it exactly matched my mother's recipe that i loved as a child. It was about all i would eat when i was on chemo therapy when i was a kid. Thanks so much.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lanemallette December 20, 2004

Made this tonight and halfed the recipe. I will always use this one. Tangy, sweet and oh so easy! Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrankyCook July 12, 2003
German Potato Salad