Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / German Potato Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Potato Salad

    Average Rating:

    58 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 58

    Sort by:

    • on July 15, 2002

      This is a nice, simple German-American style potato salad that tastes just like I expected it to. :) This style of potato salad is nice and vinegar-y, and it reminds me of my childhood and church potlucks (where you could choose from several different family recipes of potato salads all in one sitting). Dill pickle is a nice addition. Although I usually prefer my mom's recipe (cold and with mayo, etc), this recipe is a nice change now and then. Thanks, Friedel!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2002

      This recipe needs some adjustment if the measurement on the vinegar is correct or maybe additional seasonings to offset the vinegar. It had much too strong vinegar flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2002

      I made this at my husband's request. His mom always made GPS and he thought the ingredients looked right. He was very happy. We both enjoyed the bacon-vinegar flavor with just a little sweet taste. We tried it both warm and cold and I prefered it warm, he liked it either way. My son got in on the action and gave it a thumbs up as well. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      Quick, tasty, and low fat. A good recipe thanks Friedel, and one we are sure to make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2002

      I never like this type of potato salad until my kids got involved with 4-H. There was this lady that made this so I tryed it and it was great but she would not share her recipe with anyone. But I have to say this is also great I think I have a keeper here. Have also added it to my cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      Great recipe. I, too, cut back on the water, though having made the recipe a few times (and different ways) since, I think of the water (and vinegar, sugar, s&p) as suggestions. Taste away and modify as you see fit -- the technique is the key! As far as subs/changes, this recipe works incredibly well for them. I've used herbed vinegars, added garlic, and -- to sneak a little green into my family's dinners -- thrown in sliced zucchini, wilted spinach or (our favorite) green beans. Probably not authentic, but tasty nonetheless. Oh, and if you're trying this recipe out on others, unless they're familiar with "no mayo" potato salads, consider calling the dish simply "German Potatoes," as their expectations about potato salad can unfairly bias their opinions. Case in point, my MIL thought this "dish" was delicious, but her mother (my GMIL?) was concerned that "the mayo or something in that salad is off."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2006

      Thanks Di - Finally, I have my MIL recipe for GPS. Which she has refused to write down for me (this is her signature dish). My husband loved it. The taste was right on (we loved the slight vinegar taste). Just a little suggestion from me: Don't overcook the potatoes they should be tender but not mushy. This is in the cookbook

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2007

      Thanks for this recipe. I made it for three of our German friends and they loved it. Said it was sweeter than they are used to but otherwise very German. We all added more salt, but then it tasted fantastic. So, next time I'll use a little less sugar and more salt. Oh, I used fake bacon too because we are all vegetarian, but it worked extremelly well giving great taste. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2004

      I have made this twice but the second time reduced the water to one cup and added 5 boiled eggs and then mashed the eggs and potates and it exactly matched my mother's recipe that i loved as a child. It was about all i would eat when i was on chemo therapy when i was a kid. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2003

      Made this tonight and halfed the recipe. I will always use this one. Tangy, sweet and oh so easy! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2012

      This is by far the best German potato salad ever!! It's simple, fairly quick, and delicious!! Every year we through an Oktoberfest for about 100 people. I grab a new recipe each year. Looks like I've finally found the one I wanted.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      Loved it. This is the best one on the site. Really.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2011

      This salad is what my great-grandma used to make. The only difference is that my grandma included celery. I have made this twice so far and added the chopped celery which I sauteed with the onions. As others have mentioned I plan to reduce the amount of water next time. I will make this again and again it's delicious and one of my favorites!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2006

      Very similar to how I was introduced to it. Only differences are that we use at least double the bacon, and instead of cooking the onions, we top it with sliced green onions after it is completely cooked so that the onions are nice and fresh.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2013

      I was very disappointed in this recipe. In my opinion, this is a very American style version of true German potato salad. My husband and I live in Germany and love the local cuisine, but never has any kartoffelsalat around here tasted like this. For me it wasn't even close enough to tweak. I will have to research recipes more locally for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

    • on July 25, 2011

      Excellent recipe. I made it with veggie bacon since we are vegetarians. Mine turned out a little too watery, because I tried to make 2/3 the recipe and didn't get the liquid measurements exactly right. I love the fact that it's not overly caloric because there's no oil. I cut back a bit on the sugar and used half regular and half Splenda. My BF who is of German and Hungarian extraction loved it. I will make it for him again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      I made this for my grandson's christening and it really went over well. I doubled the recipe and after reading the reviews I decided to decrease the water. I kept everything else the same. I will certainly be making this again. It was a nice change from scalloped potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      Great recipe! Probably the best German potato salad I've ever had, and I've been to Germany and some fine German restaurants in the U.S.

      So good that I'm planning to make it again and take it to an upcoming party. I raved about the recipe to the hostess, but mentioned that German potato salad would not go well with other dishes, such as Indian. I offered to bring another side dish if it would fit into their menu better. As it turns out, the hostess is familiar with German potato salad, loves it, and said they would build the rest of the menu around it.

      I cut the water in half and reduced the sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2010

      Love it! I used half the sugar recommended, and it was perfect for my preference. I really enjoyed the tangy, vinegar flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Potato Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (200 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 201.2
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    14%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 4.5 mg
    1%
    Sodium 455.9 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.6 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 10.4 g
    41%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites