24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fantastic! Can't think of anything else to call it. Tried it as posted and my wife and I enjoyed it. Will be making again, next time I might try adding some broccoli or turkey bacon to see if things can get any better. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coffee31807 July 22, 2012

Wonderful! I am not a fan of red peppers, so those were left out. Hubby hates carrots, omitted those as well. Used all chicken stock. Did use the mayo, used velvetta for the processed cheese. Did use the cheddar and swiss. The family loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RandomRamblings December 15, 2010

Delicious! I love potato cheese soup, but hadn't ever tried to make any at home. This recipe helped me make the best I've ever had. I followed the recipe exactly. Even my boyfriend, who "doesn't like" this kind of soup chowed down on it. Defininitely a keeper. Thanks Uncle Bill!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lerlene March 24, 2010

Thanks for steering to this one Uncle Bill. Its outstanding! (as was expected). Took me a minute to understand the soup base ingredient. Essentially, I made 4 cups of chicken broth and then added 2.5 cups of veggie broth (or chicken broth if you choose). The cheese combination was perfectly balanced. Not overly cheesy... just well balanced. Next time I'm going to change the brand of instant potatoes I used (it made the texture a little grainy) but the soup was fabulous nonetheless. THanks. Dave (Grandma lives halfway around the country, no review yet from her)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xDAVEx February 18, 2010

This soup was awesome! I would probably omit the mayonnaise. I also added bacon and it tasted great, I think adding bacon to many soups is a German way. The consistency of this soup I will try to change somehow it reminded me of curdled milk so I will probably omit the potato flakes and the mayonnaise hoping it will just be smoother. I made this last night and I will make it again for it reminds me of my mom & Grandma's German poatato soup. Oh and I didn't have any red pepper but it was still very filling!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Gizelle February 18, 2010

Really delicious! I followed another posters suggestion and chopped down the carrots in a blender.....just pulse.....Creamy, and the most decadent soup I have ever experienced. I do recommend tasting towards the end.....You will most likely want to salt and pepper to your liking! Thanks for a GREAT recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElvisPresley99 July 27, 2009

This was sooo yummy! I, too, used all chicken stock, but I couldn't bring myself to add the mayo...it was fabulous. I also used an immersion blender at the end for a smoother texture. This will be one of my regulars. Thank you, Dave!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jojo422rn February 13, 2009

Oh this was delicious another 5 stars form the family. The only thing I didn’t have was the sweet red peppers somehow I over looked them. I loved the unexpected mayonnaise, no one could guess what the surprise ingredient was, when told it was Mayonnaise they all looked at me with shock and disbelieve. I served this with Norm’s Quick Rolls, another great soup night. Thank you for one more amazing recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LB in Middle Georgia January 29, 2009

We love this. The second time we made it we threw the celery and carrots into the food processor, because we wanted a smoother texture. Instead of water and chicken boullioun I just use chicken stock. Overall Fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KristiB- G&N September 26, 2008

Perfect!! So very rich and cheesy. Since my husband thinks a meal is incomplete without some sort of meat, I added about 1 cup of sliced german sausage and it gave this just the right amount of spiciness without too much meat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Treenickel August 08, 2008
German Potato-Cheese Soup