Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / German Potato-Cheese Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Potato-Cheese Soup

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on July 22, 2012

      Fantastic! Can't think of anything else to call it. Tried it as posted and my wife and I enjoyed it. Will be making again, next time I might try adding some broccoli or turkey bacon to see if things can get any better. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2010

      Wonderful! I am not a fan of red peppers, so those were left out. Hubby hates carrots, omitted those as well. Used all chicken stock. Did use the mayo, used velvetta for the processed cheese. Did use the cheddar and swiss. The family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      Delicious! I love potato cheese soup, but hadn't ever tried to make any at home. This recipe helped me make the best I've ever had. I followed the recipe exactly. Even my boyfriend, who "doesn't like" this kind of soup chowed down on it. Defininitely a keeper. Thanks Uncle Bill!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      Thanks for steering to this one Uncle Bill. Its outstanding! (as was expected). Took me a minute to understand the soup base ingredient. Essentially, I made 4 cups of chicken broth and then added 2.5 cups of veggie broth (or chicken broth if you choose). The cheese combination was perfectly balanced. Not overly cheesy... just well balanced. Next time I'm going to change the brand of instant potatoes I used (it made the texture a little grainy) but the soup was fabulous nonetheless. THanks. Dave (Grandma lives halfway around the country, no review yet from her)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      This soup was awesome! I would probably omit the mayonnaise. I also added bacon and it tasted great, I think adding bacon to many soups is a German way. The consistency of this soup I will try to change somehow it reminded me of curdled milk so I will probably omit the potato flakes and the mayonnaise hoping it will just be smoother. I made this last night and I will make it again for it reminds me of my mom & Grandma's German poatato soup. Oh and I didn't have any red pepper but it was still very filling!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      Really delicious! I followed another posters suggestion and chopped down the carrots in a blender.....just pulse.....Creamy, and the most decadent soup I have ever experienced. I do recommend tasting towards the end.....You will most likely want to salt and pepper to your liking! Thanks for a GREAT recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      This was sooo yummy! I, too, used all chicken stock, but I couldn't bring myself to add the mayo...it was fabulous. I also used an immersion blender at the end for a smoother texture. This will be one of my regulars. Thank you, Dave!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      Oh this was delicious another 5 stars form the family. The only thing I didn’t have was the sweet red peppers somehow I over looked them. I loved the unexpected mayonnaise, no one could guess what the surprise ingredient was, when told it was Mayonnaise they all looked at me with shock and disbelieve. I served this with Norm’s Quick Rolls, another great soup night. Thank you for one more amazing recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      We love this. The second time we made it we threw the celery and carrots into the food processor, because we wanted a smoother texture. Instead of water and chicken boullioun I just use chicken stock. Overall Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2008

      Perfect!! So very rich and cheesy. Since my husband thinks a meal is incomplete without some sort of meat, I added about 1 cup of sliced german sausage and it gave this just the right amount of spiciness without too much meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      Potato soup is always good, but garlic, where is the garlic? Garlic does a body good...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      When I die, I know that they certainly will serve this in heaven. It is out of this world, and Dave is a "soup genius" in my family! I wanted a potato soup recipe at the last minute and just picked this one. No need to go any father. This is THE potato soup. The only thing I did differently was to use ALL chicken broth instead of water. Thank you, thank you Dave.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      This was super! My husband loved it, and he's not a big soup eater. The mayonaise is the "secret ingredient" that makes it German, I think. I used regular mayo and added 1/4 cup sugar - works just the same. I also left out the process cheese and substituted Parmesan cheese for the Swiss. Still great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      Coldest day of the year in Ohio, and I just wanted to stay inside, and make a big pot of soup. This was perfect! Initially, I was skeptical of the Miracle Whip, but it gave this soup that inimitable "something", that was just right. I'm not a red pepper fan, but instead, added some steamed broccoli and cauliflower, stirred in at the end. Also, something about this soup, just screamed for cayenne pepper. I'm glad I listened!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

      Delicious! We added Velveeta for the processed cheese. The only change we would make next time is to add more potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

      If you like potato soup you will love this one!! Very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      A litttle salty, but went wondefully with milk

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2005

      Superb! I didn't have enough Swiss cheese so added some smoked Gouda and used Velveeta for the processed cheese. Wonderfully rich and flavorful. I'm sure broccoli, ham or bacon bits would be nice additions, but we loved it just as it is. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2004

      this was so good.even my picky daughter liked it.the next time i make it i'm going to put either ham or polish kielbasa in with the soup

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2004

      This soup is wonderfully decadent. It is great when served with a salad and some crusty french bread to get every drop of soup out of the bowl. I have made this soup several times. It's very hearty and comforting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Potato-Cheese Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (321 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 335.7
     
    Calories from Fat 185
    55%
    Total Fat 20.6 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 9.7 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 45.8 mg
    15%
    Sodium 775.8 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 5.5 g
    22%
    Protein 14.2 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites