39 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

As a child we had a German elderly couple who lived across the fence. Often they would send a plum cake and we would eat it all before it hit the table.it was so yummy. I was looking for that cake when I tried this recipe. But as for this cake.... The flavors were great, but the density of the base cake was too thick. next time I will decrease the flour by 3/4 cups (or so) and hopefully it will lighten and seem more moist. In the top I will decreas the flour too. I could sure taste the flour in the crumb topping.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trish Za Dish August 31, 2009

this cake was very good, i used strawberries instead of plums, because i prefer strawberries. it was delicious and my husband loved it, which is awesome because he is not a fan of cake at all. it also tasted similar to coffee cakes i have had in germany. thanks for the recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sabrinajosh October 02, 2010

This is an excellent way to use up two cups of super-sour plums. I upped the sugar and reduced the four like the other reviewers suggested. The cake came out awesome. -A little too sour when it first came out of the oven, but once it cooled the sourness mellowed. I would definitely make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TAHINAZ September 12, 2010

Wonderful and super easy! I love this cake. I have a ton of plums from a tree in my backyard that I need to do something with so I tried this out. Granted, it didn't use up as many as I would have liked! I even goofed a few of the steps in this and it still turned out perfectly. I used very soft very juicy plums so I was a little concerned since there is a specific warning against that. It cooked up just right! I also thought that the streusel topping may have been too much once I started putting it on, but I LOVE streusel so I decided to trust the recipe and it was PERFECT! Will definately make it again. Thanks for the great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*heidi3332*~ September 16, 2008

Had too many plums and this was a nice dessert to make. Not very sweet, like a cake, and included fresh fruits. I made the mistake of making with only whole wheat flour (not doing 1/2 ww and 1/2 all purpose white) so my cake did not rise and was a bit hard. But that did not deter the family from liking it! Served right out of the oven with a dollup of vanilla ice cream, which also helped to soften the cake base. Over all it was a great use of plums, have learned my lesson about whole wheat flour, and would make again of the need arises. Oh, chose not to do the optional topping to save on calories.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeniseNC August 18, 2014

This was the best cake I have ever made and my family loved it. It was so surprising, because I was just looking for something to do with plum. Amazing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trailhikinafricagrrrl November 25, 2013

This is good, the cake is heavy like pound cake, but dryer. I expected that since the poster advises this in the discription. The cake does have good flavor and crumb texture. My sister in law likes her cake soaked in milk and this cake was good for that since the density held up to the milk. I found out why you want to use juice less plums. If you use juicy plums, then the juice soaks through the crumb topping, which makes it soggy and wet. This happened the second day. This is my mistake since I used the plums I had. I needed a recipe that only used the 4 plums I had.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coppercloud August 08, 2012

Love the firm, crumbly base in this recipe. I made this with fresh Victoria plums from our tree, which are sweeter and a bit juicier than German zwetschgen. I left off the streusel topping to reduce calories and piled on extra sliced plums instead, as my photos show. One of those cake treats that tastes just as good if not better rewarmed. It also freezes well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marge S November 14, 2011

Excellent plum kuchen. How ever I did make some changes to the recipe. I used 1 1/4 cups of flour for the batter. I followed the topping ingredients exactly. I sprinkled some brandy liquor mixed with some rum flavoring over the plum slices. My springform pan is an 8" that's what I used. I also found it necessary to put the kuchen under the broiler for less than 2 minutes, to slightly brown the crumb topping,and I used a heaping tablespoon (measure) of sour cream for the batter. My results were wonderful. This is a Keeper. Enjoy See My Photo (aseret66)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aseret66 September 10, 2011

This is an amazing cake. It is exactly what my German grandmother used to make when I was a child, and sadly no one wrote down her recipe. I don't know why I've waited so long to write a review. I've been making this every Shavuot (Jewish holiday that celebrates the giving of the Torah at Sinai) for a few years now, and for other family gatherings, where it is a big hit with those who remember Grandma's plum cake. Last time I reconstituted my dried plums in red wine and it was delicious, as too when I simply used dried plums in their regular dried state.
A word to the wise: this cake doesn't go over quite as well with people who aren't used to such dense cakes. Thank you for bringing back old childhood memories with this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chayamushka June 01, 2011
German Plum Cake