Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / German Plum Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Plum Cake

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on August 31, 2009

      As a child we had a German elderly couple who lived across the fence. Often they would send a plum cake and we would eat it all before it hit the table.it was so yummy. I was looking for that cake when I tried this recipe. But as for this cake.... The flavors were great, but the density of the base cake was too thick. next time I will decrease the flour by 3/4 cups (or so) and hopefully it will lighten and seem more moist. In the top I will decreas the flour too. I could sure taste the flour in the crumb topping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      this cake was very good, i used strawberries instead of plums, because i prefer strawberries. it was delicious and my husband loved it, which is awesome because he is not a fan of cake at all. it also tasted similar to coffee cakes i have had in germany. thanks for the recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      This is an excellent way to use up two cups of super-sour plums. I upped the sugar and reduced the four like the other reviewers suggested. The cake came out awesome. -A little too sour when it first came out of the oven, but once it cooled the sourness mellowed. I would definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      Wonderful and super easy! I love this cake. I have a ton of plums from a tree in my backyard that I need to do something with so I tried this out. Granted, it didn't use up as many as I would have liked! I even goofed a few of the steps in this and it still turned out perfectly. I used very soft very juicy plums so I was a little concerned since there is a specific warning against that. It cooked up just right! I also thought that the streusel topping may have been too much once I started putting it on, but I LOVE streusel so I decided to trust the recipe and it was PERFECT! Will definately make it again. Thanks for the great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2014

      Had too many plums and this was a nice dessert to make. Not very sweet, like a cake, and included fresh fruits. I made the mistake of making with only whole wheat flour (not doing 1/2 ww and 1/2 all purpose white) so my cake did not rise and was a bit hard. But that did not deter the family from liking it! Served right out of the oven with a dollup of vanilla ice cream, which also helped to soften the cake base. Over all it was a great use of plums, have learned my lesson about whole wheat flour, and would make again of the need arises. Oh, chose not to do the optional topping to save on calories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2013

      This was the best cake I have ever made and my family loved it. It was so surprising, because I was just looking for something to do with plum. Amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2012

      This is good, the cake is heavy like pound cake, but dryer. I expected that since the poster advises this in the discription. The cake does have good flavor and crumb texture. My sister in law likes her cake soaked in milk and this cake was good for that since the density held up to the milk. I found out why you want to use juice less plums. If you use juicy plums, then the juice soaks through the crumb topping, which makes it soggy and wet. This happened the second day. This is my mistake since I used the plums I had. I needed a recipe that only used the 4 plums I had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2011

      Love the firm, crumbly base in this recipe. I made this with fresh Victoria plums from our tree, which are sweeter and a bit juicier than German zwetschgen. I left off the streusel topping to reduce calories and piled on extra sliced plums instead, as my photos show. One of those cake treats that tastes just as good if not better rewarmed. It also freezes well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2011

      Excellent plum kuchen. How ever I did make some changes to the recipe. I used 1 1/4 cups of flour for the batter. I followed the topping ingredients exactly. I sprinkled some brandy liquor mixed with some rum flavoring over the plum slices. My springform pan is an 8" that's what I used. I also found it necessary to put the kuchen under the broiler for less than 2 minutes, to slightly brown the crumb topping,and I used a heaping tablespoon (measure) of sour cream for the batter. My results were wonderful. This is a Keeper. Enjoy See My Photo (aseret66)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2011

      This is an amazing cake. It is exactly what my German grandmother used to make when I was a child, and sadly no one wrote down her recipe. I don't know why I've waited so long to write a review. I've been making this every Shavuot (Jewish holiday that celebrates the giving of the Torah at Sinai) for a few years now, and for other family gatherings, where it is a big hit with those who remember Grandma's plum cake. Last time I reconstituted my dried plums in red wine and it was delicious, as too when I simply used dried plums in their regular dried state.
      A word to the wise: this cake doesn't go over quite as well with people who aren't used to such dense cakes. Thank you for bringing back old childhood memories with this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2011

      Haven't tried this recipe yet! I have a big old plum who explodes every few yrs and I love recipes using all my fruit trees! I will give a rating when I try it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2010

      I CANNOT believe i havent reviewed this! I use 1 cup of flour, used lime rind instead, and fresh nutmeg in the cake! i also reduce the flour on top to 1/2 c. this cake is AMAZING! never last long!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2010

      I took mine out of the oven at 35 minutes and it was a bit over done, but that is my fault not the recipes. I was out of plums, so I took frozen strawberries( no sugar), defrosted them in the microwave and drained them. Then crumbled them up with my fingers over the top. Even though I had over baked the cake, my family still loved it and were fighting over the last piece. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2010

      This is really good, but the cake was a bit too dry and crumbly for my taste. I cooked it for 40 min in a 9" springform maybe 35 min next time. It seemed to grow on me as I ate it. I will try it with the whipped cream tonight. The flavor of the cake is delicious. The strusel is yummy. The house smells awesome. It looks beautiful. I think this would be a great brunch cake. With the 9" the fruit to cake ratio was great for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      This was really good. The texture of the cake was different than anything I've had, it's sort of a dry dense texture, but great flavor. The topping was delicious also, it was a soft crumb, it got a very light brown. I left mine in the oven for 40min, and the bottom was a perfect golden brown. This was fun to try this different unique cake, I will be using this recipe often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      Deserves ten star! Easy and excellent. I used sugar plums. I also did not have a lemon, so subbed a splash of lemon extract. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      This is a really delicious cake. Reminds me of the plum cake my mum used to make when i was young. I baked one last night and am baking a second one now. That cinnamon smell is just fabulous. This is going to be made regularly especially since we have tonnes of plums at the moment. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      I had a ton of prune type plums to use up and needed to make a dessert for Ramadan to feed many people. This recipe worked out awesome and it was easy to make x 4. Only thing I think is that it woudl have been a little moister had I used actually plums instead of the small prunes. Thanks for a great recipe I wasn't sure what to do with all my plums but I was able to use them nicely. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      I have tried many german style plum cakes, and this by far is the best. I even made it with peaches just as good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2008

      Wow. Five stars from me and ten from my husband. I had a can of plums I needed to use up (nothing specialty) and I remembered this recipe, so I made it and my husband said I can make it anytime I want. He didn't cry when I said that was the last can of plums, but he could have... It's just perfect. The bottom is a German-type cake. Not at all like Pillsbury, just in case you were wondering. Not very sweet. Kind of a crumbly consistency although it wasn't crumbly. Hard to describe if you haven't had one. The top is sweeter and balances out the whole experience. PS My husband wants this for his birthday cake. Hmm. Maybe cherries or apples. PPS We didn't have cream to serve with it, but it would be a good thing. Very lightly sweetened cream. Update: I made this with peaches. Didn't work so great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Plum Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (1047 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3336.6
     
    Calories from Fat 1550
    46%
    Total Fat 172.3 g
    265%
    Saturated Fat 105.5 g
    527%
    Cholesterol 619.4 mg
    206%
    Sodium 2025.4 mg
    84%
    Total Carbohydrate 412.9 g
    137%
    Dietary Fiber 13.9 g
    55%
    Sugars 167.6 g
    670%
    Protein 42.9 g
    85%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes