21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My mother in-law made these for supper too. Larger batch. Served them with cottage cheese and applesauce. Everyone loved them, but we all held back on eatting them all. She'd make pancake noodle soup with left overs. Roll the pancakes up and cut thin ribbons, add to hot chicken broth and season with Maggi. This is whyI put this recipe in my Soup cook book.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L DJ March 19, 2007

Thank You!! If I could Kiss you I would!!!! My father used to make this a few times a year for us for dinner. We always spread applesauce on them and then sprinkled with sugar. YUM YUM!!! My son and Allan are already begging for it again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Norelllaura1 June 03, 2003

Yummy! Thank you! I served mine rolled up with chunky applesauce filling, and topped with strawberry puree and powdered sugar. My 2 year old (who is very picky by the way), ate his with cinnamon, powdered sugar and a little honey. He loved it and asked for more! Thanks for the delightful recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Varnerific! September 16, 2005

yummy stuff....thanks for the recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mike Ott August 25, 2003

I have been looking for this recipe for ages...and could only find the puffy Dutch Baby type recipe. I got this recipe in college from a roommate and LOVED it. This is it! With butter and cinnamon sugar, all rolled up....breakfast, lunch and dessert!!! thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeeCooks February 10, 2012

My kids fell in love with these tonight! They want me to make these for breakfast now and incorporate this in our weekly rotation. I made exactly as written and sprinkled with sugar. I will be interested in trying new toppings for these: thinking cinnamon/sugar mixture or even mini chocolate chips. Not sure how that will go since this was our first time having these. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5hungrykids April 08, 2010

I learned to make these from my grandmother back in the 40's. Still make them the same, you just can't improve on a good recipe like this one. Made for New Zaar Cookbooks, a tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie B's Hive January 02, 2009

Pamela, from one Manitoban to another, thanks for this terrific recipe! So simple, so quick and great reviews from my family, the picky ones in particular. My skeptical DH had to have one after another and believe me, he was wary but gave a great review. I have no Mennonite in my family, but I have been a Prairie girl my whole life and very much appreciate the culture around me, so I thank you once again for a great easy and very satisfying recipe! We spread apple sauce in the middle of the hot from the pan round from the pan and then sprinkled with icing sugar - we wrapped up while still warm, topped it with a smidge of more apple sauce on top and another dusting of sugar...Mmmmmm.. Thank you Pamela!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~~Di~Lo~~ February 10, 2008

I thought this was so easy and fun to make. They came out really good and my husband loved them. This recipe is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LZy cook July 29, 2007
German Pancakes (From the Mennonite Treasury of Recipes)