43 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've made this recipe twice now, and it turned out well each time. The first time, I followed the recipe exactly. The second time, I reduced the number of eggs to 4 (as recommended by another reviewer), and laid sliced, cooked ham on top. My family of picky eaters enjoyed it both ways, but I think the version with ham won out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eileen H. December 28, 2011

I tried this with white whole wheat flour, and my college kids loved it! I love how easy this is. Wish I'd tried it when my kids were at home! I set out maple syrup, jams & jellies for everyone to add as they liked.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaramelPie August 28, 2011

Maybe I don't know the texture of a German Pancake. The texture seemed to be gummy/chewy to me. I wasn't a fan. Good flavor but not for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LAURA F. March 24, 2011

very yummy...my 9 yr. old and husband loved it...will def. make again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheri R. December 14, 2010

This is much easier than baking the pancakes in a pan on the stove (as I have done in Germany). I just added some vanilla and sugar and ate the pancake with some nutella on top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sonnyu28 October 10, 2010

I usually make my German Pancakes in the cast iron pan but this way is good too! I added 1/2 tsp vanilla, dash of nutmeg and cinnamon, topped with jam, lemon and powdered sugar. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lilmsbritches August 05, 2010

So yummy!! Made these for my boys today & they named them Spongebob Square Cakes :) I added a half teaspoon vanilla & a TBSP of sugar to the batter. Thanks so much for posting!! This will be a regular at our house!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becky74 July 26, 2010

Yum! I altered recipe significantly: omitted eggs entirely, replaced white flour with organic whole wheat flour, and just before baking dropped a generous amount of halved and chopped walnuts over top. The nuts toasted during baking since they were mostly exposed to the air. With 100% organic maple syrup, it was delectable--and I never missed the eggs! (I'm vegetarian and never eat them.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brianpetersen48 July 12, 2010

We loved it! I would use a bigger pan next time as we like it to be a little thinner. I did add 1/2 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp sugar to the batter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grammy Pammy October 13, 2009

Made for kids this a.m. Halved the recipe. DD(10) rated it a 3. Ds(9) rated it 6(I know, I couldn't convince him you could only rate to 5) DD(8)rated it 4 stars.!! I thought it was good but wish I had made some syrup. We only put powdered sugar. Will make again it is a quick breakfast!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Z,G,L's mom January 27, 2009
German Pancake