Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / German Pancake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Pancake

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on March 24, 2011

      Maybe I don't know the texture of a German Pancake. The texture seemed to be gummy/chewy to me. I wasn't a fan. Good flavor but not for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      very yummy...my 9 yr. old and husband loved it...will def. make again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      This is much easier than baking the pancakes in a pan on the stove (as I have done in Germany). I just added some vanilla and sugar and ate the pancake with some nutella on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2010

      I usually make my German Pancakes in the cast iron pan but this way is good too! I added 1/2 tsp vanilla, dash of nutmeg and cinnamon, topped with jam, lemon and powdered sugar. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2010

      So yummy!! Made these for my boys today & they named them Spongebob Square Cakes :) I added a half teaspoon vanilla & a TBSP of sugar to the batter. Thanks so much for posting!! This will be a regular at our house!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      Yum! I altered recipe significantly: omitted eggs entirely, replaced white flour with organic whole wheat flour, and just before baking dropped a generous amount of halved and chopped walnuts over top. The nuts toasted during baking since they were mostly exposed to the air. With 100% organic maple syrup, it was delectable--and I never missed the eggs! (I'm vegetarian and never eat them.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      We loved it! I would use a bigger pan next time as we like it to be a little thinner. I did add 1/2 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp sugar to the batter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      Made for kids this a.m. Halved the recipe. DD(10) rated it a 3. Ds(9) rated it 6(I know, I couldn't convince him you could only rate to 5) DD(8)rated it 4 stars.!! I thought it was good but wish I had made some syrup. We only put powdered sugar. Will make again it is a quick breakfast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      This was super easy and good, but had a somewhat bland flavor. I will make this again, but next time I'll add vanilla extract, cinnamon, and raisins. I think this will improve the flavor. I also read in a review that someone sliced an apple over the top before baking. I'll try that as well and probably try a banana too. This was good, but some flavorful additions will only make it better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      wow, I was so excited to try this recipe, but when I made it, it looked good, smelled good, puffed and everything, but when I tasted it,,,, it was bland and only tasted of salt. Maybe I'm not too familiar with german cooking. Any suggestions on what I did wrong? I even put some cinnamon in :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2006

      This was wonderful! I wanted pancakes this morning but I didn't want to stand over the stove making them. It puffed up beautifully! A great item to bring to a brunch! Thanks! I'm making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2006

      We really liked this recipe, but it didn't get puffy for me. Putting that aside, we will have it again. I do think adding a little extra sugar makes it even better. Be sure to take the other reviewer's suggestion and use the buttermilk syrup with this. You won't believe how yummy it is!(#16717)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2005

      My five year old son and I made this recipe together. I like the fact that you can just pop it into the oven. There wasn't a big mess to clean up either. I altered the recipe a bit though; I only had 4 eggs on hand and we added strawberries and cinnamon to the batter as well. It came out delicious! The giant pancake did not come out "puffy" as the name suggests, but I attribute that to the 4 eggs. The whole family loved it & I'll make it again using only 4 eggs. The texture and taste reminded me of the swedish style pancakes one can order at I-HOP. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2005

      This was so easy to make just mix and bake. I added about a tablespoon of sugar to the mixture. My sons ate it for breakfast and loved it. It was refreshing to make something different for a change and a plus that it was so easy. I stumbled onto your web site looking for an easy pancake recipe. Thanks for the help! Amy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2005

      Well, I must say, this was certainly easy to make. I enjoyed not having to slave over a stove trying to fix pancakes one by one. Maybe it's because I had never had German Pancakes before, but I did find this kind of "rubber" like in the middle. The taste was ok,certainly not like a regular pancake. However, my 6 year old son did eat every bit, so I was very thankful for that. I think I might try lowering the egg count the next time also to see how that turns out. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2005

      I've made this twice for breakfast and it's a terrific and easy dish to make. I cut it by 1/3 to use 4 eggs and bake in a 10" round pan and it turned out perfectly. Thanks for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2004

      My family really like German Pancakes and this made a nice one. I usually made mine in a cast iron skillet to give the pancake a thicker bottom on the pancake. I serve this pancake with Kittencal Bass's Caesar Salad Buttery Cinnamon Skillet apples. We also llike to top ours with shredded cheddar cheese. Thanks DivineMom5 for different way to cook our favorite pancake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2004

      These are so wonderful! I love pancakes, and it is so much easier to make them without slaving over the stove. I served it with buttermilk syrup Buttermilk Syrup and it was to die for!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2004

      this was one of my favorite dishes when i was a little gir. i usually had it with powdered sugar and lemon, or with apples. yum! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2002

      This recipe was good, however I would suggest adding 1/4 to 1/2 cup sugar to the batter. Hubby didn't think it was sweet enough. Also added sliced apples and cinnamon before baking, as one reviewer suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Pancake

    Serving Size: 1 (116 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 207.3
     
    Calories from Fat 92
    44%
    Total Fat 10.2 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 201.8 mg
    67%
    Sodium 318.9 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.1 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 9.8 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes