Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / German Onion Pie (Zweibelkuchen) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Onion Pie (Zweibelkuchen)

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on December 22, 2002

      SO GOOD! I have made this twice now to bring to parties and it has been very well recieved. The filling is a breeze to make and very tasty. I highly recommend this everyone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2002

      This was divine!!! Thank you a thousand times over. I had this from someone once, and I am glad to now know how to make it myself! Very easy, and yummy! Made no changes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2003

      VERY good with one to two teaspoons of caraway seeds added (sehr echt!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2014

      Delicious! I served this pie alongside bratwurst and a green salad. Hubby said he thought it was the best dinner I'd made all year. We all loved it. Thank you for a keeper Miss Annie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      I really loved this. My kids were not a crazy about it though. I was not sure what to expect, the flavor was very good. I could have ate this by itself for breakfast. I might try this again if I am going to have a lot of people over. See what they think.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      This tasted great! I've been trying all sorts of onion recipes and this one reminds me a lot of perogies.. yum. The only two things I would do differently for next time would be 1) use a homemade crust as store bought was too fragile to lift the pie piece out of the pie plate and 2) mix the onion/bacon mixture into the sour cream/egg mixture as in Onion Pie. Otherwise it was great :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      I made this for my own private ZWT. I'm trying to make authentic ethnic dishes. I wasn't sure what to expect. This is quite tasty and easy. Step * had me a bit confused ("beat in inches"?) But whatever--it came out good, though I did have to cook it quite a bit longer to get the golden brown effect. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

      I used 5 or 6 slices of bacon which worked well. Next time I might chop the bacon before putting on the bottom of the pie.. I found while eating it the bacon pulled out in one bit. This had wonderful flavor. I did add about 1 tsp of thyme, and a bit of garlic powder to the sour cream mix. Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      This was so good that I searched the internet for Frugal Gourmet book and bought it. I only made half of the recipe, and instead of putting it in a pie plate just made it like a giant pastie. Had to work fast to get it sealed before the sauce ran out. It turned out really well. I live at a high altitude so baked for 25 minutes at the 400 degree temp. and covered the edges of pastry with foil for the first 15 minutes. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      This was great recipe however i needed to chop my onion finer to get the consistency for a smooth pie. Flavor was great

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      Heavenly! Who ever would have thought you could make such a tasty custard-like filling with sour cream, eggs and flour. Really good - didn't even have the Schnitzel with it, it was so filling, and the aroma in the apartment was wonderful! Didn't add or subtract a thing (which is unusual for me). Next time, it will be a breeze to make (I find the first time I try a new recipe it takes twice as long because I am always double-checking ingredients, times, heat, etc.). Betcha this would make a great Brunch dish! Thanks, Ann, for another keeper! Gwen.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2007

      Very good recipe. I just changed it slightly by using diced Prosciutto ham instead of bacon. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2007

      Very good. My husband hates quiche, but he liked this and it's very similar. So- it's a good compromise! I'll probably use less salt next time. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      I was pretty scared of this recipe but I tried it for my boyfriend of German ancestry who loves this kind of food. When it came out we both looked at it and wrinkled our noses (it was not the most attractive looking dish) but he took one bite, loaded up more on his plate, devoured it and asked when we were having it again. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2006

      Delicious Pie! It might be nice made with a little sausage in the place of bacon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2005

      I thought this was pretty good but not everyone may like it. My mother didn't like it too much but my father thought it was good. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2004

      This was a big hit at our Traditional German Christmas meal. Very light and flavorful. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2004

      Superb! I did make one change the 2nd time I made it though. I smoked the onions in one of those new smoker bags first which gave it more of a gourmet twist.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2003

      This is the only dish made mainly of onions that I like. No bad aftertaste at all. No changes too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Onion Pie (Zweibelkuchen)

    Serving Size: 1 (88 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 225.1
     
    Calories from Fat 145
    64%
    Total Fat 16.1 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 64.1 mg
    21%
    Sodium 337.9 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    11%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes