Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / German Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on July 24, 2009

      The gentleman did not mention a sauce because there is no sauce with it. These are not the meatball kind you throw in a sauce , these are " Frikadellen" or "as the Berliner call them "Buletten "or Fleischpflanzerl" in Bavaria. You eat them as the main course ( make them the size of half a Hamburger and flatten them a bit, do not leave them round like a meatball, since is is not one of those.Serve them with a side of salt potatoes or mashed potatoes and a vegetable.Instead of the oatmeal you can use one roll or 2-3 slices stale white bread that has been soaked in water for a view minutes and pressed dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2012

      I made this recipe on 3/30/12 for the " More Than Sauerkraut And Dumplings Event " in the German/Benelux Forum.I made the recipe sort of as it was written(read messed up ). Everything went according to plan,except I didn't see the part about rolling the meatballs in breadcrumbs before frying.For a bit more flavor, I browned the meatballs in the "drippings" from the cooked bacon. As texasgal # 3 suggested " the meatballs were flattened a bit before frying. Since my SO and I do like gravy, I used a packet of brown gravy mix. We both thought they were good enough to be made again. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      Yum yum yum!!! These were easy to make and were very tasty! I used extra lean ground beef and loved the texture of the breadcrumbs. These were enjoyed with Herbed Spaetzle and veggies. I flattened them a little bit and it was easier to cook them through that way. Thanks for another great recipe from Lynn! Made for ZWT6. Thanks diner524! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2014

      These were so good. I made rice and an onion, garlic beef gravy to go with them. Family loved their dinner. My neighbor is a caterer and she loved them as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      These were really GOOD! The flavor was alot more intense than I thought it would be. DH didn't care for them being rolled in breadcrumbs,though. But the taste was awesome! So happy I made these!! DEFINATELY will be repeated. Made for ZWT6 and the Xtra Hot Dishes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      Wonderful! I loved the idea of these, including the BACON! :-) I followed the recipe, as written and they were great! I did grind the oatmeal up a bit, to ease it's incorporation with the meat. YUM! I'll definitely be making these again! Thanks for sharing, diner! Made for ZWT 6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      Well, diner You did it again. I omitted the onions, but I made spaghetti and meatballs (your meatballs) and OMG. I love the fact that bacon was in this, and by far it beats any spaghetti sauce I have ever had. I have some leftover , and that is perfect for lunch for the kids today. Made for Football pool.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      I made these without the breadcrumbs as I was adding them to MsSally's Easy Low-Fat Crock Pot Spaghetti Sauce. The only changes I made were to increase the garlic to 4 cloves (personal taste preference) and to use 1/2 shell of merlot rather than 1/2 shell of water. Loved the quaintness of the half shell measurement! And that you cleverly found a way of getting Zaar to accept that! When I see water in a recipe, my immediate response is "aha, opportunity to sneak in some wine!" Delicious meatballs. Loved that they had bacon in them, and loved the paprika... a small amount but it certainly added to the flavour. Thank you for sharing this recipe. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      Outstanding. I doubled the batch and used 1 lb of venison and 1 lb of turkey. Turned out fabulous and the deer flavor was non-existant (which makes me happy). I will use 10 tonight for spaghetti and meatballs, and will freeze the rest. I will definitely try out your recommended cream sauce though. Made for BEVY TAG. . .Potluck recipes. THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      Absolutely fabulous! We had them with whole wheat penne with some brown butter and parsley. I wasn't sure if they were to accompany a certain food or not. Thank you so much for sharing such a delicious recipe!!!! LA :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      Good meatballs. Really liked the use of oatmeal as a binder. Went well with a meal composed of a couple of salads.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      My DH and I loved these! Adding the bacon and the bread crumbs really changed up an old standard recipe! I will definitely make these again. DH would like me to come up with some sort of sauce or gravy to go with them. Thanks for posting this great recipe! Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      These were yummy! Thank you for posting this, for no other reason that the idea to roll the meatballs in breadcrumbs. It made for an interesting crispy crust on the outside, without the deep fried feeling. Between the seasonings and the bacon, DH wondered if they were made out of sausage. :) Very nice recipe, thank you for posting. MAde for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (107 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 561.6
     
    Calories from Fat 374
    66%
    Total Fat 41.6 g
    64%
    Saturated Fat 11.5 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 141.8 mg
    47%
    Sodium 1010.3 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.4 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 30.9 g
    61%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes