Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / German Lentil Soup With Frankfurters Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Lentil Soup With Frankfurters

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on May 30, 2001

      Lentilsoup is one of my favorite dishes and my Mom made it quite often because it was an inexpensive way to feed a whole family. In Germany we do not use the celery or the carrots in Lentilsoup, but I actually like that idea, gives it an extra little flavor. And yes we often use ham or even brown some bacon as added flavor. The way I make it is, I cut about a quarter pound of bacon into strips, brown these, the put in one chopped onion and let it brown slightly until golden. I add water and the desired amount of lentils. Let it cook for about an hour. In a seperate saucepan I melt 3 tbs margarine and put in 3 tbs of flour, then I use about 3 tbs of vinegar take some of the already made lentil soup and mix it up good so you dont get lumps, transfer to lentil soup and stir well, let cook an additional half hour. Cut up some Frankfurters heat, and serve over Spaetzle. Very famous dish in every Gasthaus in Germany.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      This was a lovely and easy recipe! I liked it, and I brought a bowl to a friend who also loved it. I didn't do much in terms of modifications ... I threw in some sweet-and-sour sauce packets from a Chinese restaurant, and felt it didn't need any cider vinegar. This is a great winter comfort food!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      My fiance was sick today, and I'm not feeling so hot either; we had some lentils I've been wanting to use so I went looking for a lentil soup recipe that needed similar ingredients we had in the house already. This recipe came the closest, so I decided to give it a shot. :) So these are the adjustments I made based on what we had: *Hot dogs had gone bad, so I chopped up what canadian bacon we had in the fridge -- about 7-8 oz worth. *I added red potatoes as someone above suggested, but I used 3 instead of 2 because we love our potatoes. ;) *No celery, which I'm not a fan of to begin with so probably would have omitted anyway. *I had about a third of a large purple onion, and that seemed to be enough onion for us. *No garlic cloves! Very sad. I used about 2.5 TB of garlic powder instead. *Substituted EVOO for Canola Oil. *I used a can of Low Sodium beef broth, which came out to 2 cups worth of liquid, and then 6 cups of water. I only used about 1/2 tsp of salt since the broth did have some sodium in it. *I used a couple splashes of red wine while sauteeing because I love the smell and flavor. :3 *Once I put the 2 cups of lentils in the pot, it didn't seem like it would come out thick/hearty enough for my tastes (I love my soups hearty and thick!), so I added an additional 3rd cup of lentils. *Added a dash of ground thyme and ground white pepper, and another splash of red wine towards the end, because the broth was tasting a bit bland (probably due to using canadian bacon instead of franks). *Skipped the vinegar altogether because I'm not a fan of vinegar flavor. This smelled fabulous while it was cooking! We couldn't wait to dig in, and it turned out really hearty and tasty. :) Definitely will be making it again. It turned out a *little* too thick from the extra lentils, so next time I'll only add an extra 1/2 cup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      I made one change and loved this soup. Served it tonight with a salad and everyone was pleased. The change was to replace 2 of the cups of water with 2 cups of Swanson's 99% fat free beef soup. Due to the sodium level in the soup, I did not add additional salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      I have not tried this yet, but I have been trying to find a reicpie for lentil soup (my mom is german) and this is the only one that sounded anything like what she made. She never had carrots in hers (or tomatoe or potatoes which I notice in most recipies) though and hers had a sweet tang to it so I think I will try this without the carrots and add a little sugar-I wonder if it matters when you would add that?????? Thanks for the recipie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      I skipped a few steps as I had started late and didn't feel like chopping. I didn't add the onions, garlic, bay leaf, carrots or celery...I started with the lentils and water and then added the dogs and cider vin at the end. I used kosher beef franks. I made a simple salad of mixed greens with a dijon vin. dressing (2 tbsp dijon, 2 tbsp sugar, 2 tbsp cider vinegar and 1/2 cup EVOO) and this was a fantastic Shabbat meal. The kids loved the idea of this "hot dog soup" and I loved that it was so easy to make, relatively healthy and so tasty. Its really amazing how so few ingredients can taste so good and its also inexpensive, especially when the franks are on sale. The only thing I'll do different next time, because DH said to, is add more franks. He siad I should have used 2 lbs. I think I'll have to stock up on franks when they are on sale to make this again. Thanks for posting .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      made this on a gloomy rainny day, very satisfing.follwed advise from reviews, added the bacon, also put my own twist by added cut up link sauage family love this, we will make again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2006

      I love this soup ! Very easy and really tasty.I made this soup a couple of times already,I love it more and more.I use vegtable stock and leave out the celery and I use alot more cider vinegar,tastes great.Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2006

      Souper! I didn't have celery and I forgot the cider vinegar. I didn't have lentils but used the same quantity of store-bought 'soup mix' - barley, lentils, tiny pasta etc, no flavouring. I love the taste - and, like the recipe says, I just used water, not stock, so it's very economical. I had to add more water and it makes 14 servings! I'm having a frugal phase at the moment, so it's great dumped over a dish of pasta (or, for a real treat, re-fried pasta!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2001

      I would like to add the dashes of "this and that" according to John Skrable's ideas, this sounds very scrupmtious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2001

      I would pre-blanch a red potato, for about 15 minutes, peel and dice it, and add it to the water. After adding the water, and lentils, I would add one peeled, diced, drained tomato. Dash of this, and that; oregano, parsley, paprika, cayenne pepper, tobasco. I would use 1 tbs of red wine vinegar, instead of 2 tbs of cider vinegar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2000

      This is a very good basic recipe and I just thought I would add the variation that I took. It being the day after Christmas I had a ham bone I needed to use and my son wanted lentil soup. I just wanted to make something a little different so I surfed the web until I found this one that was nice and basic but I added the ham bone and skipped the hot dogs, added two potatoes and a can of diced tomatoes to make a very delicious soup. Thanks for the basics, Terry

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Lentil Soup With Frankfurters

    Serving Size: 1 (402 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 261.2
     
    Calories from Fat 153
    58%
    Total Fat 17.0 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 28.3 mg
    9%
    Sodium 808.4 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 11.5 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes