15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I rarely fry potatoes anymore, but am so glad I tried these. I liked that the oil in this recipe just covers the pan. I microwaved the potatoes to speed things along and also left the peels on. The purple onion & garlic flavors came thru and I might even add more garlic next time. Crispy flavored potatoes were a treat! Made for the German Tag Game.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D March 18, 2012

I didn't have red potatoes but I used Yukon Gold's which have a similar waxy texture. This was a real treat as I fry spuds maybe once a year but I just couldn't resist these. Loved the garlic and red onion. This recipe will fill that empty spot and leave a smile on your face.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia October 12, 2011

These were tasty potatoes... Due to some hungry masses I didn't get to let the potatoes cool as much as I would have liked. I also left the skins on as suggested by others. I did halve the oil but next time I will use all of the oil and I will use another clove of garlic. Made for the Voracious Vagabonds ZWT6

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KristinV May 29, 2010

Great way to do fried potatoes. Only thing I did different was I left the skins on the potatoes. BTW, the red onions really adds a nice touch. Made for ZWT6 Voracious Vagabonds.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maryland Jim May 24, 2010

I found this yesterday and was so excited to make it. I to have been to the Rhinelander (my parents and brother live in Portland) and it is one of my favorites. I left the skins on the potatoes and added just a little more garlic (love garlic). Turned out great and my DH and father-in-law said "make these soon)!Thanks for a wonderful recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf November 09, 2009

Loved these.Didn't have red onions so I used white and green .Will make again but next time I will slice the potatoes thicker.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NoraMarie July 16, 2009

I love the Rhinelander! I have only been there once though. So naturally HAD to make these potatoes. :) I opted to leave the skins on the potatoes. I like them. The flavor was very nice and there weren't any leftovers. :( Made for the Aussie/NZ December recipe swap.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef on the coast December 08, 2008

Wonderful potatoes Lynn. I didn't change a thing. These little beauts were crispy, crunchy, tender and flavorful, quick and easy to make too. My dh was in potatoe heaven. Thanks for sharing a dish that I will be making often.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato October 10, 2008

Yummy! I didn't use red onion because I had an entire bag of yellow ones to use up or the chives/parsley because our two little foodie fusspots were also attempting this tonight ( they could pick out the bigger onion bits but would refuse to pick out the green stuff LOL) This was very easy to make and tasty too! Please see my rating system: 4 stars for a wonderful weekday side dish that went well with my Wiener Snitzels. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch June 03, 2008

Wonderful comforting way to enjoy potatoes!!! I made it scaled back for one serving and the only other change I made (other then forgetting to garnish) was used 1/2 butter and 1/2 canola oil. I enjoyed these with some smoked sausage for a great quick lunch. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for Please Review My Recipe Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 March 29, 2013
German Home Fried Potatoes