Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / German Goulash Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Goulash Soup

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 11, 2008

      This is sooo good, yummm. Ausgezeichnet!! I made this in the Crock Pot, cooked it for about 8 hours on low. I only had a 6 oz can of tomato paste, so I added about 1/2 cup of ketchup ( I had looked up some substitutions for puree) and I didn't have beef consomme, so I just left it out. It tasted exactly like the Gulasch- suppe my Mom used to make. Thank you for this great keeper recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2006

      My husband ate Goulash Soup every day, when we were in Austria! :-) I have tried many recipes. BUT none came as close as yours!!! 10 STARS! For this one! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      This is a great recipe - a huge hit with my family. It is as good as the goulash soup that I had in Germany. The only things I changed was that I used Hungarian Sweet Paprika (start with less paprika and add to taste) and I added carrots and celery. Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      Delicious - DH wanted to give it more than 5 stars!! Although it tasted like soups we'd enjoyed in Germany, this one had a depth to it that comes from making it at home and not in the kitchen of a restaurant. The broth was oniony and rich, the beef very tender, and the potatoes (which we put in as instructed) melted in our mouths. Perfect for a chilly winter evening. Thanks HeatherFeather!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2004

      Outstanding; just as I remember it tasting when I lived in Germany. I must admit to not having any consome and just omitted it so not sure what impact that may have on taste the next time I make it. Also, may try this one in a slow cooker next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2012

      Very authentic!!! I used garlic powder instead of fresh garlic and about a tbsp of cayenne pepper in addition to the paprika. I also added a red bell pepper. Soooooooo good, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2011

      Very tasty. Like a couple of other reviewers, I left out the consomme, and it was fine. The only thing I felt was missing was caraway seed--my Austrian grandmother always added it to her goulash, so next time I will add some. Thanks for the recipe, HeatherFeather!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2006

      This is a very hearty and tasty soup! I didn't use the margarine, but a little spray of pam and it came out just fine. I cooked it on low for about 4 hours and added the potatoes the last hour. Very simple to put together and a stir every so often makes it pretty easy to just let it go. Will definitely make again! Thank you for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2004

      Very good flavour to this soup. I did use olive oil in place of the butter (preferred fat for cooking in my kitchen). One thing I did NOT do was add the potatoes at the point indicated as I was sure the diced potatoes would melt away to nothing if cooked for 3 hours. I added them for the last half hour only. Please be sure to stir this every so often as the 'gravy' becomes quite thick because of the flour and is prone to scorch on the bottom. It just needs a little more attention than in indicated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Goulash Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (328 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 199.6
     
    Calories from Fat 99
    49%
    Total Fat 11.0 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 26.0 mg
    8%
    Sodium 827.5 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 11.1 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites