9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is sooo good, yummm. Ausgezeichnet!! I made this in the Crock Pot, cooked it for about 8 hours on low. I only had a 6 oz can of tomato paste, so I added about 1/2 cup of ketchup ( I had looked up some substitutions for puree) and I didn't have beef consomme, so I just left it out. It tasted exactly like the Gulasch- suppe my Mom used to make. Thank you for this great keeper recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoveToBake67 December 11, 2008

My husband ate Goulash Soup every day, when we were in Austria! :-) I have tried many recipes. BUT none came as close as yours!!! 10 STARS! For this one! :-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Koechin (Chef) July 29, 2006

This is a great recipe - a huge hit with my family. It is as good as the goulash soup that I had in Germany. The only things I changed was that I used Hungarian Sweet Paprika (start with less paprika and add to taste) and I added carrots and celery. Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barnhizer June 29, 2010

Delicious - DH wanted to give it more than 5 stars!! Although it tasted like soups we'd enjoyed in Germany, this one had a depth to it that comes from making it at home and not in the kitchen of a restaurant. The broth was oniony and rich, the beef very tender, and the potatoes (which we put in as instructed) melted in our mouths. Perfect for a chilly winter evening. Thanks HeatherFeather!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Acerast January 26, 2008

Outstanding; just as I remember it tasting when I lived in Germany. I must admit to not having any consome and just omitted it so not sure what impact that may have on taste the next time I make it. Also, may try this one in a slow cooker next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
David Myers November 09, 2004

Very authentic!!! I used garlic powder instead of fresh garlic and about a tbsp of cayenne pepper in addition to the paprika. I also added a red bell pepper. Soooooooo good, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.jami February 07, 2012

Very tasty. Like a couple of other reviewers, I left out the consomme, and it was fine. The only thing I felt was missing was caraway seed--my Austrian grandmother always added it to her goulash, so next time I will add some. Thanks for the recipe, HeatherFeather!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Transplant December 15, 2011

This is a very hearty and tasty soup! I didn't use the margarine, but a little spray of pam and it came out just fine. I cooked it on low for about 4 hours and added the potatoes the last hour. Very simple to put together and a stir every so often makes it pretty easy to just let it go. Will definitely make again! Thank you for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Breezytoo October 31, 2006

Very good flavour to this soup. I did use olive oil in place of the butter (preferred fat for cooking in my kitchen). One thing I did NOT do was add the potatoes at the point indicated as I was sure the diced potatoes would melt away to nothing if cooked for 3 hours. I added them for the last half hour only. Please be sure to stir this every so often as the 'gravy' becomes quite thick because of the flour and is prone to scorch on the bottom. It just needs a little more attention than in indicated.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens November 11, 2004
German Goulash Soup