Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / German Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 31, 2012

      I made this to recipe but I doubled it. I'm not sure about the cooking time. They started to float within a couple of minutes of going in the water. I tasted one as soon as they started to float and I could really taste the flour, so I decided to wait the 20 minutes as one reviewer said. However, after about 10 or 12 minutes they started to get pretty soft. I took them out after 15 minutes and they were falling apart. I think next time I'll take them out after about 10 minutes. But, they were good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2011

      I love these. Here's a tip for the leftovers. Put them in the fridge overnight to get really cold. Melt some butter in a frying pan, slice up the dumplings about 1/2" thick and fry in the butter until golden brown. Yum-O!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      As a german major at my local University, and someone who loves to cook, I thought it was time to start learning traditional german recipes. I tried this for dinner tonight-and it was excellent! The recipe is vague, but for good reason-one just needs to add flour, water and salt and pepper when making the dough until it gets to the right consistency. One new at cooking might have trouble with this, but for me, it worked out well. I think I will add more flour next time, but these were great with the rotkohl I had cooking on the stove for almost two hours-very satisfying, and a good texture. I left the skins in the mashed potatoes and thought it turned out well, in case anyone else wants to try that. Lecker!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      Very good...Everyone enjoyed them. I found the instructions a little vague. They poof when they cook, my husband and I both made some and his turned out too big. I think they were done when they rose to the top of the boiling water. I then tossed with onions that I cooked in butter and olive oil. I needed to serve more than 2 people so used 5 cups of potatoes. It made A LOT, and they are very filling. I served with sweet and sour red cabbage. This made a very yummy Shabbat dinner...thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      Wonderful little dumpling. At first I thought the recipe was a bit vague, but I understand that it depends a lot on the potato you use that determines the amount of flour needed. I did double the recipe, but still can't actually say how much flour I used. I did use 2 eggs though. They came out nice and fluffy. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      I have been making this same version for years only we make ours about golf ball sized and drop them into boiling salted water for about 20 minutes. They are great with kraut. The left overs can be fried in butter with salt and pepper or friend in butter with maple syrup on top

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      Wonderful comfort food! Me and my family enjoy spatzle, so I wanted to try these potato dumplings and they are really yummy! We will be having these with curry wurst tommorow. Only one question, steve in FL. says he doubled the recipe and used about 1 cup flour, I tried the same but ended up using even more to keep the dough from sticking badly. Is it normal for recipes like this to vary in the amount of flour they use? Can weather(humidity) or the type of potatoes make the difference in how much flour is required? Even so I loved the flavor and I will be making these again and again. Thanks for a simple, straightforward recipe that most anyone can make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2006

      These are delicious.. I doubled the recipe, using 1 cup flour and it worked out perfect. I tossed the cooked dumplings around in browned butter and bread crumbs, like my Polish ma used to do. I had these with currywurst, German Curry Sauce for Wurst. Wow, look what date you posted this recipe, zoiks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (100 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 93.5
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    23%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 93.0 mg
    31%
    Sodium 40.0 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites