12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was simple and quite tasty! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhondapalooza January 24, 2010

YUM! Used dried dill and it turned out great. I did double it and it made too much for our party thinking everyone would take agreat big scoop.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shabby Sign Shoppe October 26, 2008

Awesome! Everyone loved it. I used a 2:1 ratio for the vinegar:sugar and used apple cider vinegar. Also used fresh dill and parsley (no borage). I used salt sparingly in the marinade as I found the cukes still rather salty after sweating them. I also used the sour cream (not the yogurt). This is now on my perminant menu for our Oktoberfests going forward!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nan L. October 13, 2008

Very good flavor, similar to my Oma's gurkensalat. I thought the marinade looked a little thick in the bowl, so I decided not to let the cucumbers let out their liquid. Next time I won't skip that step, once I mixed the maridade with the cucumbers it got a little watery, but was still very tasty. I will definatly make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DianaMarieMTV October 05, 2007

Made this to go with Roulade #135706 - fantastic! My German friend loved it! Thanks for posting - will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Upper Crusty August 25, 2007

This sounded really good so I had to try it. It was refreshing but it did seem to be missing something. I'm not sure what yet. Maybe I had to use more salt and pepper. I used sour cream and dill. I also didn't know how much sugar to use so I had to wing it. Just a sprinkle is all I used. I also left out the onion because we don't like raw onions. I will try this again. Maybe a ranch dressing will have more flavour like "lilquiz" mentioned in her review. It is a good summer salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeeDee August 03, 2006

this recipe reminded me what my mom made when I was little. The recipe she passed on to me was one she made with mayonaise. My sister in law from Germany makes this with Ranch dressing-even more of a shortcut. This is a great recipe and is truly German.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilquiz May 21, 2006

There was this little Bavarian restaurant that we would go to years and years ago. This salad was a standard served with all meals. It brought back wonderful memories as that is where we had our wedding dinner. I used an English cucumber that was sliced using the 2mm blade of my food processor. Instead of chopping the onion, I also sliced it the same thickness as the cucumber. I used Greek yogurt. This is a wonderful recipe that I am sure to make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG May 05, 2006

Yum-O! This was so easy to make and is definitely a keeper! (I used the sour cream, quite a bit of salt, and a little bit of Splenda.) Thank you so much for posting this, I've been looking/trying different recipes and experimenting for over a month now, trying to find a dressing just like I bought from GermanDeli.com - Maggi's Dill Parsley Cucumber Salad dressing. Yours is the closest I can find to it. Next time I may puree the ingredients and use it for a tossed salad dressing. Thanks again!!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissJennifer April 20, 2006

Made this using garden fresh cucumbers. Love cucumber salads. Trying new variations of marinades and ingredients added to our summer meals. Until just recently I had never tasted one made with dill, and it is good! Its definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry September 13, 2005
German Deli Cucumber Salad (Gurkensalat)