Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / German Deli Cucumber Salad (Gurkensalat) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Deli Cucumber Salad (Gurkensalat)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on January 24, 2010

      This was simple and quite tasty! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      YUM! Used dried dill and it turned out great. I did double it and it made too much for our party thinking everyone would take agreat big scoop.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      Awesome! Everyone loved it. I used a 2:1 ratio for the vinegar:sugar and used apple cider vinegar. Also used fresh dill and parsley (no borage). I used salt sparingly in the marinade as I found the cukes still rather salty after sweating them. I also used the sour cream (not the yogurt). This is now on my perminant menu for our Oktoberfests going forward!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2007

      Very good flavor, similar to my Oma's gurkensalat. I thought the marinade looked a little thick in the bowl, so I decided not to let the cucumbers let out their liquid. Next time I won't skip that step, once I mixed the maridade with the cucumbers it got a little watery, but was still very tasty. I will definatly make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      Made this to go with Roulade #135706 - fantastic! My German friend loved it! Thanks for posting - will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2006

      This sounded really good so I had to try it. It was refreshing but it did seem to be missing something. I'm not sure what yet. Maybe I had to use more salt and pepper. I used sour cream and dill. I also didn't know how much sugar to use so I had to wing it. Just a sprinkle is all I used. I also left out the onion because we don't like raw onions. I will try this again. Maybe a ranch dressing will have more flavour like "lilquiz" mentioned in her review. It is a good summer salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2006

      this recipe reminded me what my mom made when I was little. The recipe she passed on to me was one she made with mayonaise. My sister in law from Germany makes this with Ranch dressing-even more of a shortcut. This is a great recipe and is truly German.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2006

      There was this little Bavarian restaurant that we would go to years and years ago. This salad was a standard served with all meals. It brought back wonderful memories as that is where we had our wedding dinner. I used an English cucumber that was sliced using the 2mm blade of my food processor. Instead of chopping the onion, I also sliced it the same thickness as the cucumber. I used Greek yogurt. This is a wonderful recipe that I am sure to make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2006

      Yum-O! This was so easy to make and is definitely a keeper! (I used the sour cream, quite a bit of salt, and a little bit of Splenda.) Thank you so much for posting this, I've been looking/trying different recipes and experimenting for over a month now, trying to find a dressing just like I bought from GermanDeli.com - Maggi's Dill Parsley Cucumber Salad dressing. Yours is the closest I can find to it. Next time I may puree the ingredients and use it for a tossed salad dressing. Thanks again!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2005

      Made this using garden fresh cucumbers. Love cucumber salads. Trying new variations of marinades and ingredients added to our summer meals. Until just recently I had never tasted one made with dill, and it is good! Its definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2005

      This is just the way we make it and I absolutely love this. My favorite is with the garlic, no onion, however the sour cream and dill in the dressing is the greatest. I can eat this just by itself. It is so refreshing and wonderful with roast pork or a beef goulash. Thank you so much for sharing a wonderful old recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2005

      Just used half of a huge English cucumber and used the plain yogurt with dill and parsley. Very good, loved the crispness of it and we will make it again, thanks for sharing a good one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Deli Cucumber Salad (Gurkensalat)

    Serving Size: 1 (131 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 140.9
     
    Calories from Fat 115
    82%
    Total Fat 12.8 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 12.6 mg
    4%
    Sodium 17.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites