Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / German Dark Rye Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Dark Rye Bread

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on March 13, 2008

      Wonderful dark rye! It is very moist and keeps very well. Plus, it makes great toast! I even used dark rye flour and the bread didn't come out too dense. In fact, I like how this recipe uses proportionally more rye flour to wheat flour, it really tastes like a rye bread. To get a good rise, make sure that you really beat the AP flour batter (steps 3 & 4) to work the gluten. Or, you could replace the AP flour with bread flour. Also, use fresh yeast and give the dough plenty time to rise, sometimes rye doughs take longer to rise than expected. Thank you for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2006

      I made this recipe and the light rye #43286 for a great tasting marble rye.I did dicker with this recipe alittle as we like a little bite to our rye breads. I used 1 1/4c water,1 tblsp oil,1 1/2 tblsp molasses,1 3/4 c flour,1 c rye flour,1/2 c wheat flour,1 tsp salt,3 tblsp dry milk powder,2 tsp instant coffee powder,2 tblsp cocoa,1 tblsp caraway seeds,1 tblsp yeast. After the first rise I combined the doughs lightly. Made into a long loaf, onto a cookie sheet and let rise to double and baked at 350-35minutes. Wonderful flavor and texture. I will be making this marble rye again and agin. Thank U for this recipe and the light rye recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2005

      Wonderful rich taste with soft crumb. I added the salt to the dry ingredients which was omitted in the instructions. I also substituted dill seed for the caraway due to a personal preference. This is an extremely easy bread to put together and VERY fast in preparation and rising time. Thanks so much for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2005

      This is a wonderful bread Dee! I love the texture and the fine crumb. I will make this often. Thanks so much :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2013

      I followed the directions to the letter, didn't change one thing, and this recipe was a total flop. I'm an advanced baker (even with yeast) so I don't think it was me. Like the other person said, it was overly dense and didn't look anything like rye bread in the store. I'm not sure if it used too much flour or what. I just wanted to warn others.....good luck.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      This bread was very easy to make and tastes pretty good and the texture is great. I didn't use 1/4 cup of cocoa powder though, just a teaspoon full, which I think I would just leave out next time. I used my Kitchen Aid for most of the kneading, I just kneaded by hand for a couple of minutes. I really like the caraway seeds and would probably use a bit more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2011

      This was a really good rye bread. Thanks for a good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2010

      Great flavor and easy enough to make. I wanted something to stand up to the smoked Gouda fondue we are having for Christmas eve. The flavors should go good together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2010

      So, this was my first time making bread! I followed the recipe to the letter with one exception...apparently I am kind of a wimp because I had a tough time stirring in the rye flour by hand. I returned the dough to my mixer bowl and used the dough hook to mix in the rest of the rye. The end result was excellent! I didn't find the bread to be too dense at all...it seemed just right. I took part of a loaf to my culinary student neighbor and he agreed it was wonderful. Thanks for a great recipe that made a beginner feel more confident about baking bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      This bread is super super dense and very heavy. The flavor is very good though. I added 4 tsp. vital wheat gluten and it is still very dense. I have found that if I proof the yeast with the warm liquid before adding it to the dry, it rises better and is not as dense. I have never had luck with recipe that call for adding the yeast to the dry ingredients. No doubt I will eat every bite of both loaves because the flavor is wonderful. But the denseness is keeping my kids and husband away.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      I made this recipe for a German themed dinner I organized and it went over pretty well. It is very dense and heavy sort of bread, that did seem to take a while to rise, maybe the addition of gluten suggested by others would work better? Those that enjoy this type of bread however I think would enjoy it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      This is another excellent recipe that I can count on when looking to make rye bread in the future! A perfect balance of flavors with a nice soft interior and a small dense crumb.It's great eaten plain or as a sandwich bread.Especially good with cream cheese...yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

    • on September 25, 2008

    • on October 02, 2007

      Great recipe! Used your ingredients and Hodgson Flour method (mixer) and it was perfect. DH loved it! Update . . . Keep coming back to this recipe for Rye bread! It has exceptional flavor and very easy to make. I would recommend anyone making to add gluten to the flour mixture. I used about 6 tablespoons and it worked great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2007

      This bread was really easy to make and it makes two good sized loaves. It tasted great, although mine turned out very dense and moist, even after baking it for well over 35 minutes (closer to 45).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      Excellent recipe! Followed exactly. Instructions were clear an accurate as was the bake time. A very nice crust and rich rye flavor. This will now be my standard rye recipe. This is great on it's own, it's even better lightly toasted with a little bit of honey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2003

      Oh! Forgot to add that the instructions should caution against heating the mixture in step 2 beyond 115 F. You don't want to kill the yeast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Dark Rye Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1420 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1653.0
     
    Calories from Fat 167
    10%
    Total Fat 18.6 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 8.8 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 3631.3 mg
    151%
    Total Carbohydrate 336.7 g
    112%
    Dietary Fiber 32.8 g
    131%
    Sugars 40.1 g
    160%
    Protein 44.5 g
    89%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites