Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / German Curry Sauce for Wurst Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Curry Sauce for Wurst

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on September 23, 2002

      Thanks for a fond memory of Ramstein and other environs in Germany, I missed this taste for 10 years.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2012

      Ok, I'm German, of course I lived in Germany, and this sauce is spot on. If it is not like you remembered it years ago, then your memory has faded rather than it being the recipe's fault. Either that or you just didn't have good curry sauce. Preparation is key and is a lot more than tossing some curry powder into cold ketschup and expecting curry sauce. Follow this recipe and you can not go wrong! This sauce is so versatile I use it on everything, eggs, fish, steak, cereal. Just kidding about the cereal but it is so good on anything you could think of. Good job HeatherFeather! =D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      I was going to skip this and just serve my beer brats with hot mustard and horseradish. It's SO easy that I decided, why not? It was a very good choice on my part! This was an excellent sauce and went perfectly with my meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2003

      Thank you thank you! I'm missing Berlin so much and this will ease the pain greatly! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2003

      Most of the Imbiss's I've eaten at just sprinkle the curry powder over a ketchup covered bratwurst. (even around Ramstein...ie the Diner Box) This is much better. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2014

      Tastes very similar to the sauce we had in Germany. Not exact but close enough to bring back happy memories. I used Keen's curry powder and Masterfoods sauce but am going to experiment with different brands.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2012

      Very good. I used about 3 tsp. of some cheap curry powder I had and it turned out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

      I think this recipe has the potential to vary greatly depending on multiple factors. Both main ingredients, Ketchup and Curry powder differ greatly depending on brand (German ketchups are less sweet, Heinz has more of a vinegar taste than Hunts, etc, and curry powders can be a mixture of pretty much any spice...). I used Heinz and a local curry blend and it turned out a little tart, but overall pretty well. If you had a bad experience, I'd suggest trying different brands.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      Very good! I am currently living in Germany and can say this is as good as any you get around here. Thanks. Now I can make it at home and long after we leave here too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      pretty simple and easy sauce for something different, this tastes pretty good especially with the non smoked fresh bratwursts, it adds a great flavor to it. Thanks for the good idea :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      It's been almost 25 years since I was in Germany, and I'd completely forgotten this sauce. We had it on Brats this weekend, and really enjoyed it. Although it is not exactly what I remember, it was very, very good. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      Great topper for brats. I also like it on burgers. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      I lived in Germany for a couple of years and this tastes nothing like what I ate. Suppose it could differ by varieties of Catsup and curry powder but I threw this out. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      Good Sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      This was really good. DH loved it but it was a bit too spicy for the rest of my family. I will make this again with a bit less curry powder for the rest of us. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      This is a terrific sauce for bratwurst. So simple and so yummy! I made 1/2 portion only this time but it was so good, my husband and I finished it with only 2 brats. Will make much more and keep in refrigerator. Thank you HeatherFeather for introducing me to this tasty sauce. I'm thinking other uses for this including Japanese dishes with addition of soy sauce (LOL).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2007

      Had an Oktoberfest party and everyone loved it. I used 3 teaspoons, but maybe could have used 4. Easy to prepare. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      So simple and so good! I used 3 teaspoons of curry and it was just perfect. Thank you :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2007

      I see the warning...watch the curry!! For my taste and my bf, I used too much. My bf's dad said that in Germany they used so much curry that it was spicy. I dont know if more curry would have made it that way. Very good for only being two ingredients, and again - watch the curry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      This is just how my German Mom always made it, too - it's great! Easy and tasty. The trick around here is to find halfway decent knackwurst that are worthy of the curry ketchup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Curry Sauce for Wurst

    Serving Size: 1 (246 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 252.3
     
    Calories from Fat 14
    60%
    Total Fat 1.5 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2676.7 mg
    111%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.8 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 54.8 g
    219%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites