14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Simple, filling, and very tasty -- seasonings are just right! I make it with half chicken stock and half beef stock and serve with a "substantial" bread. My husband says he can't believe a meatless meal is so satisfying.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellen January 14, 2010

When I first made this soup, (using purchased Campbells vegetable stock), I thought "pretty good for a vegetable soup that tastes like Campbell's vegetable soup" (I did not puree it) Since I am not a big fan of that tomatoey kind of vegetable soup, I thought it was good but not something I would make again. Then last night we had some for dinner and I threw in a generous handful of grated cheese (motzarella & parmesan mix) and lo and behold a whole new flavour, more reminicient of minestrone. Next time I will add some kidney beans and maybe a little pasta and I will definitely add cheese. Very good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alicefazoooli January 05, 2010

I made the fully vegetarian version of this as I had a vegetarian friend at dinner. I followed the recipe very closely, though I did add a small amount of water before I blended the soup (using my stick blender). It cooked down quite a lot, and I didn't want it to be too thick. I did also take one other review's suggestion and add a little bit of grated cheese (romano). Prep time is very quick and the stick blender makes it easy to blend right in the pot, and everyone who had some enjoyed the soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LadyRatri August 11, 2010

This is a simple and wonderfully tasting soup, and inexpensive as well. I made mine in the crockpot and used bouillion cubes and water for the broth. All of my nine children and husband gave it five stars and we are making it again this evening.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jtulcu February 03, 2009

This is a great soup. I added cauliflowers because I had some left. I used my immersion blender to puree it in the pot. I liked it with a lot of pepper. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
forthefunofit October 26, 2008

Very simple and good. I added two medium onions and used one carrot only, because my DH thinks they make soups too sweet. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa February 28, 2008

This is very good. I used chicken stock but will also try it with beef stock. Nice and comforting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb in WNY October 16, 2007

We have enjoyed this soup the last 2 nights. I had some beef broth leftover so used that along with chicken stock to get the 2 quarts that was needed.I liked the spices used with this soup. Thank you for posting. *Made for Fall PAC 2007 game*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J September 18, 2007

I made this soup last earlier this week while on vacation. All of us loved it. We will definitely be making this soup again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario July 29, 2007

So healthy and packed with flavor! I added some fresh garlic and doubled the leeks. I removed about 1/3 of the veggies and then used my stick blender to puree the rest and then returned the reserved 1/3 to the pot. It was smooth yet just a little bit of chunks (I cut my veggies very small). This soup will be made often. Thanx for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* August 26, 2006
German Cream of Vegetable Soup