Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / German Cream of Vegetable Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Cream of Vegetable Soup

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 14, 2010

      Simple, filling, and very tasty -- seasonings are just right! I make it with half chicken stock and half beef stock and serve with a "substantial" bread. My husband says he can't believe a meatless meal is so satisfying.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2010

      I made the fully vegetarian version of this as I had a vegetarian friend at dinner. I followed the recipe very closely, though I did add a small amount of water before I blended the soup (using my stick blender). It cooked down quite a lot, and I didn't want it to be too thick. I did also take one other review's suggestion and add a little bit of grated cheese (romano). Prep time is very quick and the stick blender makes it easy to blend right in the pot, and everyone who had some enjoyed the soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      When I first made this soup, (using purchased Campbells vegetable stock), I thought "pretty good for a vegetable soup that tastes like Campbell's vegetable soup" (I did not puree it) Since I am not a big fan of that tomatoey kind of vegetable soup, I thought it was good but not something I would make again. Then last night we had some for dinner and I threw in a generous handful of grated cheese (motzarella & parmesan mix) and lo and behold a whole new flavour, more reminicient of minestrone. Next time I will add some kidney beans and maybe a little pasta and I will definitely add cheese. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      This is a simple and wonderfully tasting soup, and inexpensive as well. I made mine in the crockpot and used bouillion cubes and water for the broth. All of my nine children and husband gave it five stars and we are making it again this evening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      This is a great soup. I added cauliflowers because I had some left. I used my immersion blender to puree it in the pot. I liked it with a lot of pepper. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      Very simple and good. I added two medium onions and used one carrot only, because my DH thinks they make soups too sweet. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      This is very good. I used chicken stock but will also try it with beef stock. Nice and comforting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2007

      We have enjoyed this soup the last 2 nights. I had some beef broth leftover so used that along with chicken stock to get the 2 quarts that was needed.I liked the spices used with this soup. Thank you for posting. *Made for Fall PAC 2007 game*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2007

      I made this soup last earlier this week while on vacation. All of us loved it. We will definitely be making this soup again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2006

      So healthy and packed with flavor! I added some fresh garlic and doubled the leeks. I removed about 1/3 of the veggies and then used my stick blender to puree the rest and then returned the reserved 1/3 to the pot. It was smooth yet just a little bit of chunks (I cut my veggies very small). This soup will be made often. Thanx for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2006

      Easy to make, with a full flavour. I left a few chunky bits for a nice texture. Perfect to reheat from the freezer for a winter lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2006

      We really enjoyed this soup. I used a can of stewed tomatoes and skipped the marjoram. Very easy to make and it makes a rich tomato soup. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2006

      I was pleasantly surprised by the full flavor of this simple soup. I prepared it over the weekend to reheat for weekday lunches with Onion Bread (Onion Bread). I did prefer it left chunky rather than pureed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2006

      Lovely tasty soup! saw ms bold's photo and had to make it, had a leek in the fridge needed to use up. I used my "motor boat" to puree it, easier than using the blender. I did leave a few chunks and put some away in the freezer for future lunches. Thanks for sharing a good freezer soup, looking forward to it for lunches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Cream of Vegetable Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (140 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 65.0
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    45%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 317.2 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites