14 Reviews

I made the fully vegetarian version of this as I had a vegetarian friend at dinner. I followed the recipe very closely, though I did add a small amount of water before I blended the soup (using my stick blender). It cooked down quite a lot, and I didn't want it to be too thick. I did also take one other review's suggestion and add a little bit of grated cheese (romano). Prep time is very quick and the stick blender makes it easy to blend right in the pot, and everyone who had some enjoyed the soup.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LadyRatri August 11, 2010

Simple, filling, and very tasty -- seasonings are just right! I make it with half chicken stock and half beef stock and serve with a "substantial" bread. My husband says he can't believe a meatless meal is so satisfying.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellen January 14, 2010

When I first made this soup, (using purchased Campbells vegetable stock), I thought "pretty good for a vegetable soup that tastes like Campbell's vegetable soup" (I did not puree it) Since I am not a big fan of that tomatoey kind of vegetable soup, I thought it was good but not something I would make again. Then last night we had some for dinner and I threw in a generous handful of grated cheese (motzarella & parmesan mix) and lo and behold a whole new flavour, more reminicient of minestrone. Next time I will add some kidney beans and maybe a little pasta and I will definitely add cheese. Very good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alicefazoooli January 05, 2010

This is a simple and wonderfully tasting soup, and inexpensive as well. I made mine in the crockpot and used bouillion cubes and water for the broth. All of my nine children and husband gave it five stars and we are making it again this evening.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jtulcu February 03, 2009

Very simple and good. I added two medium onions and used one carrot only, because my DH thinks they make soups too sweet. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa February 28, 2008

I made this soup last earlier this week while on vacation. All of us loved it. We will definitely be making this soup again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario July 29, 2007

Easy to make, with a full flavour. I left a few chunky bits for a nice texture. Perfect to reheat from the freezer for a winter lunch.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NoviceFreezerCook June 12, 2006

I was pleasantly surprised by the full flavor of this simple soup. I prepared it over the weekend to reheat for weekday lunches with Onion Bread (Onion Bread). I did prefer it left chunky rather than pureed.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms B. February 19, 2006

Lovely tasty soup! saw ms bold's photo and had to make it, had a leek in the fridge needed to use up. I used my "motor boat" to puree it, easier than using the blender. I did leave a few chunks and put some away in the freezer for future lunches. Thanks for sharing a good freezer soup, looking forward to it for lunches.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf February 19, 2006

This is a great soup. I added cauliflowers because I had some left. I used my immersion blender to puree it in the pot. I liked it with a lot of pepper. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
forthefunofit October 25, 2008
German Cream of Vegetable Soup