10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've tried this twice now and love it. It's light and chewy, and the cream cheese is like a very light frosting on the cookie. I really like to bake from "scratch", but this is one that tastes like you did, without a lot of fuss. This will go into my favorite bar cookies file!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claire de Luna September 24, 2002

My mother has been making this for over 20 years and it is among our favorite desserts. After cooling to room temperature, we generally place it in the refrigerator to chill for at least 2 hours so that it is easy to cut. Thanks for sharing a classic that everyone loves.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blue Peacock June 11, 2008

My husand says this might be the best desert he's ever tasted. Very rich and so quick to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakinBaby December 09, 2007

Awsome! Everyone loved them. I was asked to make it again! Thanks for the great recipe. This has become one of the family favorites!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ms24tex December 21, 2005

I just tried this and we really liked it. I didn't have any pecans but it still tasted great. I plan on including these squares on trays for a wedding buffet. I will make again for sure. Nice and easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmerswolke October 14, 2005

Excellent. I made this for work and it is going over really well! I only used about 12 oz of powdered sugar in the topping and it was still fairly sweet. I also added a cup of coconut flakes to the topping.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rhee.jean June 29, 2005

Thanks for the recipe. These squares are very delicious. I am going to make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeannetess December 11, 2003

REALLY good and really easy! I don't usually like cake mix concoctions, but the rave reviews convinced me to try this. I used only 12 oz of powdered sugar - the topping tasted a little more like cheesecake than sweet-sweet. I also chopped the pecans very coarsely (large pieces) and they gave a nice crunch to the crust. This is a keeper. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kat in Texas November 12, 2002

Thanks to the Zaar staff I am once again attempting to review this 5-Star Winner! These squares are absolutely delicious. Oh so easy to throw together and bake. We have thoroughly enjoyed every last bite! Thanks, Anita, for sharing such a neat sweet! Laudee C.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laudee October 04, 2002

This was great and very easy. Fixed for a birthday at the office for someone whose favorite cake was geran chocolate. So this was a pleasant cheater. Thank you for a great recipe. Margie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie Brock August 26, 2002
German Chocolate Squares