Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / German Chocolate Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Chocolate Pie

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on December 27, 2001

      The recipe was easy to make although I would recommend using deep dish pie shells. The regular pie shells overflowed. Also, it didn't seem like it cooked completely - I even cooked the pies for an extra 10 minutes. I even stored them in the refrigerator. They were more of a pudding consistancy in the middle - VERY RICH. If you don't LOVE chocolate you probably won't want more than a bite or two.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2003

      I used only 12 ounces of evaporated milk and 3 large eggs with a little extra sprinkle of coconut on top and baked in deep dish pie crust. I was so pleased to find this recipe since the Reed Bakery in Pasadena Tx had closed. It was a wonderful bakery!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2011

      I cooked these pies for an extra 10 minutes and it was still runny. It didn't set at all. Terrible recipe. I'll be looking for another one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      This recipes is similar to one in our family that's been around since the 60's. Uses evaporated milk not condensed like many recipes for German Chocolate Pie's call for. Those almost always turn out too pudding like and sticky in comparison to this rich but custardy textured pie. We usually made it with 1/2 cup of dark chocolate bits instead of the cocoa but either works. Also our basic recipe did not make two pies only one lovely large 9-10 inch pie. Once when I could not find the recipe I forgot how much chocolate and tried to literally kill people by chocolate. There were those who actually loved it. Try this one....and do use butter!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      Very good,quick and easy to make but very rich. The two pies should serve 16 instead of 12 as 1/8 of a pie is enough as rich as it is! I froze one and had one for company for lunch. I ended up having to get the other one out of the freezer as they want more!! I two more cooling to freeze then take to a potluck next week.Doubt if we get a slice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      This was an awesome pie!! It wasn't hard to make either! It is very rich, but wonderful!! My boyfriend and his family are German and I made this pie for them on Thanksgiving and they absolutely loved it! His mom loved it so much that she wants me to make her 2 for Christmas! Thanks for an awesome recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      This is one of the best pies I have ever tasted. I gave them as gifts at Christmas, and everyone loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      GREAT PIE! my husband actually made this at the last minute to take for Thanksgiving dinner at my parents' house. It was so easy because the ingredients are things most of us have on hand. He did, however, use real butter (we never use margarine). Everyone raved about it. We'll definitely be making this one again! THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2006

      I only wanted to make one deep dish pie so I reduced the recipe by 1/4th. I was talking on the phone and accidently added too much butter. This pie still came out beautifully. I was concerned that my pie was not cooked enough (probably because I made a deeper, bigger pie) so I covered the crust with aluminum foil to prevent burning and cooked for another 10 minutes. Good pie and simple to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2006

      This is very good. Easy to put together, chocolately and delicious- oh heck, you had me with the combo of chocolate, cocnut, and pecans. Thanks for posting! Nick's Mom

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2006

      Loved this pie, baked up well in deep dish pie pan. This is one very rich chocolaty pie, prepare to put on the pounds, but you truely do not want to pass this up. Thank You for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2006

      I was pleased how this pie baked out, it has extreme chocolate flavor and it set well when baked, the filling it is more like a light custard. Topped with whipped cream it makes a lovely chocolate dessert! thank you JQ!...Kitten

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Chocolate Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (166 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 642.5
     
    Calories from Fat 339
    52%
    Total Fat 37.6 g
    57%
    Saturated Fat 18.2 g
    91%
    Cholesterol 91.2 mg
    30%
    Sodium 286.0 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 73.3 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 51.5 g
    206%
    Protein 8.5 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites