Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / German Chocolate Cake With Coconut Pecan Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Chocolate Cake With Coconut Pecan Frosting

    Average Rating:

    70 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 70

    Sort by:

    • on October 14, 2010

      I made this for a special request from my sister for her birthday. I can't say it's the best german chocolate cake I tasted but it came out pretty good. I couldn't believe I made a cake like this from scratch, even the frosting. I baked the cake in a large 9" cake pan and torted it instead of baking in different pans which took about 20 mins longer to bake. I used the recipe exactly for the frosting and put it in the layers and the top. Then I made a batch of Kittencal's Chocolate Buttercream Frosting #89207 to ice the sides of the cake and decorate like in my picture. The Coconut Pecan frosting amount in the recipe turned out perfect for doing it this way. Everyone liked it because it wasn't too sweet. Definitley worth a try if you like german chocolate cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      I made this cake for my mother's birthday -- German Chocolate is her favorite (mine, too!). It was SO GOOD! Probably the best German Chocolate cake I've ever had! The steps to me seemed over-the-top, so I did this instead: -Beat sugar and butter together in an electric mixer (unless you're seriously buff :P ). -In a bowl in the microwave, melt 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips. -Make some delicious strong coffee and add 1/2 cup to the melted chocolate chips (instead of water). -Back to the butter/sugar mixture -- add the eggs and keep the electric mixer going for a while to get them whipped in! -Now slowly add the flour, then the baking soda and salt. -Add the buttermilk and vanilla extract. -Slowly incorporate the chocolate and coffee mixture. -Set the electric mixer to a medium-high setting and let it go for a few minutes. I also made it in four 8-inch pans instead of three 9-inch pans, because that's all I had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      OMG - baked this for my husband's birthday (GCC is his favorite) he rates this one a 10! Everybody at the party loved the cake - I did toast the coconut and the pecans before adding to the cooked frosting... YUM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      DH's 36th Birthday was last week and his favorite cake (which I've never made) is German Chocolate. According to DH: This is the best version he's ever tasted! I did 1/2 the recipe (but per the comments kept the full amount of frosting) and used 2 smaller cake pans - so although I'm sure my frosting-to-cake ratio was a bit high, I certainly didn't hear anyone complaining! Notes: I had to let my frosting set in the fridge for about 45 minutes before I could spread it. This cake is even better the follow days after being made... amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      Wow! Fantastic! I also made an extra 1/2 batch of frosting so the cake would have plenty. I have also made this frosting and put it on my "quicky" German chocolate cake: 1 box reg. German chocolate cake mix, 1 box instant chocolate pudding mix, 1 1/3 c. water, 4 eggs, 1/4 c. oil. Mix for 4 minutes. Bake at 350 20-25 minutes. 3- 9" pans. With this frosting, it tastes like it is from scratch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      Wonderful, tender and moist cake. Dividing the batter into three 9" pans makes for thinner cake layers. I did end up doubling the frosting ingredients, however, after using all the frosting I made, I ended up thinking it was probably too much for the thinner layers of cake. Next time I will make about half an extra amount of frosting which I think would provide the perfect amount. We really enjoyed this, Kozmic Blues, thank you for sharing : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2012

      Delicious! Followed it exactly. Now I have specific requests for this cake. I do double the frosting though. Keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2011

      Made this for my son's birthday, at his request. The cake was beautiful, looking exactly like Bev's picture. Delicious, moist and very rich. Used 1 1/2x the frosting amount which was perfect. And instead of melting the chooclate with water in a double boiler, I used the microwave. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      My husband's favorite, too. I always double the icing recipe. This is a lot of work so he only gets it for special occasions but it makes the moistest, most impressive cake you can imagine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2014

      So disappointed, this recipe was a huge failure for me. It was very dry and I only baked it for 20 minutes. I am a very experienced cook/baker but not sure why it didn't come out. But the frosting is absolutely fabulous. I ended up using another recipe for the cake and using the frosting here and my friend loved it. That's why no stars, don't want to slam it in case it was an operator error :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2013

      Such a great cake! It is so moist and the frosting takes it to a whole other level of decadent deliciousness. The only thing I might mention is when making the frosting, it took more like 20 minutes to thicken instead of the recipe's suggested 12. It could be my pan was too deep. At any rate, this is a real find. I made it for my mom's birthday and everyone was beside themselves with the yumminess. Thanks Kozmic Blues!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2013

      Even my boss, who really isn't into chocolate, LOVED this cake!! It is sooooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2011

      This is the second cake I've ever made from scratch and I've never worked so hard at making something but it was totally worth it. This cake was so delicious and moist. I must admit I had trouble with the icing so I ran out and bought two containers of BC icing and no one could even tell it wasn't homeade:). Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2011

      holy cow this cake was amazing! I didn't have time to make the frosting but the cake itself was so moist and flavorful, and it was a huge hit. Next time I will make the frosting too and I'm sure it will be spectacular!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2010

      Made this for my MIL's birthday..this is her favorite. I personally don't care for shredded coconut, but everybody else loves it. I was told that the topping was great and my guy said that he would eat that by itself, lol..thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      Made this cake for my dad's birthday. It was a hit! DELICIOUS! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      I followed this recipe to the tee and it so far has been the BEST cake that I have made from scratch in my life!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      Excellent recipe. Made for a going away party and every last cruumb was eaten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      Well worth the effort! Came out light and fluffy, so much better than I was expecting. Incredibly rich with the frosting, but so so good. I only had enough batter for two 9" pans, rather than three. Not sure why that was. It ended up being a rather small cake, but perfect for our little birthday party. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      Oh MY Goodness! This recipe makes the perfect Greman Chocolate cake imaginable. While shopping I found a chocolate specifically for this cake at Meijers in with all the baking chocolate. I would not suggest anyone use margarine in this recipe. The real butter helps make this cake so rich and wonderful. I used regular coconut. This is certainly a cake you will receive raves about from family and freinds. Thanks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Chocolate Cake With Coconut Pecan Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (233 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 852.8
     
    Calories from Fat 476
    55%
    Total Fat 52.9 g
    81%
    Saturated Fat 28.6 g
    143%
    Cholesterol 197.5 mg
    65%
    Sodium 514.6 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 91.1 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 67.2 g
    269%
    Protein 10.8 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes